SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 12-13-2007, 05:23 PM
Spriter Spriter is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 31
About the audio problem, could you try...

... the following to see if this could help.

Open the avi file using virtuadub
Go to video and select direct stream copy
file save as using old old format.

On another media streamer this fixed this kind of problems.

Did not receive my extender yet so can't do the test myself.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 12-13-2007, 05:30 PM
geogecko geogecko is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Oklahoma
Posts: 2,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
It ought to be able to do 1680x1050 like this:

Code:
extender_resolution_extra_modes=1680x1050p@60|standard\=VESA_1680x1050x60
Haven't tried that one though.
Thanks, I will give that a try when it arrives!
__________________
-Jason
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 12-15-2007, 06:01 PM
metrodude metrodude is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
RE: Divx\Xvid playback issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by metrodude View Post
I'm having issues playing Divx\Xvid videos on my new HD Extender. I updated the firmware and followed the guide to set it up and Live HD TV works very nice but I can't playback many of my Divx files without getting playback exception errors or the extender locking up. All Divx videos play fine on all other PC's and hardware I have. I even get the errors when playing back videos I transcoded using SageTV earlier that used to work on the server and transcoded across to my MVPs. Any ideas?

Sage Server is 6.3 and Extender is updated to latest firmware last night.

Anyone else having issues? Reviews said the HD Extender took anything thrown at it.

Thanks.
I've been testing for days now and I've concluded the HD Extender is having real issues playing back Divx and Xvid formats. Some work ok but most lock up the extender device completely causing me to power it off and back on. My .mp4 files work fine but I'm not happy with the quality compared to Xvid or Divx. I also tried to rip a DVD to .h264 and it studdered and the audio was off while playing on the HD Extender. I was able to play all of these videos using the SageTV PC client with the exception of .mp4 which have always locked up SageTV on the PC client for me. I can't believe I'm the only one having these issues?? I don't consider about a 90% failure rate for Xvid\Divx files to be a small issue.

PS. So I don't sound totally negative.. I do want to say that the HD TV is working great using my HDHomerun and the HD Extender so it's not a total loss at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 12-15-2007, 06:17 PM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,719
That's odd. I have all my recordings converted to either xvid or divx and have had no difficulty at all playing anything.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 12-16-2007, 03:04 AM
metrodude metrodude is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by toricred View Post
That's odd. I have all my recordings converted to either xvid or divx and have had no difficulty at all playing anything.
OK.. I had been using FairUse Wizard 2 Pro to convert my DVD library to xvid setting desired output file to 2000MB and it looks like those are mainly the files I can't play with the new HD Extender. I found a few videos I had done earlier with another program and they seem to play fine on the HD Extender so I purchased DVDFab and I am able to play xvid and .mp4 files created from it. I guess I may just have to convert my DVD library again....uhhg. I still think there is some issue with the extender as I can play the videos I'm having trouble with in any other player including SageTV on the server and SageTV PC client and transcoded to several MVPs. At least I have a work around..even if it will be a lot of work...
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 12-16-2007, 12:19 PM
bastafidli bastafidli is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 728
The best is to submit a support request. I did it for some of myh videos and they asked me to send them some samples so they can take a look at it.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 12-18-2007, 01:14 PM
metrodude metrodude is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bastafidli View Post
The best is to submit a support request. I did it for some of myh videos and they asked me to send them some samples so they can take a look at it.
Thanks. I'll do that. First time I've had to request support as everyone on this forum is always so great to help out.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 12-18-2007, 01:49 PM
tbonessc tbonessc is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 42
I have been using FairUse 2 as well with mixed results on playback. I would either get a playback exception or the extender would go into standby. I've opened a ticket with Sage and provided them the logs. I'm seeing the following errors.

Mon 12/17 21:26:08.155 Seeker has finished the library import scan.
Mon 12/17 21:26:17.978 java.net.SocketTimeoutException: Read timed out
Mon 12/17 21:26:17.980 VideFrame had an error loading the file. It must abort the file load.
Mon 12/17 21:26:17.981 Closing down MiniPlayer
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 12-18-2007, 02:23 PM
jphipps jphipps is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 512
I see the exact same error. I origonally thought it was related to file size, because it seemed that divx/xvid files that are over approx 3GB were causing an issue for me, but I did have a few that seemed to work. I am going to try converting one from xvid to nero digital to see if it makes any difference and test it tonight...
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 12-18-2007, 02:41 PM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,220
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
Reference frames?

There is a known bug on ATI/NVidia cards with hardware acceleration and how a specific x264 file is formatted.

See here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...7#post12423227

Since the HD extender is hardware as well (as he states the obvious), could this be related?

Robert
__________________
Server: ASUS P7F-E, Intel Xeon x3440, 4GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 7TB disk,
2x Nvidia DualTV, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win7-32bit, Sage 7 latest
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 12-22-2007, 07:00 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,779
Is there any more information about the DivX/XviD issues? I also have a bunch of divx files that lock up the extender, and they are mostly kids shows so the WAF is dropping...
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 12-26-2007, 06:09 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,779
The bad news is that there has not been much news on this issue. The good news is that if you convert the divx files (via Sage) to "avi good quality" the new divx files work fine... It's a cludge, but it works.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 01-26-2008, 04:23 PM
metrodude metrodude is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Firmware update 20080125 2 fixed all my problems!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by metrodude View Post
OK.. I had been using FairUse Wizard 2 Pro to convert my DVD library to xvid setting desired output file to 2000MB and it looks like those are mainly the files I can't play with the new HD Extender. I found a few videos I had done earlier with another program and they seem to play fine on the HD Extender so I purchased DVDFab and I am able to play xvid and .mp4 files created from it. I guess I may just have to convert my DVD library again....uhhg. I still think there is some issue with the extender as I can play the videos I'm having trouble with in any other player including SageTV on the server and SageTV PC client and transcoded to several MVPs. At least I have a work around..even if it will be a lot of work...
Just wanted to update that ALL of my Divx and Xvid files are now playing fine on the STX-HD100 extender after applying the latest firmware update (20080125 2). Thank you SageTV for what is now a "perfect" setup for me.
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 01-26-2008, 05:10 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by metrodude View Post
Just wanted to update that ALL of my Divx and Xvid files are now playing fine on the STX-HD100 extender after applying the latest firmware update (20080125 2). Thank you SageTV for what is now a "perfect" setup for me.
I updated the firmware today and now I usually can't play *any* imported video files, whether they're divx, xvid or H.264. What version of Sage are you running? I haven't moved to the RC, so I'm still on 6.3.5.
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 01-27-2008, 02:14 PM
metrodude metrodude is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
I updated the firmware today and now I usually can't play *any* imported video files, whether they're divx, xvid or H.264. What version of Sage are you running? I haven't moved to the RC, so I'm still on 6.3.5.
Sorry to hear your having troubles. I'm running SageTV V6.3.5.159, Java version 1.6.0_03, SageMC STV 6.3.6b. All my Xvid\Divix are now working but I haven't tried any H.264 on Sage. I've had too many issues in the past getting a single .h264 format to work across all my devices so I stopped trying and went to Divx\Xvid or WMV9.
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 02-08-2008, 09:36 PM
Kirby's Avatar
Kirby Kirby is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,253
Just want to check, the extender can not current output AAC 5.1 correct? Only downmix to 2.0 PCM? And is this something that will change later on possibly, or not possible with the extender hardware? Just trying to figure out how I want to encode my 5.1 audio, as well as checking to see why my 5.1/H264 Apple trailers are in 2.0 stereo.
__________________
Sage Server: HP ProLiant N40L MicroServer, AMD Turion II Neo N40L 1.5GHz Dual Core, 8GB Ram, WHS2011 64bit, Sage 7.1.9 WHS, HDHR (1 QAM, 1 OTA), HDHR Prime 3CC, HD-PVR for copy-once movie channels
HTPC Client:Intel DH61AG, Intel G620 cpu, 8GB ram, Intel 80GB SSD, 4GB RamDisk holding Sage/Java/TMT5
Sage Client:Sage HD-200 Extender
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 02-09-2008, 10:01 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
What do you mean by "output", nothing can output AAC, S/PDIF only supports DD or DTS. But no, the extender doesn't transcode AAC to 5.1 DD.
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 02-09-2008, 10:20 AM
Kirby's Avatar
Kirby Kirby is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,253
I meant playback 5.1 channels if the source is AAC 5.1. So I guess for encoding of MPEG-2 files into another format, my best choice would be just to mux in the AC3 stream right?
__________________
Sage Server: HP ProLiant N40L MicroServer, AMD Turion II Neo N40L 1.5GHz Dual Core, 8GB Ram, WHS2011 64bit, Sage 7.1.9 WHS, HDHR (1 QAM, 1 OTA), HDHR Prime 3CC, HD-PVR for copy-once movie channels
HTPC Client:Intel DH61AG, Intel G620 cpu, 8GB ram, Intel 80GB SSD, 4GB RamDisk holding Sage/Java/TMT5
Sage Client:Sage HD-200 Extender
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 02-09-2008, 11:53 AM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,220
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirby View Post
I meant playback 5.1 channels if the source is AAC 5.1. So I guess for encoding of MPEG-2 files into another format, my best choice would be just to mux in the AC3 stream right?
Yes. I use H.264 (x264) with AC3 for my movies.

Robert
__________________
Server: ASUS P7F-E, Intel Xeon x3440, 4GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 7TB disk,
2x Nvidia DualTV, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win7-32bit, Sage 7 latest
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Storing movies on hard drive. Format? willgill General Discussion 7 05-11-2009 07:25 AM
Convert Feature and Format mike1961 SageTV Software 2 10-15-2007 04:39 AM
Error with vcd format gustav2000 SageTV Software 3 08-13-2007 12:40 PM
Imported video format for lowest cpu utilization wakebdr SageTV Software 2 02-17-2007 04:22 PM
Maybe add support for american 24h format? FidgetyRat SageTV Software 0 08-09-2006 02:52 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.