SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2010, 05:04 PM
Striker77s Striker77s is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Hauppauge cards and Windows 7 x64

I recently upgraded to from Vista 32bit to Win7 x64. I have two tuner cards MSI THEATER 650PRO and the Hauppauge HVR-1800 for digital over the air. I have been running SageTV for several years with no issues. When I upgrade to Windows 7 the HVR-1800 card stopped working but the MSI card continued to work fine. SageTV recognized the HVR-1800 but the tuner could never get a signal. I wanted to upgrade to a Hauppauge HVR-2250 to free up a PCI-E slot so I went ahead and purchased it. Now the HVR-2250 card won't work with SageTV either. It recognizes the card and I can select the tuner but when I go to the channel setup I either get a playback error or no signal. I decided to setup my Media Center to the HVR-2250 to see if another software package would be able to get the tuner to work. Media Center was able to use the card without any hiccups. So I assume SageTV is having an issue with any Hauppauge cards. I'm running SageTV version 6.6.2.218. I've read of others having issues with Hauppauge cards with the analog tuners but not the digital tuner. Any ideas?

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2010, 05:48 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
I can't run SageTV under Win 7 with either the Hauppauge 2250s or the AverTV HD Duets without the no signal issue on most channels, and I'm only useing the Digital ATSC OTA tuners.

I ended up going back to my Vista install and will wait for SageTV to support Windows 7.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2010, 08:28 PM
Oats Oats is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 213
Sage has worked great for me on Win7 X64 with my Hauppauge 2250. I remember reading about some problems with older Hauppauge drivers so make sure you get the latest from the Hauppauge site.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2010, 10:32 PM
Striker77s Striker77s is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Drivers

I went straight to the site and downloaded the latest drivers. I never even used the CD that came with the card. I also looked for beta drivers but Hauppauge didn't have any listed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-27-2010, 11:27 AM
larryf larryf is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 128
Hauppauge 1600 is OK

Running Win7 X64 and a Hauppauge HVR-1600, no issues here. Driver is dated 5/28/2009.

I'm surprised the 1800 (PCIe) is not working, the 1600 is PCI.

Larry
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-27-2010, 02:02 PM
jerryt jerryt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 832
Today I installed a HVR-2250 in Win7 32 bit with UAC off, Sage found and scanned both Digital tuners just fine. Using drivers 22xxdrv_27323 from Hauppauge site.

Maybe it is a x64 issue.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-28-2010, 12:09 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
An update to my Windows 7 adventure IS in order. This is just FYI and applies to the Aver HD tuners I am now useing (mentioned in my post above).

My Windows 7 32bit server installation is now recording on all 4 OTA ATSC tuners under SageTV without any problems.

When I first installed Win7 it recognized my AverTV HD Duet tuners and installed MS drivers for both pairs. The drivers were newer than the ones on the AverMedia web site so I didn't think much about it.

Many have mentioned drivers in this post, and it got me thinking, so I went to the AverMedia support page and downloaded/installed their latest drivers even though they were older than the Microsoft drivers.

I did a channel rescan on all 4 tuners and they all reported finding 41 OTA ATSC channels. (With the Microsoft drivers I was getting 41 channels on only the first tuner, 4 channels each on the other three tuners).

The Aver drivers are ver 1.3.0.74. The Microsoft drivers are ver 1.3.0.76. The MS drivers worked for all 4 tuners with Win Media Center but not with SageTV.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2010, 07:17 PM
jerryt jerryt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 832
Installed another HVR-2250 in a SageTV server today. Same operating system as the last HVR-2250 install, Windows 7 32 bit.

But this time the second tuner fails everytime it attempts to tune. Only difference I can see between the two setups in the non working tuner's computer has two HD-PVR's attached. I try switching them off but it did not help the second tuner in the HVR-2250.

So I guess I just joined the club.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-02-2010, 11:59 AM
jerryt jerryt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 832
FIXED, For whatever reason on the second HVR-2250 install SageTV did not make or save the .frq file for the second tuner. It was an easy fix.
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...&postcount=147
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-06-2010, 12:22 PM
Striker77s Striker77s is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Fixed but confused

So I sat down today expecting to put in several hours trying different fixes and my HVR-2250 tuners began to work. They started to tune but even when I changed the channel they wound tune to the same channel (NBC). So I did a re-scan and suddenly everything worked. I spent hours and hours troubleshooting those tuners and nothing would work. I have no idea what changed, but everything is working now. I still think it was a SageTV issue and not a driver or hardware issue.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1850, 2250, hauppauge, windows 7, x64


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Setup for Perfect Playback in Windows 7 x64 superdodge SageTV Software 21 04-12-2010 10:01 AM
Windows 7 x64 Install Directory mdnttoker SageTV Software 15 10-29-2009 03:54 PM
Windows 7 x64 with SageTV / HD-PVR / DirecTV heathb Hardware Support 1 10-05-2009 09:30 AM
Best Capture Cards for Vista X64 based system Stuntman Hardware Support 0 11-19-2008 10:19 AM
x64 flavors of Windows and Sage? silkshadow SageTV Software 25 07-26-2005 02:03 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.