SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2010, 04:20 PM
wacole wacole is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 72
Java 6 Update 19

Updated my machine to Java 6 Update 19 like I've done a million Java updates before and it has bricked my machine. I get the wallpaper screen with no icons or anything else, thought it claims it has loaded my personal preferences. Safe mode doesn't allow me to uninstall Java. [Windows Installer doesn't like Java and I've tried a bunch of tech tricks to get around that.] Last Good isn't.

The ONLY thing I run on my box is SageTV. This is NOT a Sage problem and sure looks like a Java problem.

I do have a backup of key Sage files but do not have an image backup but at this point I don't think the backup would help except on a rebuild.

Just curious if anyone else has had a similar experience.

Thanks very much

Bill Cole
__________________
Bill Cole
Sage 7.0.23.246, STV7 7.0.23.1, Placeshifter, XP Pro SP3, HDHomeRun Dual Tuner, ATI Radeon 2400, AMD64 3000+ 1.8ghz, 2gb RAM, HD-300, OTA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2010, 04:30 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Ive been running update 19 since it came out what like last tuesday or soemthing...i haven't had any problems thus far....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2010, 05:33 PM
jarredduq's Avatar
jarredduq jarredduq is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Stockton, CA - Most miserable city in the USA, SageTV makes it bearable
Posts: 201
After upgrading to 19, my system started having issues like circle of death, random pauses, and halt errors on recordings.

Uninstalled Java, and went back to version 11, all is well.

I'm going to stay on version 11, unless otherwise told by Sage to upgrade to a particular version.

The PC running Sage is not really doing anything else, except for Sage, so It's not really at risk for Java security issues, or things like that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2010, 05:40 PM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by wacole View Post
Updated my machine to Java 6 Update 19 like I've done a million Java updates before and it has bricked my machine. I get the wallpaper screen with no icons or anything else, thought it claims it has loaded my personal preferences. Safe mode doesn't allow me to uninstall Java. [Windows Installer doesn't like Java and I've tried a bunch of tech tricks to get around that.] Last Good isn't.

The ONLY thing I run on my box is SageTV. This is NOT a Sage problem and sure looks like a Java problem.

I do have a backup of key Sage files but do not have an image backup but at this point I don't think the backup would help except on a rebuild.

Just curious if anyone else has had a similar experience.

Thanks very much

Bill Cole
If you had an image of your system, you could easily get back to a functioning system in 30 minutes, recovering back to before the Java update, unless you have WHS...

Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Memory 24 gigs GB, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 500GB SSD boot, 3 SSD recording drives
Capture cards: 2 - HDHR Primes - Comcast Xfinity CableTV
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Pro X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix), OpenDCT
UnRAID File Server 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2010, 06:05 PM
joematt's Avatar
joematt joematt is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Starks, LA
Posts: 100
Did you try a System Restore?
__________________
Mine's bigger then yours!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-09-2010, 06:54 PM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
I had issues when I installed the update. Windows would load and I could see all of the icons on the desktop, but not everything worked. For example I couldn't open the windows control panel to get to the add/remove programs screen, clicking on tray icons did nothing, Sage wouldn't load and I couldn't launch the Sage Service control panel. I couldn't uninstall java or reinstall. Some other things in windows wouldn't work either (can't recall what).

I think what I did was go into safe mode and disable Sage through the services screen located in the administrative section of the windows control panel. Then when I logged into windows everything else worked properly. Instead of uninstalling the updated I reinstalled it then enabled the Sage service and I haven't had any problems since.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-09-2010, 07:09 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
There have been issues in the past with Java installers not properly detecting files in use and doing a corrupt install if the SageTV service is running. So the moral of that story is to always stop the service before attempting a Java upgrade.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-09-2010, 07:30 PM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by GKusnick View Post
There have been issues in the past with Java installers not properly detecting files in use and doing a corrupt install if the SageTV service is running. So the moral of that story is to always stop the service before attempting a Java upgrade.
Yeah that's what seems to have happened to me. I was in a hurry and forgot to stop the service. As soon as I rebooted and things stopped working I remembered that sticky at the top of the forum warning to stop the service first.

I know in the past I've forgotten from time to time and never had a problem. Now that it has been an issue I'll probably be more likely to remember next time.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-10-2010, 11:45 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Not me. I had disabled the SageTv service, installed .19 rebooted and restarted the service and everything froze. I uninstalled and tried again same thing. went rolled back to .16 and Sage is still unstable. I thought was because I am running 2008 x64 R2.

But it seems Java has an issue?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-10-2010, 11:55 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Yeah i spoke to soon. Was running great under 6u19....then just today it did some weird stuff on me... It actually managed to make my system unstable to the point where my mobo recommended i only use 3 of my 4 cores...

It also completely hosed up my slimserver installation. I had to completely remove all traces of java, and slimserver. Then reinstall older version of java, and reinstall slimserver.

weird stuff.....
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-10-2010, 12:16 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,194
Just checked, and 3 of the 4 machines I maintain are at 6.19, and the other is at 6.18. No problems on any of them.

3 are SageTV servers, and 1 is my "main" machine.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-11-2010, 06:22 AM
wacole wacole is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade View Post
I had issues when I installed the update. Windows would load and I could see all of the icons on the desktop, but not everything worked. For example I couldn't open the windows control panel to get to the add/remove programs screen, clicking on tray icons did nothing, Sage wouldn't load and I couldn't launch the Sage Service control panel. I couldn't uninstall java or reinstall. Some other things in windows wouldn't work either (can't recall what).

I think what I did was go into safe mode and disable Sage through the services screen located in the administrative section of the windows control panel. Then when I logged into windows everything else worked properly. Instead of uninstalling the updated I reinstalled it then enabled the Sage service and I haven't had any problems since.
Blade, thank you so very much. I did what you suggested and now I have Sage back. A lesson learned the hard way: disable Sage before doing Java updates. Thanks again.
__________________
Bill Cole
Sage 7.0.23.246, STV7 7.0.23.1, Placeshifter, XP Pro SP3, HDHomeRun Dual Tuner, ATI Radeon 2400, AMD64 3000+ 1.8ghz, 2gb RAM, HD-300, OTA
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-11-2010, 06:26 AM
wacole wacole is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 72
All, thanks very much for the thread discussion. I'm going to make an image [now that I have a BIG hard drive to store it on] and have learned about stopping and starting services.

BTW I've been using Acronis Home 2009 for a year and upgraded to Home 2010 only to find it extraordinarily buggy, so reverted back to 2009 using their uninstall tool and bricked that machine. We're working on that one now. Not a good couple of weeks.

Thanks again. You all are great!

Bill Cole
__________________
Bill Cole
Sage 7.0.23.246, STV7 7.0.23.1, Placeshifter, XP Pro SP3, HDHomeRun Dual Tuner, ATI Radeon 2400, AMD64 3000+ 1.8ghz, 2gb RAM, HD-300, OTA
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-19-2010, 08:18 PM
malbec malbec is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 331
Don't forget to disable the comskip monitor service as well (if using it) before doing the upgrade ... I have had the same issue when I remembered to turn off the Sage service, but not comskip monitor.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-03-2010, 06:06 AM
shugrue shugrue is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 25
Java Update 20

I fell for this with update 19.
I rebooted into safe mode and uninstalled 19.
I then rebooted and installed 18.
All was well with Sage.
Now 20 comes out and fools me again.
Same process to recover.
Sage should post the correct procedure for installing Java updates seeing how Java is so important to it's operation !

-an annoyed loyal user.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-03-2010, 06:19 AM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by shugrue View Post
Sage should post the correct procedure for installing Java updates seeing how Java is so important to it's operation !

-an annoyed loyal user.
It's been posted here for over a year now.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-03-2010, 04:41 PM
shugrue shugrue is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 25
Java Update in Search Field

You can be sure that I typed "java update" in the search field.
I don't believe that it was "at the top" as one might expect.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-04-2010, 06:41 AM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by shugrue View Post
You can be sure that I typed "java update" in the search field.
I don't believe that it was "at the top" as one might expect.
I'm sure you did, but it is a sticky at the top of the forum so I don't see what else you'd expect Sage to do post wise in the forums to address the issue.

As I said before I was in a hurry and forgot to stop the service even though I know I should, but upgrading java is a pretty simple process. There aren't any special steps involved.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-12-2010, 05:19 AM
shugrue shugrue is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 25
You're right.

Please forgive me.
I'm obviously a victim of "information overload".

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Java 6 Update 12 -- Help Diego Garcia SageTV Software 19 03-21-2009 03:00 PM
Java 6 update 11 mistergq SageTV Software 3 12-05-2008 01:31 PM
Java Update sandor SageTV Mac Edition 4 10-10-2008 01:33 PM
Java - Update or not ? Ken C General Discussion 8 12-28-2007 02:03 PM
Need to update Java? Opus4 SageTV Beta Test Software 13 01-29-2004 09:21 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.