SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2005, 12:49 PM
bobvoeh bobvoeh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lake Worth, FL
Posts: 48
MVP Client License Question

I currently have Sage TV 4.0 and Sage TV Client 4.0 installed on my pc. The Sage TV Client is exclusively for the 2 MVP's I have in my house. I'm using Matt's MVP Client for Sage. With this setup, I only need one Sage TV Client License to run both MVP's. From what I have been reading, in order to run 2 MVP's with the Sage Extender Client, I will need 2 licenses just for the MVP's. Is this correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-16-2005, 12:53 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,596
Yes; see Using the Hauppauge MediaMVP with SageTV v4.1.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-16-2005, 12:53 PM
bobvoeh bobvoeh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lake Worth, FL
Posts: 48
Why the change in licensing?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2005, 12:58 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,596
What change in licensing? Each SageTV Client has always needed a license. It was just possible to get around that previously, since Matt's plugin connected to an existing client.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2005, 01:49 PM
bobvoeh bobvoeh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lake Worth, FL
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4
What change in licensing? Each SageTV Client has always needed a license. It was just possible to get around that previously, since Matt's plugin connected to an existing client.

- Andy
Ahh, understood. I just got so used to just having 2 copies of the client on the pc. Thanks for the clarification.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.