SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-27-2021, 10:01 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,598
Why is SageTV such a memory hog ??

SageTV sure eats up a lot of memory and does not releases it. Heck Plex has more artwork and the DVR on the same system and only uses ... 258 mb. Sage is using over 3 gig.... and that is with no clients connected.


__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 06-27-2021 at 10:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-27-2021, 10:05 PM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 693
I suspect Java is the primary culprit. If another app needs memory though, I think SageTV will release it in that case.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-27-2021, 11:01 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,435
It uses whatever memory you set the JVM heap to. If you have that cranked up, it will show “in use” because the JVM manages it separately from Windows itself. Look at the actual usage in the SageTV system information screen.

What it shouldn’t do is grow over time. If it does that means some native code has a memory leak.
__________________
Windows Installer

Last edited by wnjj; 06-27-2021 at 11:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-28-2021, 07:22 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
It uses whatever memory you set the JVM heap to. If you have that cranked up, it will show “in use” because the JVM manages it separately from Windows itself. Look at the actual usage in the SageTV system information screen.

What it shouldn’t do is grow over time. If it does that means some native code has a memory leak.
I have 32 Gig so I have plenty am just wondering why SagetV is so high.

__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 06-28-2021 at 07:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-28-2021, 09:44 AM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,194
I just checked my machine, and I'm only using about 800K, so it's something in your setup. Plugin, Java heap, ???
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-28-2021, 09:48 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattHelm View Post
I just checked my machine, and I'm only using about 800K, so it's something in your setup. Plugin, Java heap, ???
I am going to change it to run as a Service ... I did not run it as a service as I use CMT to create properties files and that requires an instance of SageTV running.


I am using Gemstone

CMT ...

Media Format Parser ...

SageTVTranscoder ...

Web Interface ...

MultiFunction Stop

Comskip.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 06-28-2021 at 09:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-28-2021, 10:37 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,598
Update ...

Before connecting miniclient ... 574,00 KB

As Soon As I connect 1 Android MiniClient ... 1,649,256
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-28-2021, 11:12 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I have 32 Gig so I have plenty am just wondering why SagetV is so high.

What is your heap size set to (JVMMaxHeapSizeMB in registry or check MAX available in system info)?
__________________
Windows Installer
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-28-2021, 11:17 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
What is your heap size set to (JVMMaxHeapSizeMB in registry or check MAX available in system info)?
8192 ... It appears it goes way up when I connect my Android MiniClient ... Stuckless said this appears to be normal. Each Android Client Appears to take over 1 GIG.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-28-2021, 08:12 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
8192 ... It appears it goes way up when I connect my Android MiniClient ... Stuckless said this appears to be normal. Each Android Client Appears to take over 1 GIG.
Would that include HD200 & HD 300ís?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV 9.1 Out of Memory (Fixed) JREkiwi SageTV Github Development 19 06-07-2017 06:23 AM
SageTV memory on Win2012 : 64-bit OS sflamm SageTV Software 6 10-07-2013 11:59 PM
Major Memory leak (Mapped File memory) during SageTV recordings bradvido SageTV Software 21 11-26-2011 09:24 PM
SageTV Service memory leak? valnar SageTV Software 8 03-23-2010 04:56 AM
Giving SageTV VM more memory Belgrath SageTV Software 2 09-11-2009 04:12 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.