SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v9 Customizations > Phoenix 3.0

Notices

Phoenix 3.0 This forum is for discussing the user-created Phoenix 3.0 custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #101  
Old 11-15-2016, 02:23 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
I guess a log from after removing the SageTVPluginsDev.xml file would be good.

What is the main issue you are seeing?
Media scanning isn't picking up new media and is only lasting about a second before stopping.
Attached Files
File Type: zip sagetv_0.zip (135.1 KB, 62 views)
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 11-15-2016, 03:10 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Is this new imported media? Like stuff that you've ripped to MKV or something recently?

(As opposed to new recordings)
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 11-15-2016, 03:16 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
I'm no linux guru. But in the log it looks like something is going through this path :

Code:
/var/media/external/*
and trying to mount every directory it finds there

Code:
Tue 11/15 14:21:56.047 [HotplugStorage@3e058b] Setup dir for external device mount: /var/media/external/sdc1
Tue 11/15 14:21:56.047 [HotplugStorage@3e058b] Executing process: [sh, -c, mount  | grep -i "/var/media/external/sdc1 type"]
Tue 11/15 14:21:56.047 [HotplugStorage@3e058b] Started process object: java.lang.UNIXProcess@b16ce3e
Tue 11/15 14:21:56.050 [HotplugStorage@3e058b] Executing process: [mount, /dev/sdc1, /var/media/external/sdc1, -o, noatime]
Tue 11/15 14:21:56.051 [HotplugStorage@3e058b] Started process object: java.lang.UNIXProcess@f37490b
Tue 11/15 14:21:56.051 [ErrorStreamConsumer@32e5d284] STDERR:java.lang.UNIXProcess@f37490b: mount: only root can use "--options" option
Tue 11/15 14:21:56.052 [HotplugStorage@3e058b] Executing process: [mount, /dev/sdc1, /var/media/external/sdc1]
Tue 11/15 14:21:56.052 [HotplugStorage@3e058b] Started process object: java.lang.UNIXProcess@4a429bd
Tue 11/15 14:21:56.053 [ErrorStreamConsumer@6a774325] STDERR:java.lang.UNIXProcess@4a429bd: mount: only root can do that
Tue 11/15 14:21:56.053 [HotplugStorage@3e058b] Failed mounting
and evidently failing because of not being root.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 11-15-2016, 03:16 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
So given that - what is the path to the new media files that you are adding?
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 11-15-2016, 04:42 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
So given that - what is the path to the new media files that you are adding?
It is a different path than that. Those have been there since I started using the unraid docker. I'm not sure why or what they are for though.

My path is /var/mediaext/tv shows

That is where all the stuff from play later records to as well as downloaded mkv files. They were showing up without issue, but just suddenly stopped.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 11-15-2016, 05:15 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
I don't see anything obviously wrong in the log. There are 5 files that seem to give the LibraryImporter fits :

Code:
/var/recorded_tv_1/Nashville-S02E14-TooFarGone-14885336-0.mpg
/var/recorded_tv_1/TheOriginals-S03E17-21139343-0.ts
/var/recorded_tv_2/Gotham-S01E17-RedHood-17954420-0.mpg 
/var/recorded_tv_4/Hannibal-TheWrathoftheLamb-19609123-0.mpg
/var/recorded_tv_4/TheOriginals-AshestoAshes-18786100-0.mpg
It has errors on them every time. But I can't say that's what's causing the normal library scan to fail...
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 11-15-2016, 07:03 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
It is a different path than that. Those have been there since I started using the unraid docker. I'm not sure why or what they are for though.

My path is /var/mediaext/tv shows

That is where all the stuff from play later records to as well as downloaded mkv files. They were showing up without issue, but just suddenly stopped.
My guess is this is related to the plugin load npe failure stuckless is looking in to that also causes issues with scheduledrecording events not firing. Perhaps depending on how many plugins you load the failure happens at different times causing different events to be missed.

Stuckless mentioned he had metadata lookups not run as well so these may be related to the same issue.

Or not... its just a guess.

k
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 11-15-2016, 09:41 PM
CollegeProject CollegeProject is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post

Or not... its just a guess.

k
That's my thought or "guess" as well. I wouldn't go nuking your entire system just yet until this is further figured out. I would say the two are related. I am wondering if it's core related. If anyone can track it down will be Stuckless.
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 11-16-2016, 09:47 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by CollegeProject View Post
That's my thought or "guess" as well. I wouldn't go nuking your entire system just yet until this is further figured out. I would say the two are related. I am wondering if it's core related. If anyone can track it down will be Stuckless.
Yeah, I'm holding off doing anything until then.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 11-17-2016, 11:49 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
I did a little more digging and it isn't that sage isn't picking up the video, it's that it isn't getting metadata. Even if I manually search it still isn't showing up in any of my views.

Very odd.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 11-17-2016, 12:26 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,641
So, I ended up having to stop using Phoenix 3 UI

I added SageTV event logging, and when Phoenix 3 is loaded, other than a "client connected" I never see any other events.

Gemstone, which also uses phoenix core/apis, does get the events.

I'm hoping to troubleshoot this more on the weekend, but for this week, I'm back into Gemstone.

There has to be something in the combination of Phoenix UI + Phoenix APIs that is causing sagetv to stop processing events.
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 11-17-2016, 01:14 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Seems like it has to be something in how the Plugin is packaged - have you tried P2 to see if all that stuff still works? I'll look at the Plugin Manifests when I get home and see if anything jumps out at me...
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 11-17-2016, 02:00 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
Seems like it has to be something in how the Plugin is packaged - have you tried P2 to see if all that stuff still works? I'll look at the Plugin Manifests when I get home and see if anything jumps out at me...
I ran P2 for years and I never had an issue... I haven't tried P2 lately, but I know for sure I never had issues in the past.

My guesses so far is...

1. SageTV is eating the events and not passing them along because of the STV name (but again, P2 used a different STV name and it worked, and I looked at the sagetv code, I can't find anything in there to suggest that sagetv cares about the stv name)

2. I asked you to add the Refresh VFS and Refresh Menus... I'm wondering if that is causing some sort of hiccup in the ApplicationStarted Hook and somehow Phoenix core is doing something that is causing core to misbehave.

I've reviewed the event code in core, when P3 is loaded, I don't see core attempting to send events. In sagetv, if you set the property
Code:
debug_core_events=true
Then you will see a message like "Core is about to process ...." for every event that sagetv processes. When P3 is enabled, I see this for Client Connected, and then nothing.

I've looked at the <Hook> lines in the STV to see if Maybe there was something there... but ApplicationStarted is really the only thing that I can see that "might" cause something, but even then it's just reloading menus, vfs, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 11-17-2016, 02:31 PM
CollegeProject CollegeProject is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post

I've looked at the <Hook> lines in the STV to see if Maybe there was something there... but ApplicationStarted is really the only thing that I can see that "might" cause something, but even then it's just reloading menus, vfs, etc.
Just for reference I have refreshed VFS views in the STV and didn't see any issues.
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 11-17-2016, 02:37 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
1. SageTV is eating the events and not passing them along because of the STV name (but again, P2 used a different STV name and it worked, and I looked at the sagetv code, I can't find anything in there to suggest that sagetv cares about the stv name)
I think it is NOT this.... Gemstone 2 now uses an STVName="Gemstone" rather than Gemstone 1 which mimiced the STVName="SageTV7".

I just tested Gemstone 2 with the debug_core_events=true and Gemstone 2 is processing events to phoenix...

Code:
Core is about to process the event ImportingCompleted vars={FullReindex=false}
Core sending event ImportingCompleted to sagex.phoenix.plugin.PhoenixPlugin@d9a9bd vars={FullReindex=false}
DONE Core sending event ImportingCompleted to sagex.phoenix.plugin.PhoenixPlugin@d9a9bd
Seeker has finished the library import scan.
It's a shame you had to go back to Gemstone but I will dig and see if I can see other differences between Gemstone 2 and P3 to see if we can see why this is occuring.

k
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 11-17-2016, 03:23 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
It's a shame you had to go back to Gemstone but I will dig and see if I can see other differences between Gemstone 2 and P3 to see if we can see why this is occuring.
k
Gemstone is great too... but I was enjoying the "leaness" of Phoenix UI
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 11-17-2016, 04:11 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,199
I found the culprit.

In the ApplicationStarted hook, the call to....

phoenix_config_ReloadConfiguration()

...is breaking the event handling. If I remove that call then P3 properly handles the LibraryScan events and passes them to phoenix.

I have not looked any further into WHY that call is causing this but it is very repeatable and I am sure stuckless can dig into that call better than I.

Hope this helps get this resolved.

k
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 11-17-2016, 07:46 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
I found the culprit.

In the ApplicationStarted hook, the call to....

phoenix_config_ReloadConfiguration()

...is breaking the event handling. If I remove that call then P3 properly handles the LibraryScan events and passes them to phoenix.

I have not looked any further into WHY that call is causing this but it is very repeatable and I am sure stuckless can dig into that call better than I.

Hope this helps get this resolved.

k
So I found a deadlock issue in the SageTV core event manager that Phoenix is triggering when this API is called

I should have a fix in the sagetv core fairly soon.
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 11-18-2016, 01:46 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
So I found a deadlock issue in the SageTV core event manager that Phoenix is triggering when this API is called

I should have a fix in the sagetv core fairly soon.
Great news. Thanks for all the hard work guys.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 11-18-2016, 08:20 AM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
So I found a deadlock issue in the SageTV core event manager that Phoenix is triggering when this API is called

I should have a fix in the sagetv core fairly soon.
Thanks for tracking it down stuck-joken. I was going to look for it this morning before heading into work - glad I checked the forums first!

I can remove that line from the STV if you need me to stuckless...

btl.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beta 7 UI Feedback Asmordean SageTV Beta Test Software 10 06-12-2010 06:28 PM
quick feedback on today's beta cat6man SageTV Beta Test Software 3 03-17-2009 02:51 PM
jittering after testing new beta briefly Teg SageTV Software 2 11-14-2004 09:01 AM
Beta .11 feedback drbenson SageTV Beta Test Software 42 02-02-2004 10:01 AM
Second Beta feedback jominor SageTV Beta Test Software 9 01-30-2004 01:59 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.