SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2011, 08:49 AM
jredwine2857 jredwine2857 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
New Sage Server - Upgrading to HD

Ok so I am once again pouring over the forums in order to setup my new Sage 7 Media Center PC. I have an older box running Sage 7 with 2 Direct TV boxes with serial/USB channel tuning and it works great.

Looking to upgrade to HD now, but I really would like to stick with USB/Serial tuning as it just works flawlessly.

It seems in recent years that IR Blaster has become the standard.

Back in 2005 when I setup they're were some places you could buy these adapters. Does anyone know if they have some updated versions of these that are working with the newer HD boxes from Direct TV and other vairous cable boxes. (i.e. Motorola seems to be the new favorite for our cable company locally. i.e. Insight)

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2011, 10:00 AM
jredwine2857 jredwine2857 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
well a little more research has netted some more info. Looks like some of the Direct TV boxes can use ethernet to change the channel.

It also looks like the Patterson serial/USB devices can tune channels still. Not sure if it works on the latest boxes, I did see one post saying a fella couldnt get the patterson devices to work on the H24 which is the latest digital Direct TV box.

Anyone know what Direct TV is using for just std HD boxes these days? Is it the H24? Is ethernet the best way or has anyone had luck with the Patterson devices using USB?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2011, 01:41 PM
Beefcake550 Beefcake550 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 706
I have 2 DTV boxes as well. One H21 and one H24. The H21 worked great with serial tuning after getting a USB<->serial adapter. I got the H24 the same day the ethernet tuning was available and I have both boxes working that way now. Will never look back at the USB/serial tuning even thoug I NEVER had a problem with it. The ethernet tuning is a little faster and just cleaner since I have less wires now hooked up to the server.

To get the HD feeds into the computer, you can choose between the Colossuss or HD-PVR those are the only two ways. It might be worth trying out the colossuss since it can supposedly take in HDMI from the DTV boxes under certain conditions (not sure what those are)

I personally have 2 HD-PVRs and would consider "upgrading" to Colossuss boards, but if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2011, 01:43 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by jredwine2857 View Post
Anyone know what Direct TV is using for just std HD boxes these days? Is it the H24? Is ethernet the best way or has anyone had luck with the Patterson devices using USB?
When I ordered a new HD box a few weeks ago, they sent me a refurbed H21. Works great with HTTP tuning, so I haven't bothered to try any other tuning method.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2011, 08:30 PM
jredwine2857 jredwine2857 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
Thanks fellas good to know the ethernet works so well.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Server? PeteCress Hardware Support 12 08-31-2010 04:04 PM
Choppy video since upgrading to Vista on the server & new hardware Destro SageTV Software 0 04-07-2009 09:08 PM
Upgrading Server and Extender: Basic questions VikingCrown SageTV Beta Test Software 7 08-08-2008 12:04 PM
Upgrading Sage Server toricred SageTV Software 2 11-03-2007 05:42 PM
Upgrading Sage - question re: Cayars/Sage cclayton SageTV Customizations 3 02-01-2005 01:11 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.