SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:50 AM
jptaz's Avatar
jptaz jptaz is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Detroit Michigan
Posts: 991
Issues / Questions about MediaMVP Support

Hi all,

I have been happily using Matts plugin for over a year. I have noticed a few things I definitely do not like about the SageTV implementation of the MediaMVP.

1. It requires a DHCP server. I have one in my router, but I just prefer not to have to use it.

2. When I hit the power button on the MediaMVP remote it does not actually turn off the MediaMVP. This would not be such a big deal if it were not for the red LED on the front of the MediaMVP. I have these in bed rooms and to have shiny glowing red LED always on is annoying and I really do not want to use the electrical tape solution.

3. I may not purchase the licenses for my 2 MediaMVPs because of the crazy new policy Frey has put in place for at least the MediaMVP trial. I am ok with them displaying trial in the menus with the message to go to the sagetv website to purchase the license, but to have trial displayed on top of the video during playback is a complete joke and impedes my ability to actually evaulate the product. I have always thought Frey was great because the trial period on the software was not intrusive and obnoxious as with other products and if this is a sign of the times I take real issue with it.

Also on a side note does anyone know where the remote key mappings are stored for the mediamvps?

Thanks,
John
__________________
SageTV 6.6, 100Mb LAN
Living Room: WinXP Pro SP2, AMD XP3200+, 1GB, 1.3TB 3ware 9500S12 RAID5, GigaByte GA7N400Pro2, 2xVBOX USB2 HD Tuner<-Antennna, 1xHDHR<-Antennna , HD100 to HDMI Splitter 1080i->32" 4:3 HDTV or 1080i->92" 1080P LCD Projector
Kitchen: WinXP Home SP2, Celeron 2.0Ghz, 512MB, 40GB, Saphire ATI MB, ATI9200->19"LCD
2 BedRooms: MediaMVP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:57 AM
JUC's Avatar
JUC JUC is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vermont, USA
Posts: 1,399
are you serious? I plan on upgrading today and using the MVP support--but if 'Trial' is displayed over the video playback--that is just rediculous! I plan on faxing in my affidavid today so hopefully they will be quick on getting me the key.
JUC

-i guess i may not upgrade until i get my key
__________________
Server: Athlon 2000XP; 1GB Kingston Ram; 250GB Seagate; 160GB Seagate; 160GB Western Digital; Lite-on DVD player; Hauppauge Rosyln; Hauppauge PVR-150; ATI AIW 7500; Actisys 200L; running stock v5 .stv


Client: MVP Extender running SageMC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-16-2005, 09:30 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by jptaz
Hi all,

I have been happily using Matts plugin for over a year. I have noticed a few things I definitely do not like about the SageTV implementation of the MediaMVP.

1. It requires a DHCP server. I have one in my router, but I just prefer not to have to use it.

2. When I hit the power button on the MediaMVP remote it does not actually turn off the MediaMVP. This would not be such a big deal if it were not for the red LED on the front of the MediaMVP. I have these in bed rooms and to have shiny glowing red LED always on is annoying and I really do not want to use the electrical tape solution.

3. I may not purchase the licenses for my 2 MediaMVPs because of the crazy new policy Frey has put in place for at least the MediaMVP trial. I am ok with them displaying trial in the menus with the message to go to the sagetv website to purchase the license, but to have trial displayed on top of the video during playback is a complete joke and impedes my ability to actually evaulate the product. I have always thought Frey was great because the trial period on the software was not intrusive and obnoxious as with other products and if this is a sign of the times I take real issue with it.

Also on a side note does anyone know where the remote key mappings are stored for the mediamvps?

Thanks,
John
I have the same complaint as you do for number 2. I have a Harmony remote and was disappointed that neither that nor the original MVP remote would power off the off.

Can't you just link the remote to the Sage instance running on the MVP in Detailed setup?

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.