SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 09-26-2007, 08:33 AM
brianblank's Avatar
brianblank brianblank is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 66
This is GREAT news! I have been waiting for this, and recently gave up and started down the mini PC (actually Mac Mini running XP) route, but I think I will sell my Mini on eBay and wait for the HD extender.

One more question...Will it need a client license? and extender license? or a new HD extender license?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-26-2007, 09:23 AM
jdamore jdamore is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hillsborough, NJ
Posts: 292
Thanks for the update!!



When can we preorder?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-26-2007, 09:35 AM
BBCritical BBCritical is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 308
I would also like to thank Jeff for the update. I was ready to go the client route again myself but I can wait
__________________
Server: Asus M3A; AMD Phenom quad core CPU; 3Gb RAM ; ATi x1600 PCIe Video Card
Tuners: 1 Adaptec PVR 3610, 2 PVR 500s; 1 HDHomerun; 2 HD PVR
Storage: 1.2 Tb

Clients: 2 HD Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-26-2007, 09:50 AM
mikesm mikesm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,293
I'll also thank Jeff for the update. It very much helps me plan the next set of Sage deployment in the house, even to what kind of flat panel to buy for the kitchen, as now I know there will be an HD extender, I can buy an HD panel for it...

Of course we'd like more details, like what resolutions it will support (CE devices tend to be less tweakable on video timings than PC's), but just this news helps a lot of us make decisions that will result in buying more Sage products.

Thanks,
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-26-2007, 09:54 AM
geogecko geogecko is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Oklahoma
Posts: 2,273
Thanks for the update, Jeff. Good news.

I am also wondering about PC resolutions. I have a monitor in our bedroom, that I bought specifically thinking that an HD extender would be headed our way, but it's not quite 1080. It's like 1680 x 1050, which should make a really nice display...

Right now, it's hooked up to an MVP...
__________________
-Jason
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-26-2007, 10:46 AM
lobosrul's Avatar
lobosrul lobosrul is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 573
Must support for me to buy:

1) AAC(5.1) proper decoding in MP4 containers (mencoder, nero command line encoder and mp4box), thats my main method of encoding HDTV streams.

2) Raw AC3 and DTS decoding.

3) Capable of outputting full 1080p. I don't currently have a 1080p TV but I'm sure I will someday.

4) Price, as of right now I have a working client in my living room. So this isnt really a need. I would definantly not pay over $300.

I would also like mkv support, but not absolutely necessary.

Oh I'd also like it, if it will output at 50Hz (in addition to 60Hz) I have some rips from PAL DVD's.

Last edited by lobosrul; 09-26-2007 at 10:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-26-2007, 10:50 AM
lobosrul's Avatar
lobosrul lobosrul is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by geogecko View Post
Thanks for the update, Jeff. Good news.

I am also wondering about PC resolutions. I have a monitor in our bedroom, that I bought specifically thinking that an HD extender would be headed our way, but it's not quite 1080. It's like 1680 x 1050, which should make a really nice display...

Right now, it's hooked up to an MVP...
Assuming the HD Media Extender can output at 1080p, then the monitor should be able to downscale it properly. Just like with a cable or sat box. The only issue is that its a 16x10 resolution. I have a 24" 1920x1200 monitor on my sage server box that I occasionally use to watch TV. Usually I just zoom in by 114% and lose a bit of the video on either side.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-26-2007, 10:50 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
Here's a few more answers for you:

Q: Can it be used for SD content?

Yes. It has S-Video, Composite and Component outputs

Q: Does it have Component outputs?

Yes

Q: Does HDMI also transmit audio?

Yes it does. We'll post more information on HDMI audio formats later; but there will be compressed and uncompressed audio support over HDMI.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-26-2007, 11:07 AM
autoboy autoboy is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 477
I am so excited. November? That is a whole month and a half!

I'm gonna guess that this thing will not offer native source output. I would love to have it though. However, as long as it can do good deinterlacing and can pick up the 3:2 pulldown in 480i and 1080i I will be a happy man.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-26-2007, 11:14 AM
Motofreak75 Motofreak75 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 578
Send a message via ICQ to Motofreak75
Sweet...


I'm sorry if you feel I'm baiting you Narflex but is it possible give us a ball park on price >

Lets say A: under $500
B: over $500


Cheers and I look forward picking up a few HD extenders, I just hope you have enough of them to supply the masses so close to Christmas.
__________________
12.04 server Sagetv7
HD-pvr / 2250 /PVR 500 / DVBS w/rotor & 36 inch dish

Last edited by Motofreak75; 09-26-2007 at 11:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 09-26-2007, 11:16 AM
CarlR's Avatar
CarlR CarlR is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 60
This is excellent news - the HD extender has been the last thing holding me back from replacing my ReplayTVs with a Sage server. Perfect timing as the Replay's WAF is beginning to drop off.

Plus, now I get to justify a new TV for the Family Room - we almost never watch live TV so why buy a HD display if you're only going to watch SD recordings?

Thanks for the update!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-26-2007, 11:17 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
Here's a few more answers for you:


Q: Does it have Component outputs?

Yes
Mucho gusto
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 09-26-2007, 11:34 AM
flavius flavius is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motofreak75 View Post
Sweet...


I'm sorry if you feel I'm baiting you Narflex but is it possible give us a ball park on price >

Lets say A: under $500
B: over $500


Cheers and I look forward picking up a few HD extenders, I just hope you have enough of them to supply the masses so close to Christmas.
The original ballpark that was given a while ago was <$200.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 09-26-2007, 11:41 AM
95TBird's Avatar
95TBird 95TBird is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Berthoud, CO
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
Here's a few more answers for you:

Q: Can it be used for SD content?

Yes. It has S-Video, Composite and Component outputs

Q: Does it have Component outputs?

Yes

Q: Does HDMI also transmit audio?

Yes it does. We'll post more information on HDMI audio formats later; but there will be compressed and uncompressed audio support over HDMI.
Hmmm.... I wonder....

Could it be this ??

http://www.syabas.com/solution_dmp.html

& their office is in Fremont, California
__________________
Server: Intel DH55HC MB, Intel Core i5-661 CPU, 4 GB Corsair PC3 10666 RAM, 2 Ceton InfiniTV 4s (Comcast), RocketRAID 2740 16PORT SAS 6.0Gb Controller, 2.56TB TV Storage (4 WD Caviar Black 640GB SATA 6.0Gb Drives), 8.5TB Movie Storage, Norco 4220 Case, Corsair HX750 PS, W7 Professional (Windows Media Center), TunerSalad Foot Long, My Channel Logos, & MYMovies.

Last edited by 95TBird; 09-26-2007 at 11:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 09-26-2007, 11:44 AM
brianblank's Avatar
brianblank brianblank is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
Q: Can it be used for SD content?

Yes. It has S-Video, Composite and Component outputs

Q: Does it have Component outputs?

Yes
HD (720p, 1080i/p) over component?
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 09-26-2007, 11:52 AM
HawgGuy's Avatar
HawgGuy HawgGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: west texas
Posts: 513
Here's to hoping it'll support the r5000-hd h.264 PAFF interlaced streams!
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 09-26-2007, 11:56 AM
mikesm mikesm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by 95TBird View Post
Hmmm.... I wonder....

Could it be this ??

http://www.syabas.com/solution_dmp.html

& their office is in Fremont, California
There are squillions of these types of devices out there. Why do think this particular one is being sourced to Sage?

BTW, it REALLY would be silly for the HD extender to not be able to play HD-DVD and BR content (forget about the encryption issue for now). Since the product has been delayed to this point, and most of the newer hardware has that capability, the HD extender really should have the decoder support etc... to be able to play those formats, even if Sage today can't.

I've always argued that Sage should support unencrypted BR and HD-DVD playback, just as they support unencrypted DVD playback today. They depend on users to deal with any encryption if that is an issue for the media being played back. Most of the new versions of authoring packages have HD video support now anyway, and the number of HD camcorders is dramatically increasing, so that will provide media that needs playback support even if you ignore the HD titles being produced today.

Since the time the HD extender was demoed at CES, a lot of new development has happened in the device space, and since there really are no new formats in the offing, either for OTA video or published media, it's a relative unusual period in time where Sage could ship a cheap HD extender that is capable of natively playing all media formats, and that it will not be obsoleted for at least 5 years or so. What I am saying is their timing is great to do something and not have to do something else in the extender dept for a long long time.

Thanks,
mike
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 09-26-2007, 11:58 AM
Mark57's Avatar
Mark57 Mark57 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: OKC
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
Since there's been quite a few posts speculating we're not actually working on this anymore, I wanted to set things straight.

Q: Is SageTV still doing an HD Media Extender?

Yes!!! Yes!!! Yes!!!
This is worth coming out of 'lurk mode" for a first post. Excellent news. Just what I've been waiting for.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 09-26-2007, 11:58 AM
Sparhawk6 Sparhawk6 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 323
This is great news. I pray it won't cost more than $200.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 09-26-2007, 12:17 PM
mdnttoker mdnttoker is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 441
woot! Got my money on $249.99. I'll start off with just one...then we'll see how that progresses.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
unable to connect with wireless media extender junkleeeenmi SageTV Media Extender 23 02-19-2008 10:07 PM
Sony PS3 Ver 1.80 as HD media extender petertgreen SageTV Media Extender 18 09-26-2007 06:12 AM
HD Media Extender - Exactly When ? daz19 SageTV Media Extender 46 05-23-2007 01:51 AM
Multiple HD recording issue ptaylor Hardware Support 0 02-23-2007 11:10 PM
SageTV Wireless Media Extender Now Available! Narflex Announcements 0 05-31-2006 06:00 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.