SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-11-2009, 01:55 PM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,177
Volume Increments



Why is it with a lot of softwares, that the volume increments are more like figure B (slightly exaggerated) while it should be more gradual like figure A? For example, with the HD100, from mute volume to the lowest audible increment is a huge difference. It's like jumping from a value of zero to 5 in a 0-10 volume range, at least that's what it sounds like to my ears. And it's just not with SageTV, but many softwares and devices seem to have this problem.

Is there a reason for this or maybe my hearing is weird?
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server. Win7 32bit in VMWare Fusion. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Samsung 75" LED.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2009, 02:07 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,759
I've wondered the same thing. And, as you said, I don't have this problem in just Sage.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-11-2009, 08:08 PM
bsung bsung is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 167
I agree! Especially since the HD200 remote can't control my TV, I wish I could leave the TV volume high and be able to reach low volume with just the HD200 remote but it's impossible right now.

Is it possible that it currently moves in fixed increments of say 5% each time which just sounds like it jumps?

Would something like 1%, 2%, 4%, 7%, 10%, 15%, 20%, 30%, 40%, etc fix the problem? I've been meaning to formally send this same suggestion to the guys at Sage.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-12-2009, 06:30 AM
teststrips teststrips is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 43
this won't help you on the extender devices, but I found a solution that worked for me on my XP computer. In XP the master and wave volumes are seperate + I could only control one with Sage. I found a program called VolumeTracker that basically links the master and wave volumes - it turns both of them up/down at the same time. The result of both sliders moving at the same time comes out somethign close to the previous post, with low levels moving up slowly.

Also - if you want facts on WHY moving up volume increments of a fixed percentage doesn't work well, remember that percieved volume is not on-track with actual volume. Check out this graph http://cnx.org/content/m13085/latest/#loudness and the paragraph before it for more detail.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-12-2009, 07:19 AM
vikingisson vikingisson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 212
"But does it go to 11?"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-19-2009, 04:45 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,759
Do you guys think it's possible that this could be user-configurable? I'm getting pretty annoyed by this. There's a big difference in volume between my digital channels and my analog channels, and because of this issue I can't get away with setting the TV volume so that I can get to reasonable sound levels on both digital and analog TV using only the extender remote.

If you guys think this should be possible to change in software, we should all request this feature to Sage.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-19-2009, 06:11 PM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,177
I doubt it is impossible to change in the software.

If technically the increments in the software are actually:

[0%] - [10%] - [20%] - [30%] - [40%] - [50%] - [60%] - [70%] - [80%] - [90%] - [100%]

Yet our ears perceive those increments as Figure B:


Then the software increments should change to something like this:

[0%] - [1%] - [2%] - [4%] - [8%] - [16%] - [32%] - [64%] - [100%]

Then our ears should perceive them as Figure A.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server. Win7 32bit in VMWare Fusion. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Samsung 75" LED.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-27-2009, 01:19 AM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,177
3. Modify range of volume control

Just would like to thank the SageTV developers for listening to the users. With the new beta for the HD-200, the volume increments work exactly like they should now.

Thank you.

I haven't tested the volume on the HD-100 yet as it died, but I'll test once I solder on the new capacitors. I assume it works the same as the HD-200.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server. Win7 32bit in VMWare Fusion. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Samsung 75" LED.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-27-2009, 07:12 AM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,759
Wow. I haven't tried the new firmware yet either, but I'm surprised to see we already got a fix for this issue. That was really quick!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Master Volume Control and SageTV Volume jdamore SageTV Software 0 03-21-2009 10:31 AM
How to make SageTV volume control reflect system volume controls? kevinmd88 SageTV Software 0 02-27-2009 03:09 PM
Vista volume control, how do I like sage to the hardware volume? AJ Bertelson SageTV Software 1 11-23-2008 08:46 PM
Can you jump forward and backward by increments ? squeed SageTV Software 1 09-06-2008 05:28 PM
Video OSD mouse control increments mickp SageMC Custom Interface 4 08-22-2008 06:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.