SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2005, 10:18 AM
TripleTapper TripleTapper is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 69
Quick setup Question

I don't have one yet, but will soon!

Anyways when I get the Sagetv Media Extender, do I enable the server checkbox in my Sagetv software? Also should I run the sagetv service on my server as well? Finally, does anyone have the link of the usermanual for the Media Extender. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2005, 11:31 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by TripleTapper
Anyways when I get the Sagetv Media Extender, do I enable the server checkbox in my Sagetv software? ... Finally, does anyone have the link of the usermanual for the Media Extender.
Everything is in the v4.1 SageTV manual found in your SageTV directory. If you haven't installed it yet, you can download it from the same place as the trial software. (or my sig lines)

As covered in Appendix M of the manual: to "Enable Media Extender Server", you'll have to enable the SageTV Server option in Detailed Setup -> Advanced. Please follow that link in the PDF manual to read the details.

Quote:
Also should I run the sagetv service on my server as well?
That part is optional, but I like using service mode since it disconnects the recording part of the core from the UI that gets shown on-screen. If the UI has a problem & dies, the service keeps going.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2005, 11:34 AM
TripleTapper TripleTapper is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 69
Thanks Opus for the quick response. Just another quicky...does the service take up a ton of resources? I use my SageTV server as my main PC as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2005, 11:44 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by TripleTapper
does the service take up a ton of resources? I use my SageTV server as my main PC as well.
The service + UI probably use more than non-service mode, but you can always close the UI when the service is running w/o affecting recordings.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.