SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2009, 11:34 AM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 389
Best program to edit HD-PVR files?

What do people use for editing the H.264 TS files created by the HD-PVR? When I record a movie, I want to edit it before archiving.

I tried the TME "Create Disc" "Cutting Room" editor that was included. I am amazed at what a terrible editor this is! No control over timeline, no precise control over positioning other than clicking Up and Down arrows on minutes or seconds, no keyboard shortcuts for anything, and worst of all, no way to save the cut points while working on a file.

Using this program to edit video is like going back to editing software source code under DOS with EDLIN.

I tried removing commercials from one fairly long movie. Guess what - after spending about an hour marking the in and out points in the most tedious, annoying program ever devised, it crashed and everything I did was lost.

What are people using to edit these files? I own MPEG Video Wizard, but it doesn't support H.264, so I guess I'll have to buy something else.


PS - to add insult to injury, Arcsoft also installs adware on your computer, which pops up spam messages from your system tray. It is called "Arcsoft Connect". I found instructions for disabling it here
__________________
HD300 extender with SageTV V9.1.10 (service mode), Running on Windows 7 (32 bit), E8400 3GHz dual core CPU, 4G RAM, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. NVidia 8600GT; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun tuner, HD-PVR Rev E1. HD-PVR 2 connected to Google Fiber GFHD200.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2009, 08:54 AM
Swagger200 Swagger200 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 59
I use H264TS_Cutter - google it
__________________
Server 1: i5-2500k, Win7 Pro, Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 tuner, SciAtl Explorer 8300HD -> Hauppauge HD-PVR
Server 2: Thinkpad T43p, XP Pro, SciAtl Explorer 4250HD -> Hauppauge HD-PVR
Server 3: Thinkpad T43p, XP Pro, SciAtl Explorer 4250HD -> Hauppauge HD-PVR
Clients: (3x) SageTV STX-HD-200, Patriot Box Office, Pivos Aios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2009, 03:08 PM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,911
Can you edit down to the frame with H264TS_Cutter? I tried a couple editing programs for H.264, but they could not edit down to the frame like you can with VideoReDo does for MPEG2 files.

Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Memory 24 gigs GB, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 500GB SSD boot, 3 SSD recording drives
Capture cards: 2 - HDHR Primes - Comcast Xfinity CableTV
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Pro X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix), OpenDCT
UnRAID File Server 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2009, 03:24 PM
willhorner willhorner is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
There realy is no solution that dosent include recompressing the stream if you want frame accuracy. That being said...if you dont mind recompressing, Megui is what I use, I take the .ts that sage tv generates, run tsmuxer and output a mt2s, then open it in megui, make my cuts and let it go. output is beautiful.

Im with you on the whole "there need to be a frame accurate cutter that dosent recompress the entire stream" bandwagon. but so is every other mildy advanced user of this product.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2009, 12:03 PM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 389
Bringing this thread to the top again: I'm still looking for an easy and effective solution for editing the H.264 TS files from the HD-PVR.

I tried H.264 TS Cutter, but it gives cryptic errors ("It seems in this TS is no IDR-Frame. It is necessary to set CutIn to I-Frame and Out Frame to B or even All-Frame", and "Could not init. video playback DS-Error. Attempted to read or write protected memory). It hangs before it finishes opening a file from the HD-PVR.

VideoRedo's H.264 capability is still in "alpha", so it could be a long time before availability.

Converting between formats by uncompressing and re-compressing would introduce quality loss, which is not desirable since the purpose of the editing is for archiving.

Are there any commercial programs that have been introduced that can edit the HD-PVR's H.264 TS files?
__________________
HD300 extender with SageTV V9.1.10 (service mode), Running on Windows 7 (32 bit), E8400 3GHz dual core CPU, 4G RAM, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. NVidia 8600GT; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun tuner, HD-PVR Rev E1. HD-PVR 2 connected to Google Fiber GFHD200.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2009, 04:49 PM
Rico66 Rico66 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by timg11 View Post
Bringing this thread to the top again: I'm still looking for an easy and effective solution for editing the H.264 TS files from the HD-PVR.

I tried H.264 TS Cutter, but it gives cryptic errors ("It seems in this TS is no IDR-Frame. It is necessary to set CutIn to I-Frame and Out Frame to B or even All-Frame", and "Could not init. video playback DS-Error. Attempted to read or write protected memory). It hangs before it finishes opening a file from the HD-PVR.

VideoRedo's H.264 capability is still in "alpha", so it could be a long time before availability.

Converting between formats by uncompressing and re-compressing would introduce quality loss, which is not desirable since the purpose of the editing is for archiving.

Are there any commercial programs that have been introduced that can edit the HD-PVR's H.264 TS files?
For H264TS_Cutter you'll probably want to set cut-in and cut-out to all frames. Otherwise I'd end up with lip sync errors. While the result is not 100% frame accurate, it's not that far off. Works quite well for me, and it's free,

The decoders in use also play a role. I typically switch to ffdshow (for audio and video) for this purpose, since I got problems/crashes when using e.g. the MPC video decoder.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-17-2009, 02:49 PM
SundanceTV SundanceTV is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NCal
Posts: 37
Editing H264 recordings made with HD-PVR

I have managed to get my HD-PVR to record from my cable box and just assumed I would be able to edit them with VideoReDo ....WRONG.It does not support H264. Not surprising as it's pretty much dead as far as development goes. There hasn't been a feature upgrade in several years now.

Is there anything out there to edit the recordings made with the HD-PVR?

Thanks

* merged *
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-17-2009, 04:04 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,198
You need to read up a little. VideoRedo has a beta out that supports h.264 and is pretty close to release. It has worked great for me.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-18-2009, 04:23 PM
hufnagel hufnagel is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Union Cty, NJ
Posts: 161
OK I have to jump in on this topic even though my issue isn't 100% on topic but I can't find any other threads so...

Background:
For years (literally!) I've been using Womble's MPEG-VCR to chop out commercials from recordings I've saved. Mainly I used it because I wrote a simple script (in BATCH of all things!) that processes the .wme files that ComSkip can create and process them into .rec files and a .edl file list for MPEG-VCR to work with. This has served me VERY well to the point where in an hour I can easily prep over 30 1-hour recordings for trimming then set MPEG-VCR off on its merry way to do so.

Problem:
MPEG-VCR no longer edits files correctly that have been recorded from my HDHR tuners, such that they "beat/pause/skip" on about a 1 second period. why it's doing it doesn't matter, all that does is it's now broken. So I need a (preferably non-transcoding) editor that I can write scripts for that will work with HDHR output files.
__________________
Setup #7.6 Hyper-V (again!)
Hardware: Comcast Basic Digital Cable, (1) HDHR3-CC 20170815 firmware, 36GB "system" drive, 2TB laptop drives, a buttload of archive drives, HP DL380G6 2x X5660 processors (4 cores to VM), 4GB ram
Software: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64, SageTV v9.1.2.662, Java v1.8.0_131, STV 2017052101, HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-18-2009, 06:46 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
the hdhr outputs mpeg files (by default i think too) so you should be able to configure comskip to make an edl, fire up the file with video redo (it should read the .edl file), make any adjustments to the .edl, and save the output. It does not reencode the whole file.

Alternatively mediashrink make the vprj (videoredo project) file from the edl if present, and cut the commercials. then you could even have sjq execute the jobs for a 100% hands off approach...

if it were me i would manually create the vprj file (because com skipping is never 100%... ) and then use SJQ to fire off mediashrink to do the actual cutting.
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-18-2009, 08:00 PM
hufnagel hufnagel is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Union Cty, NJ
Posts: 161
you pretty got my project flow there...
record, batch run comskip every night, manually "clean up" comskips using ComskipGUI interface (which also writes a comskip.wme format), convert wme's to womble.rec's and make womble.edl batch/list file, launch MPEG-VCR and run womble.edl.

I have Video ReDo on this other machine but it doesn't understand the womble.rec or comskip.edl files for some reason. (note, womble.rec is the editor file with the comskip info for each recording, womble.edl is nothing more than a listing of the various womble.rec's that are to be run. it's different from the comskip.edl that comskip makes. I know, 2 different formats with the same extension.) I need to see if comskip can make .vprj files or if I can't build them from either the comskip.edl or comskip.txt files.

just pisses me off that the Womble program is broken now.
__________________
Setup #7.6 Hyper-V (again!)
Hardware: Comcast Basic Digital Cable, (1) HDHR3-CC 20170815 firmware, 36GB "system" drive, 2TB laptop drives, a buttload of archive drives, HP DL380G6 2x X5660 processors (4 cores to VM), 4GB ram
Software: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64, SageTV v9.1.2.662, Java v1.8.0_131, STV 2017052101, HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-22-2009, 06:59 PM
jgourd's Avatar
jgourd jgourd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 99
How to use HD-PVR files elsewhere?

So I have these great .ts files in Sage that I want to edit, recompress etc. They are concerts I recorded off cable and i only want a few tunes from each in h.264 format.

I have tried virtual dub and MPEG stream clip but nothing opens these .ts files other than a player. What should I use to edit / recompress these files?

* merged *
__________________
SERVER:Gigabyte EX38-DQ6 Mobo, Intel Core 2 Quad CPU, 5 500gig SATA II HDs, 2 HDHR tuners, 1 HD-PVR, Panasonic 65" Plasma
Clients: 1 HD-100, 2 HD-200s
Media Vault: Droboshare with V1 Drobo attached with 4 2TB drives
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-03-2010, 01:07 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgourd View Post
So I have these great .ts files in Sage that I want to edit, recompress etc. They are concerts I recorded off cable and i only want a few tunes from each in h.264 format.

I have tried virtual dub and MPEG stream clip but nothing opens these .ts files other than a player. What should I use to edit / recompress these files?

* merged *
I just downloaded the Videoredo trial (version 564), and it can't edit HD-PVR .TS H-264 files. At least that's what the requester says when I try to open one of my HD PVR files.

any ideas?

**note change - just found an updated version 596 - which handles h.264. Strange that it's not the download trial version

Last edited by tvmaster2; 03-03-2010 at 01:18 PM. Reason: change
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-03-2010, 01:22 PM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
I just downloaded the Videoredo trial (version 564), and it can't edit HD-PVR .TS H-264 files. At least that's what the requester says when I try to open one of my HD PVR files.

any ideas?


Did you download the VideoRedo version using the link posted in this thread? This says the latest build is 596.

I tried it and it appears to support HD-PVR files.
VideoRedo is selling two versions, with and without the H.264 support, so you have to be sure to get the right one.
__________________
HD300 extender with SageTV V9.1.10 (service mode), Running on Windows 7 (32 bit), E8400 3GHz dual core CPU, 4G RAM, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. NVidia 8600GT; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun tuner, HD-PVR Rev E1. HD-PVR 2 connected to Google Fiber GFHD200.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-03-2010, 02:02 PM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,911
You have to use VideoReDo Suite to edit TS files. I've been using it since the beta. It's a bit harder to edit the TS files than the MPEG files because moving around in the frames is not quite as smooth. However, it works to edit TS and MPEG files.

I bought the VideoReDo Plus product before the Suite. The Plus version does not edit TS files, but might in future versions.

Here's a link to the VideoReDo Suite software:

http://www.videoredo.com/en/ProductTVS.htm


Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Memory 24 gigs GB, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 500GB SSD boot, 3 SSD recording drives
Capture cards: 2 - HDHR Primes - Comcast Xfinity CableTV
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Pro X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix), OpenDCT
UnRAID File Server 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-04-2010, 10:44 AM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by timg11 View Post
Did you download the VideoRedo version using the link posted in this thread? This says the latest build is 596.

I tried it and it appears to support HD-PVR files.
VideoRedo is selling two versions, with and without the H.264 support, so you have to be sure to get the right one.

Note - as of February 24th, the thread above was linked to the wrong program on the VideoRedo site (it downloaded the non-H.264 version 3, which confusingly has the same 596 build number). The link is fixed now.
If you previously downloaded the file, check to be sure the file name you downloaded is "VRDTVSH264-4-20-3-596.exe"
__________________
HD300 extender with SageTV V9.1.10 (service mode), Running on Windows 7 (32 bit), E8400 3GHz dual core CPU, 4G RAM, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. NVidia 8600GT; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun tuner, HD-PVR Rev E1. HD-PVR 2 connected to Google Fiber GFHD200.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-07-2010, 02:56 PM
crobs808's Avatar
crobs808 crobs808 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 67
Adobe Premiere Pro --> Adobe Encore --> Blu-Ray disc

My workflow for putting U-Verse DVR recordings onto Blu-Ray discs (BD-5 which is technically burned to DVD-Rs, but play in HD/1080 on a set-top Blu-Ray player or a computer)...

1. Rename SageTV recorded files from 'filename.ts' to 'filename.m2v'
2. Import into Premiere Pro CS4 (naively recognizes video and audio perfectly)
3. Do all the editing, removing of commercials, and whatever else you want
4. Save your project
5. Close Premiere Pro, then open Adobe Encore CS4
6. Import your Premiere Pro project then right-click on it to make it a timeline
7. Click "Build" to make your Blu-Ray disc
8. (Optional Step): Use BD Rebuilder to shrink it down to fit on a DVD-R (will still be Blu-Ray HD files though) - or at this point you can just burn it to a BD-R/RW disc if you want without shrinking it.

-The whole process takes about 30 minutes to get onto a 1080i BD disc (or Encore can make it into 1080p if you want)
-With optional STEP 8, it takes about 45-60 minutes to get 1080p DVD-R disc (this is called a BD5, and BD Rebuilder creates 1080p discs automatically from 1080i source material).

I should probably make a guide, lol, but it is SO easy. You can do this without ever having used Adobe software. I just did this with the movie Tron (1982) when it was recolored and re-released in HD last week...got it on Blu-Ray disc right now sitting on my desk At any rate, this is how I get movies or multiple shows/episodes I record onto Blu-Ray disc. They play fine in my Samsung Blu-Ray player in their full 1080 glory. The final discs also play on my friend's PS3 too

-C
__________________
Server: Win7 Ultimate 64-bit, 2x Quad Xeon E5420, ATI 4870X2, 8x Pioneer BDR-203
Hardware: Hauppauge HD-PVR
Software: Windows Media Center (formerly SageTV)
Source: ATT U-Verse HD
Output: Panasonic 50" Plasma / LAN

Last edited by crobs808; 03-07-2010 at 03:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-16-2010, 08:53 PM
david zero david zero is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
Possible to edit HD-PVR's .TS files?

Once I had a Hauppauge PCI card that did a great job of recording my TV programs in MPEG-2 format which I could quickly and easily edit using Womble MPEG Video Wizard. Now I have fantastic HD video files of the "Transport Stream" format (.TS extension) that don't seem to be editable by anything. What gives? Have I traded higher video quality for the option to edit my video files? Or is there some program out there I haven't heard about yet that would give me the capability to edit my HD-PVR's .TS files?

David

* merged *
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-17-2010, 02:23 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,360
VideoReDo is your only option
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-17-2010, 10:27 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,198
VideoRedo TV Suite v4 is solid for me.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
.ts, hauppauge, transport stream


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD PVR No Audio jbert Hardware Support 11 07-28-2012 10:26 AM
HD PVR Woes Striker:WG Hardware Support 4 12-01-2008 05:58 PM
HD PVR - Is it working ? AtariJeff Hardware Support 3 11-01-2008 05:08 PM
Hauppage HD PVR BSOD on IR Blaster Config bastian74 Hardware Support 1 10-15-2008 01:28 PM
Dropped favorite recording -- with debug logs Surtr SageTV Software 4 02-19-2008 10:48 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.