SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2009, 06:02 AM
drewg drewg is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,038
HD100 power supply repair

Since the "HD100 Just Died" thread is locked, I'm posting this here so that the users who are keeping track of the hd100 fatality rate can see it.

My HD100, purchased 2/29/2008, died last night. It was the classic death reported by others. The IR sensor seemed "weak" for about 48 hours prior to it dying. Last night, when I sat down to watch the Silverstone GP, the red light was blinking, and the blinking was accompanied by a slight hissing sound. After opening the case, it was clear that 3 capacitors on the power supply failed. I self repaired the unit (many thanks to my neighbor, who is much better with a soldering iron than I am) and it seems to be working again.

Drew
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-23-2009, 08:26 PM
MTuckman's Avatar
MTuckman MTuckman is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 120
Add another HD-100 death to the list, purchased 12/07. Same symptom with the IR Receiver seeming to fail before the unit itself died.

Going to take a run to RadioShack tomorrow and see if they have the caps. If not then I guess it's $39 and a trip back to Sage for repairs. Thankfully I have a second HD-100 that I can steal from my daughter and move into the living room. Not sure I could survive telling the toddlers that they have to go without their 200+ movies for a couple of weeks!
__________________
Mike : Technical Architect / Software Engineer
HTPC : Intelģ Core 2 Q6600 2.4GHz Quad Core Processor, 3GB RAM, 1TB DASD, Vista Home Prem, HdHomerun (2x Comcast QAM)
Main TV: Samsung 56" HDTV - STX-HD100 720p - HDMI - Sony DG910
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2009, 08:51 AM
drewg drewg is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTuckman View Post
Going to take a run to RadioShack tomorrow and see if they have the caps. If not then I guess it's $39
We actually salvaged the replacement caps for my HD100 from an older PII motherboard, so the repair cost $0.00.

Drew
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2009, 09:15 AM
gjvrieze gjvrieze is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 116
I need to open the 2 I have and see if they have failing caps. I would rather replace them BEFORE they fail! I also have a family friend, with a system that I setup, who's HD100, I should also check... I am not happy that they locked the other thread, that kind of action drives me NUTS!
__________________
Rackmount 20 drive hotswap case, 2x Intel e5410 Xeons, 4GB FBDIMM, 1x 80GB (OS), 14x 1TB in raid 5(DATA!!), Aerca 1280DML, Server 2k3 Enterprise x64 R2. Sage 6.4.8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-28-2009, 04:40 PM
Electronicbuff's Avatar
Electronicbuff Electronicbuff is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 44
Instructions on Fixing the HD100

A buddy of mine gave me a link showing step-by-step instructions on how to repair the HD100. See this link: http://www.cocoontech.com/portal/art...hd100-extender

Last edited by Electronicbuff; 07-07-2009 at 02:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-29-2009, 07:52 AM
skipwiley skipwiley is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
I fixed mine in 5 minute

The 5 volt DC adapter solution is the route I took and I highly recommend it over desoldering/soldering caps.

I skipped integrating the switch and simply connected the 4 internal wires to the 2 wires from the adapter and voila! everything is working great, did this about a month ago and my HD100 is still going strong.

Here is the article I followed:

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...54&postcount=7

I personally think Sage could have handled this well documented problem better by offering DIY repair kits for $20. I think most people using SageTV are capable of removing a few screws and connecting a few wires.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-29-2009, 05:29 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,779
I am not a soldering genius and it only took me 10 minutes to desolder the old caps and solder in the new ones. Just need a little braid from Radio Shack.

The worst you can do is mess up the power board and if that happens you can always go the power adapter route.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-29-2009, 06:13 PM
Ron Ron is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 245
The timing of this thread was perfect. Got home from a long vacation and found that my HD100 had these symptoms. Went down to Radio Shack, got the caps, and in ten minutes my HD100 was working again.

The instructions from Cocoontech were quite helpful.
__________________
Sage Server: Dell Dimension 9200, Intel Pentium D 2.80GHz Dual Core, 8GB Ram, Windows 7 Professional 64bit, Sage 7.19, HDHR (2 OTA), HDHR Prime 3CC (2)
HTPC Client: Intel DH61AG, Intel i5 cpu, 8GB Ram, Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Sage Clients: Sage HD-200 Extender, Sage HD-300 Extender
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-05-2009, 08:22 PM
RayGannon RayGannon is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 22
Mine ,purchased mid summer 2008, showed no symptoms but I opened it for inspection after reading the problem description/solution thread. I was about to place an order for capacitors to repair an ASUS motherboard suffering the same issue. Sure enough, the two electrolytics on the HD-100's 5 volt rail were domed and venting. Since I was already ordering the capacitors for another repair, total cost of the HD-100 repair was less than $1.00 and the unit was down for about 20 minutes.

Thanks to those that started these threads, and Sage for leaving them up, I'm a happy camper.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-05-2009, 09:29 PM
Mitch G Mitch G is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 322
My son came in the family room (HD100 purchased 12/07) the other day and was complaining about a high pitched sound. I couldn't hear it at all. And I didn't quite know what to make of it. Maybe he was just hearing things. But, then my daughter comes home from camp and starts complaining about the high pitched sound. Unplug a few devices and its the HD100. Lo and behold the high pitched squeal is a symptom of the problem and my inability to hear is a symptom of one too many rock concerts, I guess.

$6 at Radio shack, coocoontech's website and about 30 minutes (took me forever to get the old caps removed) of labor and the bad caps and the squeal are gone.


Mitch

EDIT: Had wrong date - it's a 12/07 purchased HD100.

Last edited by Mitch G; 07-06-2009 at 05:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-06-2009, 03:37 PM
malamo malamo is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Add another HD100 to the list...

Mine died this week after 13 months of light use (under 10 hours a week).
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-06-2009, 11:58 PM
malbec malbec is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 331
Add another one ... 12/10/2007.

Thanks to all for diagnosing the problem, identifying the parts/solutions, posting the tips, etc.!!!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-07-2009, 06:44 AM
JoeDiRT JoeDiRT is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Chalk another one up....Purchase date was 2/08. Seems from the posts that were averaging one a day if not more.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-07-2009, 12:47 PM
Ken C Ken C is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 446
Another one, magic blue smoke escapes !! But, Radio Shack actually had the 3 caps and the HD100 is now back in action. Took me longer to find the soldering iron than the actual repair. Love the smell of solder in the morning ...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-07-2009, 10:49 PM
nettech_gt nettech_gt is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 210
One of the two I bought on 2/27/08 died tonight right in the middle of watching Blade Runner It exhibited all symptoms, weak IR sensor, blinking power light with slight beeping noise.....off to Radio Shack!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-08-2009, 08:30 PM
igloo32 igloo32 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Add another one to the list, Got my HD200 last week, unplugged my perfectly working HD100, Went to plug it in upstairs a week later after putting in a bit of new cabling, turned the HD100 on and nothing but a flashing red light. Checked when I ordered my HD100, 24th June 08 received it on the 10th July 08 so I assume itís just out of warranty Also it was purchased in the UK from Tranquil PC before they had a falling out with Sage so looks like Iíll be going down the DIY fixing route.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-08-2009, 09:41 PM
HawgGuy's Avatar
HawgGuy HawgGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: west texas
Posts: 513
Amazing. I've just been noticing a week IR response the last day or two and thought I'd check the forums.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-08-2009, 11:23 PM
Motofreak75 Motofreak75 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 578
Send a message via ICQ to Motofreak75
I just replaces all the caps in three stx-100 even though they were not popped. I didnt notice any remote issues but that was because I use 880s and MCE remotes

But they all suffered from bad audio sync issues when playing HD-pvr files. After 10 minutes and 9 new caps replaced later, all of them play the files perfectly. It was like a light switch !


Has anyone else noticed playback issues with failing caps ?


If anyone else needs them replaced and is local to me just buy the caps and I'll do it for free. Its just take a few minutes

Located in Eastern GTA of Toronto PM for details
__________________
12.04 server Sagetv7
HD-pvr / 2250 /PVR 500 / DVBS w/rotor & 36 inch dish
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-09-2009, 08:00 AM
nettech_gt nettech_gt is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 210
THANX! Electronicbuff for posting the link to that awesome guide. I replaced all three caps and everything is working again!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-09-2009, 12:14 PM
drewg drewg is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,038
Oh brother, here's Big Brother

The original name of the thread was "Another HD100 bites the dust", not "HD100 power supply repair", and seems to have been ... sanitized by SageTV.

After this, the locking of the original thread, and the way they handled the repair program (dragged kicking and screaming by the forum to a repair program), I think I'm done with SageTV, and won't be recommending SageTV to my friends, or on my local AVS Forums HD reception thread.

Cheers,

Drew
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD PVR power supply Fingergottes Hardware Support 1 09-22-2008 01:13 PM
HD Homerun Power Supply Eckwell Hardware Support 12 09-10-2008 08:28 AM
power supply opinions, please hemicuda The SageTV Community 6 06-12-2008 08:29 AM
Silent/80 Plus power supply? morikaweb Hardware Support 12 02-22-2008 11:54 PM
Weak Power Supply ? 65 W Droid Hardware Support 4 03-04-2004 07:55 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.