SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2019, 12:23 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 982
Share Prime - SageTV + Emby or Plex

I'm looking for a way to give my daughter DVR capabilities while she's away at school. Since she's an Apple person, (don't know how that happened), I figure I'd get her an Apple TV and have her connect to my Emby or Plex instances. Am I right in thinking that I can point Emby or Plex to my Prime and have it play nicely with SageTV + OpenDCT, (i.e. they won't both try to use the same tuner)?
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2019, 03:16 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,533
Do you want to watch Recorded TV files or live TV? As long as everything is recorded in SageTV then you should have to worry about tuner contention.

Also, there also may not be much point in getting her an AppleTV - you can get FireTV or Rokus that will provide the same functionality for much cheaper except for the lack of Airplay.

Another easy way top remotely get content from SageTV is AirVideoHD. I use this all the time, the main downside is that the UI isn't pretty since you are just selecting files from a file list. But it works well remotely assuming that you have decent upload speed (my upload speed is 20Mbps) and you forward the port.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2019, 04:13 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Do you want to watch Recorded TV files or live TV? As long as everything is recorded in SageTV then you should have to worry about tuner contention.

Also, there also may not be much point in getting her an AppleTV - you can get FireTV or Rokus that will provide the same functionality for much cheaper except for the lack of Airplay.

Another easy way top remotely get content from SageTV is AirVideoHD. I use this all the time, the main downside is that the UI isn't pretty since you are just selecting files from a file list. But it works well remotely assuming that you have decent upload speed (my upload speed is 20Mbps) and you forward the port.
I want to make this pretty seamless and SageTV just doesn't fit the bill. While I rely on the features SageTV has for my own house, I just want an app that she and her roommate or people over can easily connect with and use.

I think I've settled on Emby for the back-end if just for the fact that I can also connect a currently unused HDHR Quatro (bought on a Black Friday sale when I thought SD Premium TV would be my future direction--also came with a free Fire TV stick that my daughter now has) to my antenna and have a separate lineup for it without jumping through hoops like you have to do with Plex. It's pretty slick in that I can mark channels on the Prime as Favorites and only import those into Emby. So I disregard everything under channel 1000 and also any channel that the Quatro can capture.

While automatic commercial skip is important to me I think she's fine with manual skipping. And while I like to start sports a bit in and commercial skip, (or if I'm on the road have SRE make sure the whole game is captured), she prefers to watch sports live.

Anyway, I want to give a separate DVR experience to her but use my equipment for now. We watch some of the same shows and I wouldn't want to delete something she hasn't watched yet or vice versa. When you're in the same house that is easier to resolve .
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2019, 09:01 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
I'm looking for a way to give my daughter DVR capabilities while she's away at school. Since she's an Apple person, (don't know how that happened), I figure I'd get her an Apple TV and have her connect to my Emby or Plex instances. Am I right in thinking that I can point Emby or Plex to my Prime and have it play nicely with SageTV + OpenDCT, (i.e. they won't both try to use the same tuner)?
Yes you can do that with EMBY .... but Plex does not play nice with Sharing tuners assumes all tuners are allocated to it.


Make sure to enable pooling in OpenDCT. Then you can use both Emby and SageTV with the HdHomerun tuners... Make Sure all OTA tuners are part of the same Pool.

EX.
pool.enabled=true
sagetv.device.-1043852702.encoder_pool=atsc
sagetv.device.-1043987243.encoder_pool=atsc
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 05-01-2019 at 09:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2019, 11:49 AM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Yes you can do that with EMBY .... but Plex does not play nice with Sharing tuners assumes all tuners are allocated to it.


Make sure to enable pooling in OpenDCT. Then you can use both Emby and SageTV with the HdHomerun tuners... Make Sure all OTA tuners are part of the same Pool.

EX.
pool.enabled=true
sagetv.device.-1043852702.encoder_pool=atsc
sagetv.device.-1043987243.encoder_pool=atsc
Great, thanks. Now if only that 6 tuner Prime would hurry up and get released!
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-01-2019, 12:08 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
Great, thanks. Now if only that 6 tuner Prime would hurry up and get released!
There is a thread on the Silicondust forum that says the 6 tuner prime will not have a gigabit Ethernet port, only fast Ethernet. So there is some question as to whether it will be able to handle six simultaneous recordings or not. I may just stick with my two existing primes after all, with the added benefit of redundancy in case of hardware failure. The downside is Iím stuck paying rental fees for two cablecards instead of one.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-01-2019, 03:20 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,533
Isn't the bitrate of an MPEG-2 transport stream 19Mbps? Then how do you fit six signals into 100Mbps? When I went to school 6x19 was 114
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-01-2019, 04:01 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,175
That's the max rate. If you are using it for cable, you be lucky to see 8Mbps.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sage recording conversion for use in emby irishattorney General Discussion 5 06-10-2018 05:53 AM
Migrating from a single RecordedTV share to that same share plus a local drive? PeteCress SageTV Software 1 06-05-2017 03:14 AM
SageTV and Emby Integration KarylFStein General Discussion 3 12-21-2016 06:40 PM
Plex 4.0 - better peruse the Plex.forum before updating.... tvmaster2 General Discussion 18 08-17-2015 10:16 AM
Eventghost, Plex and SageTV lovingHDTV SageTV Software 16 09-18-2014 09:04 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.