SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV HD Theater - Media Player

Notices

SageTV HD Theater - Media Player Discussion related to using the SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player, i.e.: in use while not connected to a SageTV server. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to using a SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player should be posted here. Use the SageTV Media Extender forum for issues related to using it while connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-25-2008, 05:01 PM
b-morgan b-morgan is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 34
STP-HD200 Firmware Releases

I'm currently running the 20081222 0 beta release, have found some bugs, and have reported them through the http://www.sagetv.com/bugs.html form.

While browsing the menus on the HD200, I've discovered that there is a 20081223 0 firmware release. I've found no mention of this version in these forums so I'm wondering how brave should I be...

Regards,

Brad

P.S. Feel free to delete this thread if I've stumbled on forbidden ground!

Regards,

Brad
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-26-2008, 01:58 AM
DrP DrP is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 26
in update menue press 2382 an you get what you want.
(you could have red this in your manual..)

Franz
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-26-2008, 05:08 AM
voidpt's Avatar
voidpt voidpt is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 296
@b-morgan

What you've found is that SageTV sometimes updates the beta firmware without saying something in the forum. Often this is followed by a note in this information thread by SageTV. As you've probably observed there is no note of 20081223 0 firmware yet. Only 20081222 0. One thing we do know is fixed is some (or all) of the problems with DTS audio track.

As to if you should update or not, well that is up to you One of the problems SageTV could get in the future is that their beta releases are usually pretty solid. So people are starting to look at them as 'regular' releases. They are beta, so you will sometimes get unintended bugs in them. On the other side, by updating and reporting possible problems. You will help SageTV to get even more solid 'real' releases. And as a bonus you get fixes and new features a little earlier
__________________
SageTV 7.1.9 (headless/service) JavaRE 1.6.0_37 2x FloppyDTV C/CI (DVB-C) (fw: 1.2.10 B43110) (CAM: Conax) Win7 x64 Intel E3-1245V2 3.4GHz 16GB PC3-10600 ECC ASUS P8C WS (Intel C216) APC Back-UPS RS 800 STP-HD300 Extender (fw: beta 20110506 0) - HDMI/SPDIF - Yamaha RX-V2700 - HDMI - Sony KDL-52X2000
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-26-2008, 09:14 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by voidpt View Post
@b-morgan

What you've found is that SageTV sometimes updates the beta firmware without saying something in the forum.
And for good reason, sometimes the beta updates aren't meant for the public at large.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-26-2008, 10:32 AM
voidpt's Avatar
voidpt voidpt is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
And for good reason, sometimes the beta updates aren't meant for the public at large.
That is a matter of opinion. If that is the case. SageTV should have another way to release those kind of firmwares (another xxxx code maybe). For now, the access to them, is public knowledge by numerous posts on the forum, also by SageTV. And the last notification tells that the beta is available for testing. And what they get with 2382 now is 20081223 0, even though 20081222 0 is the reference by the post. So I do not think SageTV is very professional if 20081223 0 is dangerous. And if it is, they need to rethink their release strategy.

The point I was trying to make is that, as a user, you go the beta route on your own. SageTV is not responsible for problems there. And you may need to reinstall your SageTV server installation or hard reset your HD200/HD100. If a user is not comfortable with that, stay away from them and keep to the offical releases.

Although if there suddenly had been a beta firmware release, without any notification on the forum. And this was at a time long after last beta or real release of a firmware. I would agree with you. Then even I would not try to upgrade
__________________
SageTV 7.1.9 (headless/service) JavaRE 1.6.0_37 2x FloppyDTV C/CI (DVB-C) (fw: 1.2.10 B43110) (CAM: Conax) Win7 x64 Intel E3-1245V2 3.4GHz 16GB PC3-10600 ECC ASUS P8C WS (Intel C216) APC Back-UPS RS 800 STP-HD300 Extender (fw: beta 20110506 0) - HDMI/SPDIF - Yamaha RX-V2700 - HDMI - Sony KDL-52X2000
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-26-2008, 10:48 AM
b-morgan b-morgan is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 34
I'm currently running the 20081222 0 firmware version so I've accepted all the "beta" caveats.

For the SageTV server and client software, I download the software before I install it so I have older versions if the latest introduces a bug I can't live with.

With the HD200, it appears that I have only two choices, latest release or latest beta. If the latest beta doesn't work, then (assuming the firmware download isn't broken) my only choice is to report the problem, download the latest release version, and wait. I can't backup to the previous beta version (or the previous release version). Hard reset doesn't revert the firmware.

Perhaps a backup / restore feature using a USB flash or HD drive would be a worthwhile option to add.

Regards,

Brad

Last edited by b-morgan; 12-26-2008 at 10:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-26-2008, 10:49 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,596
... maybe there is the possibility that these are the days around Christmas and no one is around to post update info or even be in contact to find out what the update info is...

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-26-2008, 10:56 AM
b-morgan b-morgan is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
... maybe there is the possibility that these are the days around Christmas and no one is around to post update info or even be in contact to find out what the update info is...
Andy,

I was just going to add a post that said this will probably all get straightened out next week!

Regards,

Brad
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-26-2008, 10:57 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
... maybe there is the possibility that these are the days around Christmas and no one is around to post update info or even be in contact to find out what the update info is...

- Andy
Impossible. That guy Andy is always around come rain, shine or even Christmas. He and the other SageTV guys are better then Santa's elves - very reliable and friendly

I guess I should take a moment to say - thanks to Andy and all the SageTV staff now that I've had my silly moment. Thanks we appreciate your hard work!

Last edited by Brent; 12-26-2008 at 11:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-26-2008, 11:10 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by b-morgan View Post
Perhaps a backup / restore feature using a USB flash or HD drive would be a worthwhile option to add.
Done for firmware updates, but not yet noted.

Quote:
Originally Posted by b-morgan View Post
I was just going to add a post that said this will probably all get straightened out next week!
Uh... maybe.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
Impossible. That guy Andy is always around come rain, shine or even Christmas. He's better then Santa's elves - very reliable and friendly
I happen to know him -- he's actually out for a while and managed to stay off the computer almost all day yesterday and did nothing on Christmas day but enjoy visiting with family and playing games with his kids.

( Oh, and successfully tried not to get hit by several people who didn't pay any attention to anyone else on the highway while they changed lanes. )

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-26-2008, 11:13 AM
voidpt's Avatar
voidpt voidpt is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
... maybe there is the possibility that these are the days around Christmas and no one is around to post update info or even be in contact to find out what the update info is...
Nah. Couldn't be. You sort of proved it by the act of posting Go back to good food and dinner and let us children play a while, we won't break too much. Promise
__________________
SageTV 7.1.9 (headless/service) JavaRE 1.6.0_37 2x FloppyDTV C/CI (DVB-C) (fw: 1.2.10 B43110) (CAM: Conax) Win7 x64 Intel E3-1245V2 3.4GHz 16GB PC3-10600 ECC ASUS P8C WS (Intel C216) APC Back-UPS RS 800 STP-HD300 Extender (fw: beta 20110506 0) - HDMI/SPDIF - Yamaha RX-V2700 - HDMI - Sony KDL-52X2000
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-26-2008, 02:34 PM
b-morgan b-morgan is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 34
Murphy apparently is back from the holidays!

I upgraded to the beta firmware 20081223 0 and it doesn't work as well (for me) as 20081222 0. With 1222, I could browse all the shares on my network. With 1223, all I get is Invalid Directories.

Connecting to my SageTV server still works as well as it did before so I'm going to wait until next week to see how things sort themselves out.

I've seen a couple of posts on an alternate upgrade method that involves downloading the firmware to my server. If someone would like to PM me with the details, I'd be grateful.

Regards,

Brad
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV HD200 Standalone-Mode STVs/Themes Brent SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 21 02-12-2009 01:09 PM
Problem getting 2nd HD200 to connect to the network/server crarbo1 SageTV Media Extender 3 12-13-2008 05:50 PM
Sigma SMP8635LF (HD200) vs EM8620L (HD100) & Capability Video/Audio voidpt SageTV Media Extender 4 12-10-2008 04:56 PM
HD200 initial impressions jmv SageTV Media Extender 12 12-10-2008 11:56 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.