SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations > Batch Metadata Tools

Notices

Batch Metadata Tools This forums is for discussing the user-created Batch Metadata Tools for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2010, 09:38 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,510
Batch Metadata Tools - Start Here

Well, I can finally say that I've completed the 4.x release of BMT, and I have the documentation to prove it

Quick Start (alternate version)
Short quick guide on installing/upgrading/updating BMT

About BMT (alternate version)
I recommend that everyone read this document, even if you've been using BMT for a while. I hope it helps explain the product and its close relationship with Phoenix.

BMT User Guide (alternate version)
User Guides are tough to write. I've refrained from writing one because the product was changing pretty fast. But now, I think that it's fairly stable. While you might now read the entire user guide, please check the table of contents, to see if there are things that may catch your attention.

If you have trouble opening the links, then try the alternate versions. The alternates are not well formatted, but they should work, in the event that the 'formatted' version does not.

I hope both of these documents are of help to the community, since they both took way too long write. Now I can get back to doing what I do best, write code.

Videos / Tutorials
Youtube Channel

Enjoy

Last edited by stuckless; 05-31-2011 at 05:43 PM. Reason: Add 'Relocating Fanart' tutorial
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2010, 08:25 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,510
Just a bump, to let people know that I've posted "formatted" versions of the documents. The original links were horribly formatted from google docs, but they should now look ok. But if you have issues accessing the mian links, then use the alternate links (which are unformatted)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2010, 10:53 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,510
There was a permissions issue with the Google Docs Link. That should be resolved now. You should not need a google account to simple view the document.

I started to get so many requests to "share" the document, that I thought people were wanting to edit them It turns out, people just wanted to see them
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2010, 02:31 PM
jreichen's Avatar
jreichen jreichen is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,192
Excellent work, Sean. Being a fellow developer I know how hard it is to write doc when you could be doing something else. I haven't used BMT in a while and it looks like the web UI has come a long way.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5 760 Quad, Gigabyte GA-H57M-USB3, 4GB RAM, Gigabyte GeForce 210, 120GB SSD (OS), 1TB SATA, HD HomeRun.
Extender: STP-HD300, Harmony 550 Remote,
Netgear MCA1001 Ethernet over Coax.
SageTV: SageTV Server 7.1.8 on Ubuntu Linux 11.04, SageTV Placeshifter for Mac 6.6.2, SageTV Client 7.0.15 for Windows, Linux Placeshifter 7.1.8 on Server and Client
, Java 1.6.
Plugins: Jetty, Nielm's Web Server, Mobile Web Interface.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2010, 02:52 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by jreichen View Post
Excellent work, Sean. Being a fellow developer I know how hard it is to write doc when you could be doing something else. I haven't used BMT in a while and it looks like the web UI has come a long way.
Thanks! It certainly wasn't easy, that's for sure, but hopefully, there's enough in there that people can get a feel for what bmt does (and doesn't) do. It's no secret that I hate writing documentation,mainly because it's seems like it's out of date before it's written BMT is fairly stable right now, in terms of features, so hopefully the documentation will remain relevant for at least a few months
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-2010, 11:02 AM
OneOfMany OneOfMany is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 374
Thanks a lot Sean. Although I am "fairly" comfortable playing with BMT, most of my successes came after numerous failures. Reading the docs have helped me to solidify those things I know and filled in the gaps of those that I don't.

Really appreciate your time.

Grant

Last edited by OneOfMany; 12-13-2010 at 11:02 AM. Reason: spellung
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-23-2010, 02:32 AM
russellnewman russellnewman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Oakland, CA, USA
Posts: 14
Typo???
(on the "About BMT" link)

"" BMT is not associated with SageTV in any way, so please to send support related questions, regarding BMT, to core SageTV employees...."

You mean
"... don't send...to Sage Employees..."
Right?

Last edited by russellnewman; 12-23-2010 at 02:33 AM. Reason: left out last line
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-23-2010, 07:39 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by russellnewman View Post
Typo???
(on the "About BMT" link)

"" BMT is not associated with SageTV in any way, so please to send support related questions, regarding BMT, to core SageTV employees...."

You mean
"... don't send...to Sage Employees..."
Right?
hehe - it is a typo... it's been fixed, and thanks for pointing that out.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-29-2010, 12:55 PM
LoopyWolf LoopyWolf is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 48
NoSuchMethodFound sagex.pheonix.metadata.automaticMetadataVisitor

I used to use MetaDataTool.jar in order to populate my video files on my media center with Season and Episode numbers

I recently had to re-install the system on win7, and I got sage7 to go with it, and of course MDT no longer worked - sadly.. cause it was great =)

I instaled the new MetaDataTool, and BMT and any others that asked for "update" on the SageTV plugins screen - but when I try to run the metadatatool on any media I get

NoSuchMethodFound sagex.pheonix.metadata.automaticMetadataVisitor.<init>{Lsave/pheonix/...}

That looks to me like I'm missing a library or have an out-of-date library or something else.

What I want to do is to run MDT.jar from the command line and get information on Season and Episode number, based on the title and show.

Can anyone help me to get this back on its feet?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-29-2010, 03:39 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoopyWolf View Post
I used to use MetaDataTool.jar in order to populate my video files on my media center with Season and Episode numbers

I recently had to re-install the system on win7, and I got sage7 to go with it, and of course MDT no longer worked - sadly.. cause it was great =)

I instaled the new MetaDataTool, and BMT and any others that asked for "update" on the SageTV plugins screen - but when I try to run the metadatatool on any media I get

NoSuchMethodFound sagex.pheonix.metadata.automaticMetadataVisitor.<init>{Lsave/pheonix/...}

That looks to me like I'm missing a library or have an out-of-date library or something else.

What I want to do is to run MDT.jar from the command line and get information on Season and Episode number, based on the title and show.

Can anyone help me to get this back on its feet?
I sort of stopped supporting the the command line version some time ago. It is still there, but I haven't run it in quite some time. I'll open a bug for this, and see if I can get it working again. Typically I just use bmt web ui, so I don't put much effort into the command line.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-30-2010, 12:55 AM
LoopyWolf LoopyWolf is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 48
Is quite OK - actually I went and looked up the tvdb API and made myself my own little episode-season metadata information grabbed for my media center =)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-30-2010, 07:26 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,510
I find the problem the bmt command line as well.... It'll be fixed in the build, but sounds like you won't need it now
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-30-2010, 08:21 AM
LoopyWolf LoopyWolf is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 48
well I thank you for taking the time and for making the awesome BMT =)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-27-2015, 01:26 PM
sacrament055 sacrament055 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 427
Out of curiosity, I've used Playon to record some episodes of "Pawn Stars" I matched the TVDB naming which incidently uses S2015eXX. I'm wondering why BMT keeps thinking it's a movie since it's a perfect match for TVDB. Is it possibly the fact that they're using 4 Digit Season code instead of the usual 2?

I tried creating a match:
<match>
<regex>[\\/]Pawn Stars[\\/]</regex>
<metadata type="tv" name="tvdb">111051</metadata>
</match>

But it still failed to identify it as a TV series.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-27-2015, 02:33 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by sacrament055 View Post
Out of curiosity, I've used Playon to record some episodes of "Pawn Stars" I matched the TVDB naming which incidently uses S2015eXX. I'm wondering why BMT keeps thinking it's a movie since it's a perfect match for TVDB. Is it possibly the fact that they're using 4 Digit Season code instead of the usual 2?

I tried creating a match:
<match>
<regex>[\\/]Pawn Stars[\\/]</regex>
<metadata type="tv" name="tvdb">111051</metadata>
</match>

But it still failed to identify it as a TV series.

Thanks
Did you refresh the configuration (and/or restart sagetv) after maching the changes? (assuming you manually added this to the xml.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-27-2015, 08:18 PM
sacrament055 sacrament055 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 427
Yes, it's restated several times since then. I manually correct it but wondered if there was something I was missing.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-28-2015, 04:58 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,510
And your recordings are in a "Pawn Stars" directory? (since that's what the regex is matching)... Could you post a complete file path of a recording... I can try to test it here.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-28-2015, 03:25 PM
sacrament055 sacrament055 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 427
full path in my case is:
U:\Imported_Media\Television\Pawn Stars\Season2015\
filename example is
Pawn Stars - S2015E31 - Penny for Your Pawn

Sage Picks it up but BMT marks it as movie, my assumption was it was because the season is 2015 but I suspect you would know best.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-31-2017, 11:26 PM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 247
Delete fanart

Total BMT noob here. I did read the available docs, but they didn't cover my issues:
1. How do I get it to grab metadata based on filename? My recordings are named SeriesName-Episodename.ext, and with the Sage9 update about 50 of them suddently became "no data". I'd like to use BMT to fix that by scanning the filename to get & set the correct metadata. But when I search for files with "no data" and then select one to find metadata, it finds nothing, and I can't see a way to get it to search based on the filename.
2. I told it I didn't want fanart, but I found my drive now filled with it. Can I just delete it (and will it then stay deleted? I don't use it and don't want it taking up space).
3. Similarly, can I just delete (or put into a .zip file) and store elsewhere, if they are useful, all of the .properties files that got created? - and keep them from being created unless I ask for them specifically?
__________________
Server: Windows 7 SP1; 4gb RAM; 2TB SATA. Dell GX745. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast DTA with USBUIRT. Haup 1800 on ATSC. Sage 9.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feedback on BMT - Batch Metadata Tools Brent Batch Metadata Tools 7 11-15-2010 10:25 PM
Warring metadata tools davidk21770 SageTV v7 Customizations 1 06-09-2010 11:07 AM
STV Import: Batch Metadata Importer Tools for Default STV Tiki Batch Metadata Tools 23 05-03-2010 09:52 PM
Batch Metadata Tools new releases subscription thread stuckless Customization Announcements 18 02-17-2010 09:27 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.