SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-27-2011, 06:22 PM
tchapin tchapin is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 279
SageTV Roku channel?

Think it's be possible to create a SageTV channel for the Roku boxes?

http://www.roku.com/developer

They'd take care of most other stuff (youtube, hulu, netflix, amazon vod, etc) natively. Additionally, there's the Plex channel, which looks interesting.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-2011, 12:48 PM
castylx castylx is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 58
I'd be interested in helping out if people are willing to put some effort...we could replace the clients with a Roku box and just hold on to the Server portion of sage.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2011, 06:40 PM
alfi33 alfi33 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 297
It looks like NextPVR has a Roku channel. It appears to do a bit more than I would have expected (though still not much).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F900SfynJCw
__________________
Server: SageTV v9 on unRAID Docker; i5-2400; 16GB RAM; 9TB storage array; SiliconDust HDHR3
Client: Windows7 Pro; AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000; Radeon HD 3200; 4GB RAM
Client: Windows10; Intel Core2Duo; AMD HD6450; 4GB RAM
Client: Windows10; Intel Core2Duo; AMD HD5450; 4GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2011, 07:15 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Would kind of depend on what level of functionality you're looking for. If you are just trying to get browse/video playback (basically, the functionality you get with the web interface) it wouldn't be that difficult. If you are trying to get an actual Sage UI, then even THAT isn't incredibly difficult (using the sage OSD Plugin class), but it requires a PC based UI instance to replicate to the Roku device. Sage USED to be able to launch multiple UI instances with the -Multi command line switch, but this was removed many many years ago.

A higher level of awesome would be if sage opened up the Placeshifter protocol.. but I doubt that's going to happen at this stage, unless it goes along with a totall opening up of the deprecated sagetv system.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-08-2011, 07:33 AM
keepersg's Avatar
keepersg keepersg is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by tchapin View Post
Think it's be possible to create a SageTV channel for the Roku boxes?

http://www.roku.com/developer

They'd take care of most other stuff (youtube, hulu, netflix, amazon vod, etc) natively. Additionally, there's the Plex channel, which looks interesting.

Thoughts?
Roku boxes have a component output--> Hauppage HDPVR --> Sage
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-08-2011, 08:09 AM
alfi33 alfi33 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by keepersg View Post
Roku boxes have a component output--> Hauppage HDPVR --> Sage
I think the OP is talking about the other way around. Adding a new channel to your Roku device that allows you to browse and watch content from your Sage server could be very cool. Although it wouldn't be a true extender, it might suffice in some scenarios....especially now that extenders are quite a bit tougher to come by.
__________________
Server: SageTV v9 on unRAID Docker; i5-2400; 16GB RAM; 9TB storage array; SiliconDust HDHR3
Client: Windows7 Pro; AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000; Radeon HD 3200; 4GB RAM
Client: Windows10; Intel Core2Duo; AMD HD6450; 4GB RAM
Client: Windows10; Intel Core2Duo; AMD HD5450; 4GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-08-2011, 08:52 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
So, I don't have a Roku player, but I think I am going to sign up and get a developer account. This seems like it could be fairly simple. We can possible leverage the existing webui to get program guide info, schedule recordings, so on and so forth. It would be a complete ui redesign on the roku part i think, but it def seems possible and i think would be a nice little addition.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-08-2011, 09:03 AM
bastafidli bastafidli is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 728
That would solve the extender problem if you can use the Roku as an extenders.
__________________

TV: Samsung UN46D8000
Server: Intel Core i3 540, 4G RAM, Matrox G450, 70GB EXT3 encrypted software RAID1 system drive, 1TB XFS tv recording drive, 2TB EXT3 encrypted data drive mirror across 2 machines, 2TB EXT3 encrypted media drive mirror across 2 machines, CentOS 6 64 bit, Experimenting with DNLA servers
1Gb wired network
Disconnected after G day[HD 100 Media Extender, Placeshifter 7.x, SageTV 7.x, HDHomeRun]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-08-2011, 09:30 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
yeah - it wouldn't be a full replacement obviously, and would be as slick, but def would be functional. I need to get into the SDK and see what is available for UI support...There may be no way to change the stock ui for a Roku app., in which case we are kinda stuck with a sage channel looking similiar to the NextPVR channel.

I already created an account as a roku dev. Im a bit busy with work and the new baby and such, but my plan is to start looking at the SDK this weekend. Ill report back with what i find.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-08-2011, 11:08 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
The Roku is relatively simple to program for, from what I've seen.. they've got their own scripting language (BrightScript). You should be able to make the UI look however you want, but it wont' be a sagetv (STV) UI - unfortunately.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-08-2011, 12:04 PM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,240
The last time I checked the Roku is very limited in file format support so keep that in mind...
__________________
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-08-2011, 03:28 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
little snag in my plan...looking at the developer site it appears that you need to have a roku box in order to do development. I thought there was an emulator with the SDK. :-(

My parents have one but i doubt they will let me steal it for a few days while i play around with this.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-08-2011, 04:59 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by cncb View Post
The last time I checked the Roku is very limited in file format support so keep that in mind...
The development guides say it supports H.264 w/ AAC primarily - but also supports MPEG-2 and VC-1.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-13-2011, 09:42 AM
Evil_Attorney's Avatar
Evil_Attorney Evil_Attorney is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 595
What about doing something similar for the WDTV Live Plus? It uses the same chip as the HD300 and has similar specs.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-16-2011, 06:01 AM
tchapin tchapin is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiX64 View Post
little snag in my plan...looking at the developer site it appears that you need to have a roku box in order to do development. I thought there was an emulator with the SDK. :-(

My parents have one but i doubt they will let me steal it for a few days while i play around with this.
I'd chip in $10 to buy you one if you were serious about working on this.

At this point, I'm only really looking at playback solutions. I've upgraded to SageTV V7, but have MVPs in 2 locations, so I still use SageMC. My HD200 started acting funny, but I haven't had the chance to troubleshoot it yet. I'd be happy with only being able to view my stored content (movies, music, photos, recorded TV) via the Roku.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-16-2011, 08:54 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Much appreciated, but I wouldn't feel right takIng. Peoples money for this. If I did get the time and got a channel up and running it would be free to sage peeps.

I'm kinda turned off by the limitation of the roku player. What about an xbmc plugin like mythbox? Or an app for the wdlive?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-16-2011, 08:59 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Looks like xbmc has been done before. Wonder if it still works. This could be a viable client option:

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=35765
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-17-2011, 02:49 PM
tchapin tchapin is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 279
Yes, I've been surprised at how limited the Roku is as well. It's a neat little toy though. All of the apps to pull content from your local network really suck. They miss out on the rich metadata and are super limited in the formats they can play. I'm currently checking out Plex, which might be sufficient.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-17-2011, 06:06 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,779
I just ordered a Boxee Box which seemed to me to be the best option. It should arrive Tuesday so I'll know soon enough if I'm right or not.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-17-2011, 09:08 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
U thinking a boxee box app?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roku / Apple TV - the dead horse? heffneil Hardware Support 1 03-29-2011 07:06 AM
Roku channel? freewheeling Hardware Support 12 01-30-2011 10:51 AM
Just got a Roku box... cncb The SageTV Community 4 12-08-2009 03:10 PM
Roku and Amazon Unbox TallMomof2 General Discussion 4 01-15-2009 07:57 AM
ROKU Photobridge HD Deacon Crusher Hardware Support 69 05-20-2005 03:59 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.