SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux

Notices

SageTV Linux Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Linux. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Linux should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2008, 09:28 PM
svemuri svemuri is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 77
How do you specify UNC path for video storage?

How can a UNC path be specified for video recording directories? I currently have /mnt/disk1 as the recording directory. However, I have samba sharing this as storage1.
What is the trick to specify something like \\SAGE\storage1?

I've tried typing the above and it did not like it. I browsed "up directory" until it got to Network, found the server and add the directory. However, it entered /opt/sage/server/smb://SAGE/storage1. I thought that was the end of it. However, it turns out that Sage actually created this directory on the root file system instead of connecting via SMB and of course that drive filled up quickly. (Bad things happen when / is filled).

Any ideas on how to specify SMB share as the video directory?

Thanks
Sarat.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2008, 08:30 AM
harrijay harrijay is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 152
from what I understand you cannot specify a UNC path for a share. I tried this a while ago to get ripped DVD's working on a client from a linux server but I gave up and recoded the videos into a single MPG. You might be able to use the SMB share if you mount it to a share point like /media/smbsharename. best of luck
__________________
ESXi Host Intel Xeon x3440 on Intel S3420PLX, 4GB RAM, 80GB Primary
Server:2 CPU's and 2GB memory Allocated, 15GB Virtual Primary, 1.5 TB RDM Physical Disk,
A180 using VMDirectPath, 1 xHDHR
Headless ArchLinux 2.6.34 64-bit, SageTV 7.0.15
Sun JRE 1.6.0_20
Comskip&PlayonWindows XP 2CPU and 1GB Ram Allocated
Clients: 1 Media MVP and 2 STX-HD100
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2008, 04:01 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,760
I use Linux server and a Vista client. (Plus 4 MVPs and a STX-HD100) Vista supports symlinks. http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...78&postcount=5
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using MS Loopback Driver for UNC path with a HD Homerun (HDHR) jprine01 Hardware Support 2 05-30-2007 12:36 PM
UNC path shows wrong size kricker SageTV Software 2 01-28-2007 02:53 AM
Time Bar Off When Playing Video Using UNC Path rsagetv99 SageTV Beta Test Software 0 10-09-2006 08:02 PM
UNC Paths giving me grief ben_95sl1 SageTV Software 2 01-08-2006 08:23 PM
UNC Path issue Wrx4me SageTV Software 5 11-28-2005 05:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.