SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 10-30-2020, 01:27 PM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 868
been a while here since i got my hardware, but just got around to buying an antenna to place on my attic window, pointing east towards NYC.

it seems like this is not a slam dunk getting it into sageTV
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 11-01-2020, 07:52 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat6man View Post
been a while here since i got my hardware, but just got around to buying an antenna to place on my attic window, pointing east towards NYC.

it seems like this is not a slam dunk getting it into sageTV
I was able to import a recording into SageTV ... the SageTV MiniClent played the video but no audio... but I am sure that Android devices and FireTV will support the audio. The OPENDCT FFMPEG will probably have to be updated. Emby Plays LIVETV Video fine but no sound yet. Channels DVR plays both Video and Sound... but has slight pauses.


Edit ..

Imported ASTC 3.0 Video and Audio play great on my Samsung Android Devices ... Note 9 and Samsung tab 4 using MiniClient.

https://www.businesswire.com/news/ho...ing-Dolby-AC-4
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 11-01-2020 at 02:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 11-01-2020, 02:38 PM
sacrament055 sacrament055 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 461
Out of curiosity what if you add the tuner directly into Sage instead of using OpenDCT for the ATSC3.0 tuners. Seems like in that configuration it should be able to write the file to the disk correctly then it's just down to being able to decode it successfully.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 11-01-2020, 04:38 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by sacrament055 View Post
Out of curiosity what if you add the tuner directly into Sage instead of using OpenDCT for the ATSC3.0 tuners. Seems like in that configuration it should be able to write the file to the disk correctly then it's just down to being able to decode it successfully.
Tried that SageTV cannot determine the ASTC 3.0 tries to play the regular ... but crashes the Client on the Audio ... on my Tablet it stutters like crazy .. SageTV will need to have a major rewrite to properly record ASTC 3.0).

Only hope is that they use a new FFMPEG in opendct when it is able to decode the new audio.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 11-02-2020, 08:37 AM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by sacrament055 View Post
Out of curiosity what if you add the tuner directly into Sage instead of using OpenDCT for the ATSC3.0 tuners. Seems like in that configuration it should be able to write the file to the disk correctly then it's just down to being able to decode it successfully.
All of this is assuming we are talking about the Android Client.

Here is a list of things that will need to happen for AC4 playback.

1. We need to be able to parse the media info of the file and identify it contains AC4. I do not think my MediaFormatParser plugin can do it yet since the FFmpeg does not support it. I can try this out if someone can get me an example clip. It should hopefully be an easy update when it does support it. I would hope it would be as simple as upgrading the libraries to the latest version.

2. We need to add AC4 to the codec list in SageTV. This is real easy to do, and I am willing to do the pull request once I can get the MediaFormatParser to recognize it. I already did this for HEVC/H.265.

3. Then I need to add AC4 to the list of supported audio codecs that is passed to SageTV from the Android Client. This is required to tell SageTV that the client is capable of decoding the format.

The reason these changes are needed, is that sage needs to know if the client supports the codecs. If sage thinks the client does not support the codecs, than it will try and transcode it. This is where things are going to blow up. The version of FFmpeg is very old and will have no idea what h.265 or ac4 are . So boom.

If we get these above items sorted out, then if the Android device supports the audio, than in theory ExoPlayer should support it. I was not able to determine which devices might support AC4 audio. I will add it to the ExoPlayer support debug on Android Client in one of the next releases.
__________________
Projects I am currently maintaining
SageTV Andoid Client
Media Format Parser Plugin
JavaFFmpegLibrary

If you like the work I am doing and would like to support it you can become a Patreon member.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 11-02-2020, 10:04 AM
CptKirk CptKirk is online now
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 156
On the ffmpeg ticket site where someone entered an AC4 support request, there is a link to AC4 sample files.

https://trac.ffmpeg.org/ticket/8349

Direct link to sample files:

https://testassets.dashif.org/#testc...e9045678eab64f

Note: when I went to that site I had to refresh the page a couple of times before I got the list of files.
__________________
SageTV running on: Win7 SP1 64 Pro
SageTV 9.1.9.778 (32 bit)
Java 1.7.0_80 (32 bit)
OpenDCT 0.5.29 (Comcast Music channels set to FFmpeg)
Clients: HD300 (x2)
HDHR3-CC Prime 20190621 (Comcast CableCard) - 3 Tuners
Hauppauge 1950 STB SD (USB-UIRT Zone 1)
Hauppauge 1950 STB SD (USB-UIRT Zone 2)
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 11-02-2020, 12:38 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvl711 View Post
All of this is assuming we are talking about the Android Client.

Here is a list of things that will need to happen for AC4 playback.
...
Would this not also apply to the SageTVServer or Client on Windows to allow playback directly on the PC as well - but, of course, not on devices like HDX00s which can't support the codecs and/or resolutions.

Would this also mean smoother playback of OTA files as HEVC is better supported on Android devices than MPEG-2 of ATSC 1.0?

I haven't used the Android client recently but when I used it in the past I often had issues with playback of OTA files.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 11-03-2020, 07:42 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvl711 View Post
All of this is assuming we are talking about the Android Client.

Here is a list of things that will need to happen for AC4 playback.

1. We need to be able to parse the media info of the file and identify it contains AC4. I do not think my MediaFormatParser plugin can do it yet since the FFmpeg does not support it. I can try this out if someone can get me an example clip. It should hopefully be an easy update when it does support it. I would hope it would be as simple as upgrading the libraries to the latest version.

2. We need to add AC4 to the codec list in SageTV. This is real easy to do, and I am willing to do the pull request once I can get the MediaFormatParser to recognize it. I already did this for HEVC/H.265.

3. Then I need to add AC4 to the list of supported audio codecs that is passed to SageTV from the Android Client. This is required to tell SageTV that the client is capable of decoding the format.

The reason these changes are needed, is that sage needs to know if the client supports the codecs. If sage thinks the client does not support the codecs, than it will try and transcode it. This is where things are going to blow up. The version of FFmpeg is very old and will have no idea what h.265 or ac4 are . So boom.

If we get these above items sorted out, then if the Android device supports the audio, than in theory ExoPlayer should support it. I was not able to determine which devices might support AC4 audio. I will add it to the ExoPlayer support debug on Android Client in one of the next releases.
Here is a sample ....

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ZK_...ew?usp=sharing
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 11-03-2020, 08:11 AM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Thank you nyplayer. I added this clip to my test cases.

Here is what my format parser library does with it currently when I run it thru my test case.

Code:
Testcase: transcodeDevelopmentTesting(jvl.FFmpeg.jni.General):	Caused an ERROR
Codec not found
java.lang.RuntimeException: Codec not found
	at jvl.FFmpeg.jni.AVCodec.getAVCodecDecoder(AVCodec.java:21)
	at jvl.FFmpeg.jni.General.transcodeDevelopmentTesting(General.java:67)
__________________
Projects I am currently maintaining
SageTV Andoid Client
Media Format Parser Plugin
JavaFFmpegLibrary

If you like the work I am doing and would like to support it you can become a Patreon member.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 11-09-2020, 04:24 PM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvl711 View Post
Thank you nyplayer. I added this clip to my test cases.

Here is what my format parser library does with it currently when I run it thru my test case.
FYI. another one you might want to look at is the Opus audio codec. I've run across a couple instances of this guy in containers and the Android Mini Client doesn't like it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg snip_20201109142904.jpg (231.7 KB, 20 views)

Last edited by phelme; 11-09-2020 at 04:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 11-10-2020, 03:03 PM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by phelme View Post
FYI. another one you might want to look at is the Opus audio codec. I've run across a couple instances of this guy in containers and the Android Mini Client doesn't like it.
It looks like the mini client and SageTV are both unaware of that codec. I will add this to the issue list as an enhancement. I already compiled the ffmpeg audio extension for ExoPlayer to support the codec, so in theory I just need to add the codec to SageTV and the Android Client.

Josh
__________________
Projects I am currently maintaining
SageTV Andoid Client
Media Format Parser Plugin
JavaFFmpegLibrary

If you like the work I am doing and would like to support it you can become a Patreon member.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New HDHR Quatro on old SageTV setup in Vista bmac.to Hardware Support 3 03-27-2020 10:39 AM
Recommended procedure to swap tuners From: Avermedia Duet PCi-E To: HDHR Quatro snipeman Hardware Support 4 03-24-2018 07:16 PM
HDHR Quatro Performance vs. legacy HDHR texneus Hardware Support 10 01-15-2018 07:47 AM
sagetv 9 and HDHR Quatro... no channels irishattorney Hardware Support 19 11-22-2017 10:01 PM
2 HDHR - one for QAM, one for ATSC bialio Hardware Support 3 05-19-2008 01:17 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.