SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2020, 07:41 PM
ASegredo ASegredo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 134
Different power levels, Linux & Windows

I have an OTA antenna in the attic. It feeds a preamp in the basement (no way to easily get power in the attic. The preamp has two splitter outputs, one goes to the first floor and one to the second. The first floor output goes into a four way splitter that feeds two televisions, a Windows computer and a Linux computer. The upstairs output goes to a two way splitter feeding a television and a Linux computer. All the computers have HVR-1600 or 1800 PCI cards.
The Windows computer has an old Athlon 64 cpu DDR 2 memory and IDE hard drives. Running windows 7, no updates.
The downstairs Linux computer is a Ryzen 2700X 32G DDR4 memory. The upstairs computer has a Phenom II X6 and 8G of DDR-3(?) memory.
The weak Windows computer shows 100% signal strength on almost all channels and plays nicely in the client. Both Linux computers used to work well but now have between 20% and 60% signal strength mostly around 50%. 60% will play with stuttering and freezing. 50% won't display a picture in preview.

????? The oldest computer is the best? Why? And what steps should I take?
SageTV9, latest versions on all the computers from Stuckless' JFrog binary repo.
Linux computers used to play all right but after the last channel shakeup and power reduction, they have gradually deteriorated. But the old weak box still records fine and all the TV's play fine without artifacts.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2020, 11:06 AM
jpwegas jpwegas is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASegredo View Post
I have an OTA antenna in the attic. It feeds a preamp in the basement (no way to easily get power in the attic.
Sorry, no ideas why you are seeing this difference, but I did want to mention that there are amps that can use power injected into the COAX so you don't have to run a separate 120V line near the antenna.

The "Assembly Instructions" for this amp show how it works (see attached):

https://store.antennasdirect.com/JUICE.html

--John
Attached Images
File Type: png amp.example.png (116.1 KB, 9 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2020, 02:38 PM
ASegredo ASegredo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 134
I do have a clearsteam antenna! Thanks for the link. It should help noise figure anyway.

My big puzzle here was the difference between Sage9 for windows and Sage9 for Linux on what should be the same input with substantially the same cards.
I bought a new HVR-1800 (PCIe) and I'll see if that makes any difference. Also, I'll try swapping taps on the splitter. (One Linux box is on the same splitter as the windows box)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2020, 02:57 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,290
Maybe thereís a difference in the drivers between Linux and Windows. Are the Linux drivers up to date?
__________________
Windows Installer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-08-2020, 03:43 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,895
Ever consider HDHomeRun tuners? I think they make more sense as they are network devices and can easily be shared across multiple PCs running SageTV. If you ever could get power (and ethernet) in your attic you could also put the HDHR tuner in your attic and run an ethernet cable to your main network switch.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-08-2020, 09:16 PM
ASegredo ASegredo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Are the Linux drivers up to date?
I think so. Sage 9.2.2.268, kernel 5.4.66

Windows Sage 9.2.1.826
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-08-2020, 09:19 PM
ASegredo ASegredo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Ever consider HDHomeRun tuners?
Several years ago in the sage 7 days. It never did work and I wound up giving it away. When I say "Didn't work", I mean with windows. I didn't have sageTV for Linux until v9
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-09-2020, 12:21 PM
ASegredo ASegredo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 134
I removed the splitter between upstairs and downstairs leaving upstairs disconnected. This should have doubled downstairs power but Linux signal strength was unchanged at 56% to 58% jut on the verge of stalling.
I replaced the PCT amplifier with a motorola. No change.

Next step, replacing the TV card. However, I suspect that it might be a problem with these latest kernels. I'll boot the oldest I have and see if it helps.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-09-2020, 12:48 PM
ASegredo ASegredo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 134
VERY interesting.
Video played fine with kernel 4.14.194
There is no sound but I switched to a Turtle Beach card last year and support isn't turned on in that kernel.
Kernel 4.17.9 has video stalls and of course no sound.

So, it doesn't seem to be a signal strength problem at all, but rather a driver problem.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-09-2020, 02:21 PM
ASegredo ASegredo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 134
Found this at https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Hauppauge_HVR-1600

"Drivers included in recent kernels may contain a bug which causes stuttering in TV playback. "

besides the standalone Box and USB boxes, does anyone have a recommendation for a PCI-e card?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-09-2020, 04:38 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,895
Did you try swapping cables between the Windows and Linux boxes to ensure that it isn't a bad cable?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-09-2020, 08:58 PM
ASegredo ASegredo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 134
Not yet but removing the two way splitter had no effect.

I found that mplayer is taking 30% of a 2700X. That's a lot of horsepower.

I also recorded a program and played it back with xine. it was perfect.

I will try the other hardware swaps but don't have much hope fpr them when the earlier kernel had no problem. I compared the drivers with "meld" but lthough there were many changes they seemed innocuos. Things like removing spaces that occur before a tab and changing " if <somevariable> != NULL" to " if !<somevariable>"
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-12-2020, 08:54 AM
jpwegas jpwegas is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASegredo View Post
Found this at https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Hauppauge_HVR-1600

"Drivers included in recent kernels may contain a bug which causes stuttering in TV playback. "

besides the standalone Box and USB boxes, does anyone have a recommendation for a PCI-e card?
That page has not changed since 2011 so that statement is likely not referring to recent 4.x kernels.

--John
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-12-2020, 12:04 PM
ASegredo ASegredo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 134
I replaced the PCI HVR-1600 with a PCie HVR-1800 last night and all artifacts are gone. may have been a bad card. However, I still have freezing video on live play with audio smooth as silk. mplayer playback of recorded video is perfect, both with the bundled mplayer and the system mplayer. I'm thinking it's caused by insufficient buffering. Strange that it would occur on the more powerful 2700X/32G RAM instead of on the Phenom II X6/8G RAM.

I see very old forum posts going back to sage 3 and sage 5 about this but not more recently.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux or Windows? chairmanmao SageTV Github Development 10 03-10-2016 10:11 PM
V6.3.6 RC for Windows & Linux Narflex SageTV Beta Test Software 1 01-04-2008 11:20 PM
Linux or Windows? Which to buy? Joe Bloggins SageTV Linux 7 11-16-2007 08:59 PM
Windows --> Linux ChePazzo SageTV Linux 1 10-31-2006 09:15 AM
SageTV Media Center for Linux to power VWB's MediaREADY 5000 dkardatzke Announcements 0 08-12-2005 07:43 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.