SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2003, 06:38 AM
rrussell's Avatar
rrussell rrussell is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 290
Trouble importing old MPG files

So as a result of switching to SageTV, I have a couple of dozen old MPG files from my WinTV days, named things like "Show001.mpg", "Show002.mpg", "Show003.mpg" etc.

I plopped them into the "import" directory, and the prog dutifully imported two of them into the library. But, no matter what I do, it won't import the rest:

I've tried moving them and resetting the import dir option.

I've tried moving them out and back into the same import dir.

I've tried it one at a time, and all at once.

Any suggestions? Is the naming convention an issue? It doesn't seem to be a date/timestamp thing...

??

R
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2003, 07:06 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
If you're using the beta version, the log file will tell you why it rejected any imports. Just look for the file name. Let me know why, and then I can help more.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2003, 06:07 AM
rrussell's Avatar
rrussell rrussell is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 290
Roger that. I'm using 1.2.8 so no log. I'll see if I can't get to it this weekend (or, hopefully, sooner).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2003, 03:33 PM
rrussell's Avatar
rrussell rrussell is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 290
Aha! I got to it sooner than this weekend.


I'm attaching the txt file.

A quick search for "import" led me to lines like:

Wed 5/21 17:19:38.835 testFile=D:\Program Files\Frey Technologies\SageTV\Import\1000000 Years BC.MPG
Wed 5/21 17:19:39.065 MF Failed Init:MediaFile[FA[BAD AIRING] host=pvr D:\Program Files\Frey Technologies\SageTV\Import\1000000 Years BC.MPG, Seg0[Sun 3/2 15:02:00.820-Sun 3/2 15:02:00.820]]

Are the mpgs corrupt?

LMK what you found...

Thanks!
Rob
Attached Files
File Type: txt sagetv_0.txt (59.7 KB, 186 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2003, 06:39 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
If you open one of those MPG files in WMP what's the duration on it?

That failure occurs when the file is reported as being of zero length duration (so it assumes the MPG file's corrupted).
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-21-2003, 07:26 PM
rrussell's Avatar
rrussell rrussell is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 290
Well, for example, 10000000 years BC reports 2:02:16 in length.

The "Enterprise" episodes all say somewhere around 1 hour, which is right where they should be.

Can I send you one somehow? They're sizeable, as you can imagine.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-22-2003, 05:47 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
How about you just cut off the first couple minutes of one, and then try to import that. It it still fails, and WMP reports a couple minute duration, you can then send me that file easily.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-23-2003, 06:43 AM
rrussell's Avatar
rrussell rrussell is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 290
Sure... um.

Care to recommend a tool for that?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-23-2003, 11:38 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
Here's one I wrote for it. Just put the .class file in the same folder as what you want to copy.

Then go to DOS, cd into that directory and type:

java HeadCopy sourceFile.mpg destinationFile.mpg 200000

That'll copy the first 200000 bytes from sourceFile.mpg to destinationFile.mpg
Attached Files
File Type: zip headcopy.zip (603 Bytes, 199 views)
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-26-2003, 11:59 AM
rrussell's Avatar
rrussell rrussell is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 290
OK, done - still didn't import.

The (apparently) relevant segment of SageTV_0.txt reads:

Mon 5/26 13:42:06.220 MARK 1 currRecord=null enc=Hauppauge WinTV PVR PCI II Capture clients=[]
Mon 5/26 13:42:06.230 Seeker in AUTOMATIC mode nextRecord=A[193015,192256,"Treasure Makers",14902@0527.10:30,30] nextTTA=74873780
Mon 5/26 13:42:06.230 newRecord=null
Mon 5/26 13:42:06.230 NOTHING TO RECORD FOR NOW...
Mon 5/26 13:42:06.230 VF processing job null nPlayin=false
Mon 5/26 13:42:06.230 VF thread is now waiting for 0:00:00.000
Mon 5/26 13:42:06.531 testFile=D:\Program Files\Frey Technologies\SageTV\Import\enterprise_clipped.mpg
Mon 5/26 13:42:10.576 UIManager.gotoSleep(false) isTaskbar=true
Mon 5/26 13:42:10.636 setUI(sage.t@126ecd2)
Mon 5/26 13:42:12.429 setUI(sage.t@243e61)
Mon 5/26 13:42:12.559 MF Failed Init:MediaFile[FA[BAD AIRING] host=pvr D:\Program Files\Frey Technologies\SageTV\Import\enterprise_clipped.mpg, Seg0[Mon 5/26 13:41:51.008-Mon 5/26 13:41:51.008]]
Mon 5/26 13:42:12.559 testFile=D:\Program Files\Frey Technologies\SageTV\Import\HeadCopy.class
Mon 5/26 13:42:14.752 MF Failed Init:MediaFile[FA[BAD AIRING] host=pvr D:\Program Files\Frey Technologies\SageTV\Import\HeadCopy.class, Seg0[Thu 3/27 13:47:28.000-Thu 3/27 13:47:28.000]]
Mon 5/26 13:42:16.795 Seeker waiting for 1245 mins.

At this point, WMP doesn't recognize any length in that file, though, or play anything beyond the first couple of frames, it seems. I clipped the first 200K bytes as suggested from enterprise001.mpg. Also tried with a 2meg chunk. Also tried changing directories. Nothin's working... yet!

Do you need the whole log file?

Thanks!
Rob
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-27-2003, 01:05 PM
rrussell's Avatar
rrussell rrussell is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally posted by Narflex
How about you just cut off the first couple minutes of one, and then try to import that. It it still fails, and WMP reports a couple minute duration, you can then send me that file easily.
Actually, so - it is still failing to import, but WMP is reporting no duration. What can I do next?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-27-2003, 07:56 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
Email that small MPG file to support@freytechnologies.com that's what I need.

Thanks,
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-28-2003, 07:53 AM
rrussell's Avatar
rrussell rrussell is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 290
Will do. I'll try to get to it tonight, or next monday at the latest. (ha)

FWIW I was looking through those old mpg files and none of them are ones that I really NEED to keep. If this has not yet become an o-fish-al bug that you want to fix, I'm happy to let it drop.

OTOH if you wanna fix it (and who wouldn't) I'm also happy to send you the file.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-28-2003, 03:02 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
No one else is currently reporting a problem with it. But a bug is a bug and should be fixed regardless of it currently affects anyone. Send me the file when you get around to it.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-29-2003, 06:18 AM
rrussell's Avatar
rrussell rrussell is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 290
OK, it is on its way. Enjoy! (?)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-07-2003, 06:44 PM
Lester Jacobs Lester Jacobs is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 498
I'm also having problems importing files. I put two files in the import directory, stopped and restarted SageTV and the files were not imported. These same files play fine in PowerDVD and can be read and processed by Ulead without any problems. They are SVCD compliant mpeg-2 files.


Any ideas on what could be wrong?

UPDATE: Just tried SageRecorder and it can see and play the files. This seems to prove that the files themselves are not corrupt. Therefore I don't know why SageTV is rejecting the files.

Lester
__________________
Lester Jacobs
Web: http://www.digicasa.com
"The shortest answer is doing."
English Proverb. Collected in: George Herbert, Jacula Prudentum (1651).

Last edited by Lester Jacobs; 06-07-2003 at 07:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-08-2003, 08:17 AM
Omegadsl Omegadsl is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally posted by Lester Jacobs
I'm also having problems importing files. I put two files in the import directory, stopped and restarted SageTV and the files were not imported. These same files play fine in PowerDVD and can be read and processed by Ulead without any problems. They are SVCD compliant mpeg-2 files.


Any ideas on what could be wrong?

UPDATE: Just tried SageRecorder and it can see and play the files. This seems to prove that the files themselves are not corrupt. Therefore I don't know why SageTV is rejecting the files.

Lester
Is this with all mpeg-2 files or only the ones that are SVCD compliant? For me, it's all mpeg-2 files that won't import.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-08-2003, 01:32 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
Create this registry variable as a DWORD and see if any error messages come up when you run SageTV:
HKLM\Software\Frey Technologies\Common\consolewin=1
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-08-2003, 08:55 PM
Lester Jacobs Lester Jacobs is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 498
Quote:
Originally posted by Narflex
Create this registry variable as a DWORD and see if any error messages come up when you run SageTV:
HKLM\Software\Frey Technologies\Common\consolewin=1
I get the following when I start up SageTV (with or without files in the import directory;

Sun 6/8 22:52:18.357 Failed to find:\\?\display#ntativrv26#5&2f4fd774&0&80000008&01&00#

Cheers
Lester
__________________
Lester Jacobs
Web: http://www.digicasa.com
"The shortest answer is doing."
English Proverb. Collected in: George Herbert, Jacula Prudentum (1651).
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-09-2003, 09:43 AM
Omegadsl Omegadsl is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 114
Jeff, are all three of us having the same problem or are different things messed up on each of our systems? I want to help find what is causing this but if it can not be fixed I might attempt a clean install (of XP, etc.). The reason I am reluctant to do that, is because I have no idea what caused this and I am not sure it won't happen again (since I'll probably install the conflicting software again).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.