SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV HD Theater - Media Player

Notices

SageTV HD Theater - Media Player Discussion related to using the SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player, i.e.: in use while not connected to a SageTV server. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to using a SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player should be posted here. Use the SageTV Media Extender forum for issues related to using it while connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2009, 04:36 AM
1oser 1oser is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Subtitle (srt) support?

Hi,

I just recently purchased the HD200 (running the latest beta firmware), and it seems that the HD200 in standalone mode does not support divx files with subtitles (srt, sub, smi, etc). I also tried embedding subtitles into the divx file (XSUB), but there doesn't seem to be a way to "enable" the subtitles on the HD200.

The files are in XivD format and play fine on the HD200, just without the subtitles.

I was wondering if (when?) the HD200 will support divx files with subtitles. As I have family members that are hard of hearing, this is very close to being a deal-breaker for me. (No offense, but I notice that the Popcorn A110 supports subtitles).

Thanks!
1oser
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2009, 05:58 AM
~flatlined~ ~flatlined~ is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
+1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2009, 02:46 PM
QueOnda's Avatar
QueOnda QueOnda is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,093
.SRT support is needed!!! Does subtitles not work in stand-alone mode? If so, how?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-18-2009, 08:28 PM
FreshOne FreshOne is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 78
+1 on supporting SRT sub-titles.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2009, 12:38 AM
scanner95 scanner95 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 129
Pre-purchase question: Subtitle support

Question to Sage developers/product management: are .srt (.sub, ...and other subtitle formats) going to be supported on the extender (extender mode, but also standalone)?
I'm planning transition from standalone media player (DVICO 4000) to the Sage solution. The subtitle support is so basic that in the beginning I even did not realize I should check for that. It was big surprise when I found they are not supported (yet, I hope).
Is the subtitle support planned? If yes, what is the time frame for it? And which languages are going to be supported (I'm specifically interested in Russian and Hebrew besides English).
Thank you!

* merged *
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2009, 03:01 AM
scanner95 scanner95 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 129
I've just opened a support request for this feature. Lets see what reaction (if any) I get for it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2009, 04:34 PM
QueOnda's Avatar
QueOnda QueOnda is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,093
1st I gotten a reply not supported, then I asked for the feature.

In Sagetv, I thought subtitles is not supported but someone made a STV addon. Could we do the same in standalone mode?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-25-2009, 03:35 PM
toony toony is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 339
Ok, I think I am seeing red here.

I have just backed up a bluray with subtitles.... I've been banging my head as to why I can't see them, I made .ts, .m2ts, .mkv formats..... Is the only reason I can't se them due to something in sage not showing them?

Also someone mentioned a 3rd party addon that turns this on?

If I am correct please let me know cause this is about to make me start drinking.

Cheers
Toony
__________________


2xhd300
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-26-2009, 12:59 AM
Lucas Lucas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,156
This plug-in

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...=23752&page=11

allows you to view subtitles if you are running the HD200 in extender mode connected to a SageTV server.

You just need to convert the .srt files to .smi format.
__________________
Windows 10 64bit - Server: C2D, 6Gb RAM, 1xSamsung 840 Pro 128Gb, Seagate Archive HD 8TB - 2 x WD Green 1TB HDs for Recordings, PVR-USB2,Cinergy 2400i DVB-T, 2xTT DVB-S2 tuners, FireDTV S2
3 x HD300s
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-26-2009, 05:50 AM
toony toony is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 339
Cheers, I'll look into it, much reading there I see.
__________________


2xhd300
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-18-2009, 01:18 PM
1oser 1oser is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Any news?

Hi,

Is there any update to this?

I was wondering if someone could comment on if this is even going to be implemented in the future.

I would rather not have to run a SageTV server (with or without a plugin to get subtitles to work.)

Thanks!
1oser
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-18-2009, 01:43 PM
QueOnda's Avatar
QueOnda QueOnda is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucas View Post
This plug-in

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...=23752&page=11

allows you to view subtitles if you are running the HD200 in extender mode connected to a SageTV server.

You just need to convert the .srt files to .smi format.
Question is would this be able to be ported to stand-alone mode.
__________________
Server: HP AMD64 dual core running Win7 64bit (MCE disabled) with 4G memory Tuners: 2 PVR-500(disabled), 3 HDHR and 1 HDPVR Clients: 2 HD200 and 1 HD100 TV: 70" and 52" and 42" Media Storage: ReadyNas 8TB Recording media: 300GB + 200GB+ 250 GB Network: Gigabit backbone'

Thanks to all the developers who work on SageMC, code, utilities and plug-ins to make SageTV better!!!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-02-2009, 07:07 AM
DarkKlown DarkKlown is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
bump.. srt support in standalone is really required, too many excellent movies are made in non-english speaking countries.

*cough* oldboy *cough*
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-14-2009, 03:30 AM
inlvnv inlvnv is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 95
Nice... srt finally supported in the latest beta release. Now I can use client/placeshifter fulltime.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkKlown View Post
*cough* oldboy *cough*
Very interesting movie...
__________________
Server: Norco 450B server case w/ 1kw PS. Intel i3-530, 3GB RAM and HVR-1800.
Drives: 500GB sys, 2x 2TB, 9x1.5TB, 2x1TB and 1x750GB pooled. 750GB non-pooled for SageTV

Routers: DIR-655 and DIR-825 Bridges: 2xDAP-1522.
Installed: WHS OS, SageTV for WHS, PlayOn and Orb.
SageTV Plugins: PlayOn in OnLine Services.
SageTV clients: HD-200->Samsung LN52A750 and HD-100->Samsung LN40A650
Clients: 5 HP laptops, home built PC, iMac, PS3, PSP, XBox360, 3 iPhones 3gs (through OrbLive).
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-20-2009, 04:40 AM
DarkKlown DarkKlown is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Not working here
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-20-2009, 10:48 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
Please submit a bug report if you're having problems with .srt playback; it should definitely work if you're using the latest beta firmware (20080316). It even supports multi-language srt files (i.e. movie.en.srt, movie.fr.srt, etc.)

Send bugs reports here:
http://sagetv.com/bugs.html
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-21-2009, 02:46 PM
QueOnda's Avatar
QueOnda QueOnda is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
Please submit a bug report if you're having problems with .srt playback; it should definitely work if you're using the latest beta firmware (20080316). It even supports multi-language srt files (i.e. movie.en.srt, movie.fr.srt, etc.)

Send bugs reports here:
http://sagetv.com/bugs.html
You mean 200903160?? How do you turn subtitles on? Is it automatic? How do you change language srt files (if you have more than one)?
__________________
Server: HP AMD64 dual core running Win7 64bit (MCE disabled) with 4G memory Tuners: 2 PVR-500(disabled), 3 HDHR and 1 HDPVR Clients: 2 HD200 and 1 HD100 TV: 70" and 52" and 42" Media Storage: ReadyNas 8TB Recording media: 300GB + 200GB+ 250 GB Network: Gigabit backbone'

Thanks to all the developers who work on SageMC, code, utilities and plug-ins to make SageTV better!!!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-21-2009, 02:55 PM
JREkiwi's Avatar
JREkiwi JREkiwi is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 2,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by QueOnda View Post
How do you change language srt files (if you have more than one)?
Subtitle Language on the options panel while your playing a video.

John
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-24-2010, 05:08 AM
joh3004 joh3004 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 99
I updated to the latest beta firmware (20100118) and I can't get my .srt subtitles to work on my HD200. On the "Options" menu "Captions" reads "Off." But when I click on it nothing happens.

When I watch the same video on my PC with VLC the captions work.

I submitted a bug request, but in the meantime, any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-24-2010, 08:59 PM
1oser 1oser is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by joh3004 View Post
I updated to the latest beta firmware (20100118) and I can't get my .srt subtitles to work on my HD200. On the "Options" menu "Captions" reads "Off." But when I click on it nothing happens.

When I watch the same video on my PC with VLC the captions work.

I submitted a bug request, but in the meantime, any ideas?
joh3004, what type of file are you trying to play? Did it work before you updated to the latest beta firmware?

I just tested playing a divx file with an srt on my HD200 with the latest beta firmware and it works fine.

From my observation, if you're using an SRT file, it doesn't matter what the Captions is set to. The "Subtitles" should be checked and in "Subtitle Language", there should be a bullet point to the left of the subtitle (for SRT files, it usually just has "#1").

Just making sure... the srt file matches the exact name of the divx/avi file, except ending in ".srt", right?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commercial skip support in portable devices (IPhone/IPod, PPC, and VLC confirmed) jelwood SageTV Customizations 17 02-20-2009 12:47 AM
SageTV V6.5.7 Release Candidate Is Here! Narflex SageTV Beta Test Software 0 01-16-2009 09:01 PM
SageTV V6.3.2 Beta is Available! Narflex SageTV Beta Test Software 0 11-21-2007 07:08 PM
SageTV V6.3.1 Beta is Available Narflex SageTV Beta Test Software 1 11-09-2007 05:17 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.