SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2005, 07:36 PM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
Minimum CPU requirement for MVP?

I'm thinking about picking up an MVP for the bedroom TV and running it off my SageServer. The problem is the server is very old and slow and I'm curious as to how much power is required to run the MVP and still have acceptable response time.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2005, 09:33 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Don't worry about it
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-14-2005, 09:42 PM
flavius flavius is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,257
Doesn't the MVP use the VNC protocol? That must be inherently slow. However, it may work for you - as it does for many other users. I think, it's a decent piece of hardware. In the end, I felt that my old server, a P3 933, wasn't up to it.

Last edited by flavius; 12-14-2005 at 09:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2005, 10:34 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Patience.....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2005, 10:36 PM
flavius flavius is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,257
Isn't that a french game? I prefer poker.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-15-2005, 12:17 AM
Jason's Avatar
Jason Jason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89
Patience.....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-15-2005, 03:53 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89
Patience.....
http://forums.sage.tv/forums/showthread.php?t=14703

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-15-2005, 04:11 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,360
Unlike the old way with MVP software you needed lot of memory but new way you don't have worry about any more so you system be more speed so go for new SageTV 4.1 with build in.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-15-2005, 04:22 PM
IKK's Avatar
IKK IKK is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 193
Will the MVP extender for Sage play HD content on SD tv or do you still need to record to diffrent versions of the same show.
__________________
Windows XP, Asus A7N8X Deluxe, 2.1 ghz AMD, ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, 512 MB Ram, 680Gig HD, 2 pv2 250, 2 media MVP's
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-15-2005, 04:30 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,360
It been said min, min time before the Hauppauge MediaMVP dosen't support HD content only SD content.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-15-2005, 04:48 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,596
And guess what? You can check out what the MVP does on the last 2 pages of the new v4.1 PDF manual. (You can check it out before installing v4.1 by simply downloading the PDF.)

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-15-2005, 05:41 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by flavius
Doesn't the MVP use the VNC protocol? That must be inherently slow. However, it may work for you - as it does for many other users. I think, it's a decent piece of hardware. In the end, I felt that my old server, a P3 933, wasn't up to it.
The MVP software from Hauppauge and the plugin from Matt both use a variation of the VNC protocol.

However.....the built-in SageTV Media Extender support uses our own protocol which sends the raw drawing commands to the device so the UI is rendered natively on the MVP. This is MUCH faster than how the VNC-type version works. This also significantly reduces server load as well so a large number of extenders can be supported by a single server (don't know the max yet, but calculations put it at about 20 for a 3.0GHz server...essentially you'll run out of network bandwidth first).

I was very happy with how well our media extender performance turned out. I ended up replacing the 1GHz VIA PC in my living room with a SageTV Media Extender (MVP) because the extender runs faster, looks better and makes zero noise. Oh yeah....it costs about 5 times less than that PC as well.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-15-2005, 05:59 PM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
Cool!!!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-15-2005, 08:30 PM
dagar dagar is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 667
Sounds nice guys

I think we still owe props to Matt for his dedication and great tool
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-15-2005, 08:52 PM
flavius flavius is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex
....the built-in SageTV Media Extender support uses our own protocol which sends the raw drawing commands to the device so the UI is rendered natively on the MVP. .Oh yeah....it costs about 5 times less than that PC as well.
Goodjob, indeed! And I gave my two units away ..
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-15-2005, 09:25 PM
BryanJ BryanJ is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 22
So what we have here is hardware decoded video with the Sage UI? I would expect that this would be a better solution than the 350 (eof bugs) or the Xcard (with the xcard plugin) if one is seeking hardware decoding.. Bryan J
__________________
SageTV V.2.2.8, Win XP Home SP2, AMD Athlon XP 3200+, 512MB RAM PC3200, Hauppauge PVR-250 (2 ea), ATI Radeon 9550 256 MB, USB-UIRT, 300 GB 7200 HDD, CD/DVD RW, ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe MBD (nVidia chipset), Silverstone Case & PSU
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-16-2005, 06:23 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,360
As for better solution than the 350 or the Xcard well not really but this dose make a cheap way for build up Thin Client.
Key thing miss HD support, Other Media Video Format DivX, QT, Other Audio Format AC3, AAC just name few which has to with hardware it that dosn'te support thoses thing.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.