SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2003, 06:01 PM
Grasshopper Grasshopper is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 314
Do I need a tuner card?

Hi, newbie here. I've been browsing and researching exhaustively, and I think I'm starting to get a handle on some of this. I have tons of questions, but here's the first one:

Suppose I want to record and playback digital cable signal using Sage. My understanding is that I must hook the PC to the digital cable box using an IR Blaster or some such. In that case, I would be tuning stations using the box, and not my tuner card. Which means, I think, that I don't need a tuner card, yes?

I think what I need is a video card with video in/out capability and a hardware MPEG decoder. Is this correct -- can I do this without a 250 card or something like it? Does such an animal exist at a price point that makes it sensible to try and pull this off?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2003, 11:24 AM
dkardatzke's Avatar
dkardatzke dkardatzke is offline
SageTV Co-Founder
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,220
You need a MPEG-2 encoder to get the signal in, compressed and the written to disk. You won't actually be using the tuner of the card because the card does the necessary MPEG-2 compression to write the video file to the hard disk. Then you use SageTV to interface for the recordings, playback, etc.

The IR blaster is then controlled by SageTV to change the channels for your specific recordings.
__________________
Dan Kardatzke, Co-Founder
SageTV, LLC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2003, 04:16 PM
Grasshopper Grasshopper is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 314
Right, that was my understanding. Is there a card that offers encoding comparable to the Hauppage 250 but saves the expense of an onboard tuner, or is there a video card with hardware MPEG encoding usable with Sage?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2003, 02:58 AM
frank2056 frank2056 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 11
I'm using an external Adaptec VideoOh! DVD USB 2.0 device, connected to the video and audio outputs of my cable box.

It works great with Sage TV . You'll need some sort of mpeg decoder for it to work, though. If you have a DVD drive and DVD player software, its codec should be enough.

The video and audio qualities of the VideoOh are outstanding, and since its converting the video in hardware, the CPU load is minimal.

Frank
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2003, 09:29 AM
malore's Avatar
malore malore is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 877
Since tuners are included in the cheapest TVs and VCRs, I wouldn't expect it to add much cost to the encoder card. The majority of the cost is for the hardware MPEG-2 encoder, which you can see when you compare the price of a software WinTV card the cost of the PVR card.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.