SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:30 AM
Box8489 Box8489 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denmark, Europe
Posts: 33
Send a message via MSN to Box8489
How to create a UNC path ?

My god - I thought I was good but now I have troubles with creating a UNC path instead of a browsed drive.
Untill now I have been recording into a disk in my Sagetv server with the drive name I:\video.

Shouldn't I just go into: "Add new directory - Change directory path - specify"
and enter \\mmk-2\i\video ??
mmk-2 is my computer name and the Sagetv is installed here on drive C.
Is it OK to change mmk-2 into the IP adresse instead ?
I am not running in service mode. My mission is just to use Comskip from my client. (which should require UNC path, right?)

Oh dear, I have been reading threads for hours now - please help.

/Michael
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:46 AM
Boolah's Avatar
Boolah Boolah is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Box8489
Shouldn't I just go into: "Add new directory - Change directory path - specify" and enter \\mmk-2\i\video ??
If you're trying to get to the administrative share, you forgot the "$" sign after the drive letter. It should be like this: \\mmk-2\i$\video
Quote:
Originally Posted by Box8489
Is it OK to change mmk-2 into the IP adresse instead ?
Yes, but you should only consider this if your machine is configured to use a static IP. If you use an IP address and your IP address changes, SageTV won't be able to find any or your recordings.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Box8489
I am not running in service mode. My mission is just to use Comskip from my client. (which should require UNC path, right?)
I don't use Comskip, so can't speak to that specifically, but in general, you should use UNC paths when using SageTVClient from a machine other than the SageTV server.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:46 AM
Gog Gog is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 97
it should be \\mmk-2\sharename or \\ip\sharename

I think the problem is the "i" in your path

Mathieu
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:13 AM
Box8489 Box8489 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denmark, Europe
Posts: 33
Send a message via MSN to Box8489
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boolah
If you're trying to get to the administrative share, you forgot the "$" sign after the drive letter. It should be like this: \\mmk-2\i$\video .
Thanx Boolah,
The missing $ was the bugger, at least for successful specifying the UNC.
(cannot recall I have seen that mentioned in previous postings...common knowledge ??)
Now I will move on to the next (tough) part with getting the Comskip to function from the Client.
Here I have some more reading to do But of course, any suggestions are welcome.

/Michael
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.