SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2020, 07:12 PM
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 285
Channels DVR server

Anyone with a subscription to Channels DVR running their server software? It supports a lot of platforms, including RPi. https://getchannels.com/dvr-server/

I'm curious what their recording files look like.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2020, 07:49 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,482
The recordings are video files on your hard drive. They do not support protected files, so everything on your hard drive is just ... video files.

There's a forum here where you can get questions answered:

https://community.getchannels.com/categories

Or I believe you can use their software for a month free of charge.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2020, 07:57 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,482
Some guy posted a fairly honest review here a couple months ago:

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...8&postcount=38

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2020, 11:31 PM
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Some guy posted a fairly honest review here a couple months ago:

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...8&postcount=38

I did search before I started this thread...

Thanks!
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2020, 05:40 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 819
I had a subscription for a few months and was running it on my Synology server. I was using it to record LOCAST and it worked fine.

I canceled because LOCAST only broadcasts in stereo,
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: (2) Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-2020, 05:43 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,526
Channels DVR now has Pluto TV support it works great with EPG guide data.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-28-2020, 11:13 PM
mistergq's Avatar
mistergq mistergq is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 746
I am playing with it now with YouTube TV and OTA. My only complaint is it looks like I am going to have to use a pool hard drive system or set up a script to move shows from one drive to another.

Other than that, I think I am switching completely to YTTV come February when my 2 year contract is up with FIOS. Although, from talking to chat today, I think I can cancel TV at anytime because I am keeping the internet.
__________________
Media Server: Win 7 Home (32 bit), GIGABYTE GA-EP43-UD3L LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9505 Yorkfield 2.83GHz, 4 GB Ram, Geforce 9600 GT PCI-E, 1x HD PVR, HD homerun (2x for OTA, 1x for FIOS QAM), 1 x HD Homerun Prime with cablecard from FIOS.

Client: Windows 10 Pro

Media Extenders: HD-200 x 3, HD-200 x 2
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2020, 02:04 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistergq View Post
I am playing with it now with YouTube TV and OTA. My only complaint is it looks like I am going to have to use a pool hard drive system or set up a script to move shows from one drive to another.

Other than that, I think I am switching completely to YTTV come February when my 2 year contract is up with FIOS. Although, from talking to chat today, I think I can cancel TV at anytime because I am keeping the internet.
I would be great if SageTV accepted M3U ... channels does a great job of serving Pluto Stirr TVE and all HDHOMERUN tuners.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-29-2021, 01:30 PM
mlcarson mlcarson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Lompoc, CA
Posts: 86
Would this software allow for the same Pluto support in SageTV since it emulates an HDHomerun to achieve it?

https://github.com/fHDHR/fHDHR_PlutoTV


Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Channels DVR now has Pluto TV support it works great with EPG guide data.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-29-2021, 02:18 PM
AlphaCrew AlphaCrew is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Whosevile
Posts: 284
That would be awesome.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-02-2021, 05:21 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,526
They just added support for Playon Cloud ....

https://getchannels.com/docs/channel.../playon-cloud/
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-08-2021, 02:00 PM
mlcarson mlcarson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Lompoc, CA
Posts: 86
I'm currently playing with the Channels DVR. The Playon Cloud service is interesting but it's more of a way of getting a local 720p/stereo copy of DRM protected videos from Netflix, Hulu, Prime, etc. The only other use case I see for it is from Xfinity/Charter subscribers where you might be able to get show recordings for channels that are not on TV Everywhere but are on their cloud apps.

The unique thing about Channels DVR is really the TV Everywhere integration. Everything else you can do with Emby/Jellyfin and both of these services handle media collections better than Channels. The good thing is that Emby/Jellyfin can easily use Channels DVR as strictly a tuner for TV Everywhere.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-08-2021, 04:32 PM
AlphaCrew AlphaCrew is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Whosevile
Posts: 284
Wouldn't it be fantastic to have TVE integrated into SageTV. Man - O Man..
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-08-2021, 09:37 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaCrew View Post
Wouldn't it be fantastic to have TVE integrated into SageTV. Man - O Man..
It absolutely would! On the other hand, the various login requirements that change on a yearly/monthly/daily basis would require a full-time developer here at Sage that's willing to fix it every time it breaks, even on the weekends. It's hard to demand that kind of continual maintenance for free.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-09-2021, 08:40 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
It absolutely would! On the other hand, the various login requirements that change on a yearly/monthly/daily basis would require a full-time developer here at Sage that's willing to fix it every time it breaks, even on the weekends. It's hard to demand that kind of continual maintenance for free.
If SageTV can accept an M3U as a tuner and XML input .then there is nothing to maintain as Channels would handle it on their end. I have TVE on Emby through CannelsDVR.

I am finding it harder to justifying running a SageTV server as I only use HdHomerun hardware and lack of M3U support in SageTV makes SageTV pass it's prime. SageTV is still the best TV DVR software but that is all it offers at the moment.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 02-09-2021 at 08:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-09-2021, 06:40 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
If SageTV can accept an M3U as a tuner and XML input .then there is nothing to maintain as Channels would handle it on their end. I have TVE on Emby through CannelsDVR.

I am finding it harder to justifying running a SageTV server as I only use HdHomerun hardware and lack of M3U support in SageTV makes SageTV pass it's prime. SageTV is still the best TV DVR software but that is all it offers at the moment.
Do we still have to pay Channels DVR fees to run SageTV?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-09-2021, 08:27 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Do we still have to pay Channels DVR fees to run SageTV?
You get what you pay for ... you want one on one support and new features you pay for it bottom line... and Channels DVR support is great. I asked for a way to share tuners between 2 Channels DVR, Nextpvr and Emby and I got it. They can all watch or record the same Channels using 1 tuner stream ... I would like to add SagetV into the mix but it does not have m3u support.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 02-09-2021 at 08:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-10-2021, 05:41 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,482
At least SageTV has a clock in the guide.

Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-10-2021, 05:53 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
At least SageTV has a clock in the guide.

Get A small Digital Clock and tape it to the corner of your TV ...

__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 02-10-2021 at 05:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-10-2021, 06:03 PM
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
If SageTV can accept an M3U as a tuner and XML input .then there is nothing to maintain as Channels would handle it on their end. I have TVE on Emby through CannelsDVR.

I am finding it harder to justifying running a SageTV server as I only use HdHomerun hardware and lack of M3U support in SageTV makes SageTV pass it's prime. SageTV is still the best TV DVR software but that is all it offers at the moment.
OpenDCT supports a generic HTTP tuner. VLC and ffmpeg can both open an M3U file, and I know VLC can restream as an HTTP output and I think ffmpeg can too.

You'd have to be able to 'control' ChannelsDVR to start the stream of your desired program, which I'm not sure how to do. Possibly a script that sends the command using wget or ncat and writes out the resulting M3U file, then the script fires up VLC and passes the M3U file as an argument.

I don't know if this would work or not. Would take some experimenting.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Verizon FiOS Media Server arrives as Quantum TV DVR that records up to 12 channels at panteragstk General Discussion 8 04-19-2014 03:39 PM
No Signal in Sage on some Channels but HDHR3 QuickTV Tunes Channels Fine LexLS Hardware Support 8 03-15-2014 05:12 PM
How to best scan for missing channels or new channels with HDHR tuners? taylork Hardware Support 8 03-11-2009 06:12 PM
Server crashes after adding channels to A180 harrijay SageTV Linux 0 12-17-2007 08:59 AM
Scroll through channels w/o changing channels, using arrow keys area123 SageTV Customizations 4 03-27-2006 11:56 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.