SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 08-15-2009, 01:16 PM
brb84 brb84 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 97
Well, my one and only HD100 finally died yesterday as well...about 13 months of use. I remember reading the first posts about this issue around 6 months ago, and I was just hoping I'd be one of the lucky ones. Guess not.

Anyway, thanks to everyone for the effort in figuring out what the problem was and documenting how to fix it. I'm gonna go out and get some capacitors and see how I fare.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 08-16-2009, 07:08 AM
Fluffdaddy Fluffdaddy is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Philly, Pa
Posts: 1,004
I don't think there are going to be any "lucky ones". My guess is all of the 100's will fail with this cap problem.

Luckily it's a pretty ez fix
__________________
We’re doomed. It will never work
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 08-16-2009, 02:13 PM
brb84 brb84 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 97
Smile And Another one Fixed!

Woo! Got mine fixed. It took right at an hour from removing the first screw to tightening the last one. And I've never actually desoldered anything before. Had planned on using a desoldering tool, but all I had around was a wick, which I also had never used, but it wasn't too difficult.

Thanks again for posting the great instructions and pics. I'm incredibly happy spending an hour of work and $5 of parts and not having to bother with shipping it off and waiting to get it back.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 08-17-2009, 12:05 PM
Swagger200 Swagger200 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 59
Add my HD-100 to the list

I use this one less, with my downstairs system, have an HD-200 upstairs.

But it's been hot, so I went down and tried to turn the HD-100 on and, blinking power light of death.

I am not much for soldering so I guess I will be shipping it back for repair. Kind of bugs me since I had sent in an HD-100 before already - at least it was under warranty then.

Seems like Sage will eventually have to provide a more appealing and cheaper repair option - or perhaps a special upgrade price to the HD-200.
__________________
Server 1: i5-2500k, Win7 Pro, Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 tuner, SciAtl Explorer 8300HD -> Hauppauge HD-PVR
Server 2: Thinkpad T43p, XP Pro, SciAtl Explorer 4250HD -> Hauppauge HD-PVR
Server 3: Thinkpad T43p, XP Pro, SciAtl Explorer 4250HD -> Hauppauge HD-PVR
Clients: (3x) SageTV STX-HD-200, Patriot Box Office, Pivos Aios
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 08-18-2009, 02:30 PM
inssain96 inssain96 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Guess what I'll be doing tonight...

After about 10 minutes of watching my HD100 last night poof...turned off, blinking red light, and slight hissing. Mine made it a whole 12 months and two weeks.

The fix seems easy enough, but this is BS...there should definitely be some sort of upgrade voucher or something. sigh...
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 08-19-2009, 05:16 PM
waynedunham waynedunham is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by inssain96 View Post
After about 10 minutes of watching my HD100 last night poof...turned off, blinking red light, and slight hissing. Mine made it a whole 12 months and two weeks.

The fix seems easy enough, but this is BS...there should definitely be some sort of upgrade voucher or something. sigh...
Overall I think they've done a decent job offering to repair the out of warranty units at what is most assuredly a net loss when you figure in person hours, etc.

When I think about the quantity of electronics that have quit on me over the years due to poor design, poor components, etc. I get a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach. In 99% of those cases if the unit was out of warranty then at BEST the company might send you a brochure of their current products for you to buy, but rarely if ever would they offer to repair the unit for anything close to a reasonable rate.

FYI, I have 2 HD 100's and the PS died on both of them. Oddly enough the one that was the oldest and got used probably 5x more than the other one lasted the longest.
Unit one bought in late December 2007 just died a couple weeks ago. This unit is my main extender on the Tv in the living room and gets used many hours every day.
Unit two bought in late February 2008 and it died a couple months ago. This unit is on the bedroom Tv and gets used at most an hour or two a night.
__________________
Wayne Dunham
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 09-01-2009, 08:05 AM
cslatt's Avatar
cslatt cslatt is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 239
Mine's down for the count, looks like it's time to stop by "The Shack" and warm up the soldering iron.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 09-01-2009, 09:34 AM
MFULFORD MFULFORD is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
First one down

After approx 12 months the most heavily used one of my 3 HD100s has failed (gone on the blink?). Have bought capacitors from Maplin to fix this one and ordered more to fix the others in the near future.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 09-01-2009, 11:14 AM
larryf larryf is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 128
Must be a lot of bad caps out there

It's not just the HD100.

A friend gave me two Akai TVs that died on him one day apart with a blinking standby light.... and just a few weeks out of warranty. A quick search on google for 'Akai' and 'blinking' revealed Akai monitors and TVs have the same capacitor problem that we have seen on the HD100s. I just finished repairing one, almost all the caps were 1000u 35V and 1000u 16V. Most of them were bulging and discolored.

I'll bet there was a bad batch of caps made, and some of these ended up in the HD100s and Akai TVs and monitors.

There is a number stamped on all the caps I removed from the AKAI, C534... I assume this is a date code. I threw the caps away that I pulled from the HD100 so I don't know what those had on them. It would be interesting to find out if it was the same number or close to it.

Larry

Edited to say I found something on wikipedia... "Capacitor Plague"
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitor_plague

Manufacturers used an incorrect electrolyte formula which caused the problem. Dell Computer is having serious issues with this right now.

Last edited by larryf; 09-01-2009 at 11:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 09-01-2009, 12:06 PM
paulie's Avatar
paulie paulie is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 158
My hd110 died last night. I got the caps 1000mf 35v from maplin this morning and it is back up and running. Thanks for the posts on repair it was a great help.
__________________
Paulie
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 09-01-2009, 03:41 PM
jm987 jm987 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 62
One of my HD100's was winning for a few days. Replaced the caps and all is fine now. Still have 2 HD100's going strong with the original caps
__________________
Selling Sage Hardware and Software.
View the remaining items.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 09-03-2009, 08:56 PM
Polycron Polycron is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Add me to the list. Came home, had the flashing red light. 2 of the 3 caps were bulged. I would have replaced all 3 but Radio Shack only had 2 in stock. I'll go back and upgrade the 1 good cap at some point in the future. Many thanks to all those that contributed to this thread. It took me longer to drive to Radio Shack then to fix the problem. I can't say how happy I am that it was only a simple cap replacement. No crowded boards, surface mount stuff, etc. Super easy. And I'm back to watching the Packer game!!!
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 09-04-2009, 09:18 AM
Gog Gog is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 97
My HD100 died last week, swolen caps. Looks like I have some soldering to do.

It was in service almost exactly two years. I bough it August 15, 2007.

Mathieu

Last edited by Gog; 09-04-2009 at 09:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 09-04-2009, 10:15 AM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gog View Post
It was in service almost exactly two years. I bough it August 15, 2007.
Wasn't it released in December 2007?
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 09-04-2009, 11:22 AM
Gog Gog is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by peternm22 View Post
Wasn't it released in December 2007?
You're right, I looked at the wrong email, that was my hauppauge. The HD100 was ordered 12/10/2007
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 09-08-2009, 06:53 PM
simonen simonen is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 384
One of my HD100s just died. None of the tell tail sounds occurred, just a flashing red light and the unit will not turn on. Pulled the cover to find 2 bulged capacitors with a black substance coming out the tops.

Will fix it when I get the chance, not in a huge rush since I am evaluating a switch to media center 7 and xbox 360 extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 09-08-2009, 07:20 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonen View Post
One of my HD100s just died. None of the tell tail sounds occurred, just a flashing red light and the unit will not turn on. Pulled the cover to find 2 bulged capacitors with a black substance coming out the tops.

Will fix it when I get the chance, not in a huge rush since I am evaluating a switch to media center 7 and xbox 360 extenders.
I thought this was interesting. Some people had thought the HD100 failure rate was a little on the high side. (Estimates were in the 1%-3% range.) This article xBox 360 failure rate. Game Informer survey's findings of a staggeringly high 54.2 percent failure rate for the xBox 360. And Microsoft doesn't dispute the data

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 09-08-2009, 08:54 PM
simonen simonen is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 384
You are totally right! Not to mention they fix it for free within the first 3 years of purchase if I am not mistaken.

BTW, saying that I am evaluating certainly doesn't mean that I will do it. In fact, I should have not even mentioned it at all. To be honest, I feel that things are a bit slow on the 360 compared to the HD200. Anyways, we can leave this topic for another thread.
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 09-09-2009, 01:52 AM
taylormadearmy taylormadearmy is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 197
One of my 3 HD100s ordered in July 2008 just died. Capacitors ordered for all 3 or mine, 2 of my dad's and 3 of a friend's. I suspect they will all go eventually...

T
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 09-09-2009, 06:44 AM
MFULFORD MFULFORD is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
My 3 HD100s now sorted

I hope. One went down - the one used most. I thought I might as well do all 3 with the 35V caps recommended. Only one thought was that the OEM caps were 105 deg C and the replacement ones only 85 deg C. I just hope the new ones don't fail due to heat.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD PVR power supply Fingergottes Hardware Support 1 09-22-2008 01:13 PM
HD Homerun Power Supply Eckwell Hardware Support 12 09-10-2008 08:28 AM
power supply opinions, please hemicuda The SageTV Community 6 06-12-2008 08:29 AM
Silent/80 Plus power supply? morikaweb Hardware Support 12 02-22-2008 11:54 PM
Weak Power Supply ? 65 W Droid Hardware Support 4 03-04-2004 07:55 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.