SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 11-28-2007, 10:29 AM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,304
No need for gigabit at all, I can stream 3 1500p feeds in MJPEG on base 100.

With MPEG4, H.264 whatever streams that could be tripled, heck just MPEG2 would probably allow 10-12 feeds to the device. No concerns there at all, for now anyways maybe once we have 10-15 megapixel TVs and video streams.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 11-28-2007, 12:03 PM
beelzerob beelzerob is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 163
Perhaps this is already screamingly obvious, but help me out here....

Will this thing have the same controllability as all other media extenders currently (MVP, Placeshifter, etc)? Is it just another UI context as far as the API is concerned?
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 11-28-2007, 12:46 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by beelzerob View Post
Will this thing have the same controllability as all other media extenders currently (MVP, Placeshifter, etc)? Is it just another UI context as far as the API is concerned?
Yes - it connects like the MVP extender.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 11-28-2007, 01:05 PM
IVB's Avatar
IVB IVB is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oak-town, CA
Posts: 1,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
Yes - it connects like the MVP extender.

- Andy


YIPPEE!!
__________________
------------------------------------
My Home Automation YouTube channel
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 11-28-2007, 01:42 PM
Humanzee's Avatar
Humanzee Humanzee is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabroni View Post
There are DVI -> HDMI cables out there
Yeah I know, but I was reading some things about HDCP compliance with those adapter cables. Something about affecting the timing signal between your source and the TV. hand shakes fail or time out. I guess I don't know till I try it.

DVI would also be nice for those folks who want to use a computer monitor etc. Like in our kitchen, we'll have a computer monitor for viewing. Of course it will be connected to the server behind the wall anyway, but still.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 11-28-2007, 08:00 PM
Djc208's Avatar
Djc208 Djc208 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SE Virginia
Posts: 674
The HDCP compliance should only be an issue if something needs HDCP, since we still have yet to figure out how to get encrypted content through Sage this probably won't be an issue any time soon.

Not even sure that the HD extender supports HDCP, why pay for the key if you're not going to have encrypted content.
__________________
Server: Core 2 Duo E4200 2 GB RAM, nVidia 6200LE, 480 GB in pool, 500GB WHS backup drive, 1x750 GB & 1x1TB Sage drives, Hauppage HVR-1600, HD PVR, Windows Home Server SP2
Media center: 46" Samsung DLP, HD-100 extender.
Gaming: Intel Core2 Duo E7300, 4GB RAM, ATI HD3870, Intel X-25M G2 80GB SSD, 200 & 120 GB HDD, 23" Dell LCD, Windows 7 Home Premium.
Laptop: HP dm3z, AMD (1.6 GHz) 4 GB RAM, 60 GB OCZ SSD, AMD HD3200 graphics, 13.3" widescreen LCD, Windows 7 x64/Sage placeshifter.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 11-28-2007, 09:18 PM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,304
It has USB ports on it, although not supported now I can see them being open of optical drives. That would could allow HDCP passthrough the HDMI port.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 11-28-2007, 10:07 PM
flavius flavius is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,257
I'd rather have good PQ.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 11-29-2007, 09:22 AM
waynedunham waynedunham is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Humanzee View Post
Yeah I know, but I was reading some things about HDCP compliance with those adapter cables. Something about affecting the timing signal between your source and the TV. hand shakes fail or time out. I guess I don't know till I try it.
My DVD recorder in my HT setup is HDMI and my TV is DVI. I started using an HDMI-DVI cable and had mixed results. Some DVD's played fine, some I'd get either no picture, or the picture dropping in and out, and some no picture at all.
On the ones with picture problems if I unplugged and then replugged the HDMI-DVI cable the picture would come back crystal clear for 5-15 seconds and then drop out or drop in/out again. I ended up going to the component outputs which don't upconvert like the HDMI port does.

Your mileage may vary, but that's my experience with my DVD recorder and that TV. One of these days I'm going to put it in the bedroom and try it on my TV in there that does have an HDMI input.
__________________
Wayne Dunham
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 11-29-2007, 10:40 AM
Djc208's Avatar
Djc208 Djc208 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SE Virginia
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by CollinR View Post
It has USB ports on it, although not supported now I can see them being open of optical drives. That would could allow HDCP passthrough the HDMI port.
True, and the extender does support h.264 and VC-1 so assuming you could get Sage to playback content off the drive then with an LG combo HD/BD reader you'd have a cheap (relatively speaking) combo player with the Sage interface.

Of course currently none of the content providers are requiring the copy protection to be enabled, so it wouldn't matter but it will probalby happen sooner or later.

I already have an HD-DVD player so it's not that big a deal to me right now, but in any event I guess it would be nice to know if the extender supported HDCP.
__________________
Server: Core 2 Duo E4200 2 GB RAM, nVidia 6200LE, 480 GB in pool, 500GB WHS backup drive, 1x750 GB & 1x1TB Sage drives, Hauppage HVR-1600, HD PVR, Windows Home Server SP2
Media center: 46" Samsung DLP, HD-100 extender.
Gaming: Intel Core2 Duo E7300, 4GB RAM, ATI HD3870, Intel X-25M G2 80GB SSD, 200 & 120 GB HDD, 23" Dell LCD, Windows 7 Home Premium.
Laptop: HP dm3z, AMD (1.6 GHz) 4 GB RAM, 60 GB OCZ SSD, AMD HD3200 graphics, 13.3" widescreen LCD, Windows 7 x64/Sage placeshifter.
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 11-29-2007, 05:03 PM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
Well, I have no further use for the empty box, so I could sell that if you really want it. Oh, wait... cancel that offer. I'm not allowed to sell anything on the forum.

- Andy
Someone actually did sell an empty XBOX 360 cardboard box for more than $600!

http://digg.com/gaming_news/Empty_XBOX_360_Box_sells_on_eBay_for_$600_

Nice photos of the HD Media Extender. One very important point was left off, and there only seems to be people guessing. What is the price? If the price is too high, people might start jumping off the HD Media Extender bandwagon.

Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Memory 24 gigs GB, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 500GB SSD boot, 3 SSD recording drives
Capture cards: 2 - HDHR Primes - Comcast Xfinity CableTV
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Pro X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix), OpenDCT
UnRAID File Server 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 11-29-2007, 05:05 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by davephan View Post
Someone actually did sell an empty XBOX 360 cardboard box for more than $600!

http://digg.com/gaming_news/Empty_XBOX_360_Box_sells_on_eBay_for_$600_

Nice photos of the HD Media Extender. One very important point was left off, and there only seems to be people guessing. What is the price? If the price is too high, people might start jumping off the HD Media Extender bandwagon.

Dave
Look here.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 11-29-2007, 05:28 PM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,911
Thanks for letting me know the price of the STX-HD100 will be $199.95 including the extender license.

Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Memory 24 gigs GB, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 500GB SSD boot, 3 SSD recording drives
Capture cards: 2 - HDHR Primes - Comcast Xfinity CableTV
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Pro X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix), OpenDCT
UnRAID File Server 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 11-30-2007, 05:13 AM
Polypro Polypro is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,801
It's Black! You guys are awesome!!!

P
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 12-08-2007, 04:38 PM
hemicuda's Avatar
hemicuda hemicuda is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north of Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 1,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fluffdaddy View Post
cool. got 2. thx.
__________________
Server: MS Win7 SP1; FX8350 (H2O cooled); 8GB RAM; Hauppauge HVR-2250 (OTA); HVR-1800 (OTA); SageTV 9.1.5.x; 12+TB Sage Storage

Clients: HD300 x2; HD200 x2; Placeshifter

Service: EPB Fiber (1Gb); OTA (we "cut the cord"); Netflix, Hulu, etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me figure out what dumb thing I am doing with the HD-PVR and HD Media Extender Chriscic SageTV Beta Test Software 15 08-04-2008 07:57 PM
Alternatives for the HD100 HD Extender? bond00 SageTV Media Extender 3 02-25-2008 08:10 PM
SageTV HD Media Extender and Digital Cable Benny the Guard SageTV Media Extender 4 12-13-2007 05:29 PM
New HD Media Extender vs. MediaMVP for SD LehighBri SageTV Media Extender 3 12-13-2007 02:48 PM
HD media extender USB ports covers bastafidli SageTV Media Extender 4 12-13-2007 02:47 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.