SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV HD Theater - Media Player

Notices

SageTV HD Theater - Media Player Discussion related to using the SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player, i.e.: in use while not connected to a SageTV server. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to using a SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player should be posted here. Use the SageTV Media Extender forum for issues related to using it while connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-13-2011, 11:29 AM
baradanikto baradanikto is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 34
HD300 WOL using USB

I'm hoping someone has run across this before because I'm stumped. My Sage server is running on an Asus M4a77td motherboard. I think I have all of the correct settings in the BIOS set. The server connects to my network wirelessly using a Netgear N150 USB stick. I have not been able to get WOL to work on the HD300. I've seen posts that say you can't do it over wirelessly and others that say you can. Hence, the confusion. Can anyone shed some light on this? Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-13-2011, 11:32 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,198
Are there setting in your Netgear N150 USB stick that allow you to turn on the WOL option? Allowing WOL is also a function of the NIC and not just BIOS settings.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2011, 12:09 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Never tried it myself, but I imagine you'd have to configure the Power Management settings in Device Manager for that USB device to allow it to wake the computer.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-13-2011, 12:19 PM
baradanikto baradanikto is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 34
I could not find any settings to turn on WOL. The only option there is to enable/disable the adapter to save power. The other option, "Allow this device to wake the computer" is disabled. I've seen a few posts in other forums that the disabled option may be controlled by a registry setting. However, I could not find anything definitive. Does this mean I need a new USB adapter that supports WOL?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-13-2011, 04:21 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,198
If you cannot uncheck that option then your USB NIC doesn't support it.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-13-2011, 06:45 PM
baradanikto baradanikto is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 34
Ok, so SageTV sells an HD300 with wireless access. Does anyone know how to get WOL to work wirelessly? Anyone know of a USB adapter that supports WOL? Why is ths information so hard to find?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-15-2011, 12:37 PM
SimeonPilgrim SimeonPilgrim is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by baradanikto View Post
Ok, so SageTV sells an HD300 with wireless access. Does anyone know how to get WOL to work wirelessly?
Are you asking: Can you wake a SageTV server from the HD300 if the HD300 is using the Wifi? In one of two scenarios Sever using Wifi (USB or internal), but that WOL works from other device, or two the server is connected to a Wifi router/bridge?

I don't have any answers here, I just am not sure what question you are asking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by baradanikto View Post
Anyone know of a USB adapter that supports WOL?
I understand the question, just don't have the answer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by baradanikto View Post
Why is this information so hard to find?
I assume because a lot of people don't use sleeping servers, and/or lots of people don't use Wifi.

The first point: because from a server perspective it means the server is not on to record when you want (the major use of SageTV I'd assume).

The second point: because Wifi has not work well previously, thus the old hands (experienced people) have gone done the ethernet, ethernet-over-cable (MoCA) or ethernet-over-power (powerline) routes.

Thus the set of new users the are using 802.11n successfully with a WOL enabled server, is a very small set of the user base. And maybe a set that doesn't read the forums frequently.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-29-2011, 08:57 PM
grimace grimace is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Winnipeg, CANADA
Posts: 3
How I resolved WOL issue on my SageTV host

Apologies if this isn't up to the usual standards. My first post

I resolved the WOL issue on my machine as follows:

Extender: HD-300
SageTV Service is running on:
Win 7 Pro, ASUS P6T-D Deluxe mobo
Marvell Yukon 88E8056 adapter (on-board)

The power management settings for the network adapter (Device Manager) are counterintuitive. See Shot1.png

In order for power to be retained in the adapter after entering sleep, the first checkbox must be checked. The caption is somewhat misleading. A more correct caption might be: "enable power management on this device".

The key here is the first checkbox must be checked in order for the second checkbox (enable WOL) to be active. I checked all 3.

You may also need to check your (Windows) Power Options in Control Pannel. Make sure you network adapter is not powered down in sleep mode.


Next ensure WOL and Magic Packet is enabled in the Advanced Tab. See Shot2.png.


Finally I added the "forced_mac_address" parameter to the SageClient.properties file. Not sure at this point if it is entirely necessary but I came across it in other posts so I tossed it in for good measure.

formatting example: forced_mac_address=00-00-00-00-00-00
You can discover the mac address of the adapter using ipconfig /all at a command prompt.

I did not set that parameter in my Sage.Properties file, only the SageClient.Properties file.

I don't recall if I restarted SageTV or not.

Final Check:
If your network adapter has a status light (usually beside the network cable port) it should remain lit when the computer sleeps. This indicates the adapter is configured to retain power when the computer sleeps. If WOL is properly configured, your HD-300 should now be able to wake the computer.


Hope that helps.
Attached Images
File Type: png Shot2.png (51.3 KB, 233 views)
File Type: png Shot1.png (50.1 KB, 217 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-13-2011, 06:11 PM
baradanikto baradanikto is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 34
Grimace, thanks for the reply. You're the closest thing I've come to a solution. However, I still can't get WOL to work. I have recently changed my setup as follows: I now connect my Sage server to my network via a wireless bridge that is connected to the mobo via the on-board Realtek NIC.

I used your suggestions, but, the on-board NIC does not seem to retain power when in standby (I don't see a light). I'm not sure what to change in the power settings, so, I guessed at allowing power to PCI-e. I could not find anything that specifically referenced the on-board NIC. I think I have the adapter properties set correctly (see attached image).

Lastly, my HD300 connects to the network via the Sage approved wireless adapter. How do you connect? What about your BIOS settings? As you can probably guess, ASUS has provided no help in resolving this.
Attached Images
File Type: png Realtek NIC.png (40.6 KB, 185 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-24-2011, 06:24 PM
grimace grimace is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Winnipeg, CANADA
Posts: 3
Sorry to hear that you're still hooped.
I should have mentioned I'm hard-wired not wireless. But from your description, sounds like your NIC is the culprit.

I've attached some WIN7 Power Management settings that I'm using.
Note I've turned off Hibernate. Don't know if that matters but worth investigating.

I also downloaded the latest NIC driver and read over the ReadMe file that came with. My NIC is a Yukon, the ReadMe had some good info regarding WOL settings. Also in the attached doc.

I think once you can get your NIC to quit napping you'll be away to the races.

Also check your bios settings. Power Management sleep mode and WOL. Also enable Plug and Play bios if it isn't already

G.
Attached Files
File Type: doc MoreInfo.doc (167.0 KB, 145 views)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-24-2011, 06:32 PM
grimace grimace is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Winnipeg, CANADA
Posts: 3
Came across this just now.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Configuring_Network#Realtek_no_link_.2F_WOL_issue[/URL]

see: Realtek no link / WOL issue

It's Linux site but talks about Windows issues similar to yours.
Hope it fits.

G.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hd300, wol


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD300 WOL .... anyone actually using it yet? Graygeek SageTV Media Extender 55 04-23-2011 09:21 AM
HD300 Usb Wireless access baradanikto SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 6 03-02-2011 09:01 PM
HD300 using USB drive as source sacrament055 SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 4 10-29-2010 02:08 PM
HD300 server detection / WOL oceanabby SageTV Media Extender 1 10-18-2010 09:22 PM
USB drive attached popup (HD300) Comitizer SageTV Media Extender 2 10-07-2010 11:59 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.