SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #501  
Old 09-12-2012, 09:21 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by vipul19 View Post
1. Is there a way to name the clients. I only see them as Mac addresses or ip addresses.
Sure, you do that through the SageTCPServer plugin configuration. If it doesn't work, it's possible to shutdown SageTV and edit the Sage.properties, you will find lines similar to:

sagex/uicontexts/00085c53a2e4/name=myHD100

Quote:
2. The remote status says nothing is playing even when I am playing a video.
As long as you have it selected, you should see it...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #502  
Old 09-12-2012, 10:29 PM
vipul19 vipul19 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 38
It's all working - thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #503  
Old 09-12-2012, 11:01 PM
vipul19 vipul19 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 38
It's all working - thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #504  
Old 09-21-2012, 03:59 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Version 1.57

- Switched to GCDAsyncSocket. (TCP handling)
- Modified some UI screens and updates.
- Modified the Core Data handling. (Database)
- Removed the auto-sync of the Media Center.
- Brought back the resync button.
- [iPad] Tweaked the web browser.
- Fix: No longer crash if no email client has been set for the Feedback on iPad.
- Fix: No longer have a black screen after the Feedback on iPad.
- Added the position to the Status.


This is likely the last version to work on iOS 4.x, so if you have an iPhone 3G or iPod 2nd generation, you probably want to make sure to back it up in iTunes, as iTunes is likely to throw it away and download a version that won't install on your device, should you do a restore...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #505  
Old 09-22-2012, 06:04 PM
cyberlewis cyberlewis is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Greenwood, IN USA
Posts: 38
Hi Fonceur,

Well, the Version 1.57 update is giving me fits. I have been using this app for as long as it's been available and have never had any problems with it. Unfortunately, after the latest update, the app is crashing just after launch approximately 2 out of 3 times, and when it isn't crashing, the connection status icons seem to be out of sync and the label at the top of the remote takes 8-10 seconds to display and sometimes does not display at all. Then, when I switch to the status view, it's crashing again 2 out of 3 times to the point where I haven't really been able to use the app at all today. I am seeing the same behavior with 2 iPhones (a 3GS and 4S) and an iPad 2, all running iOS 6. I do like the additions of the refresh button for the media library and the progress bar in the status screen, but it seems the other changes have made the app unstable in my environment. Any thoughts? I would be glad to do any tests/troubleshooting that you can suggest.

Thank you,
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #506  
Old 09-23-2012, 08:32 AM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberlewis View Post
Well, the Version 1.57 update is giving me fits.
Sorry about that. What started up as a simple upgrade of the communication layer, ended requiring a major over-haul so the rest could keep up with the faster processing...

Quote:
the connection status icons seem to be out of sync and the label at the top of the remote takes 8-10 seconds to display and sometimes does not display at all.
Right, some things are now being executed from a background thread, which needs special handling to update the display, so apparently I missed some of those.

Quote:
Then, when I switch to the status view, it's crashing again 2 out of 3 times to the point where I haven't really been able to use the app at all today.
Try going to Information --> About and hitting the "Wipe TiSageTV's database". Then go to Media Center and update the Albums/Photos/Videos.

Quote:
I would be glad to do any tests/troubleshooting that you can suggest.
Send me a PM with an email where I can reach you, or do it through the Feedback section in Information, we can set you up as a beta tester to solve things up faster.

EDIT: The Stream button disappeared on iPod/iPhone, so you might want to wait if you use it...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad

Last edited by Fonceur; 09-23-2012 at 10:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #507  
Old 09-23-2012, 08:41 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
So should we avoid updating for now?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #508  
Old 09-23-2012, 10:11 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
So should we avoid updating for now?
Yes it's probably better to skip this version and wait for 1.58 next week...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #509  
Old 09-26-2012, 03:47 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Version 1.58

- Fix: Status tab could crash if nothing was playing.
- Fix: Title bar was not updating in some situations.
- [iPad] The slider/position is now initially hidden.
- Fix: The Streaming was disabled on iPod/iPhone.


There are still some unresolved issues, but that should take care of the worse...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #510  
Old 10-12-2012, 08:51 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,122
1.58

can anyone confirm that 1.58 is safe to install on an iPad. 1.57 seemed to be problematic, and I have to go out of town and would feel better knowing 1.58 was fully functional, Sage/iPad combo. I won't be able to deal with the server for a couple of weeks, so stability is key. 1.56 is fine for now I guess.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #511  
Old 10-12-2012, 10:49 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
can anyone confirm that 1.58 is safe to install on an iPad.
Probably safer to stay with 1.56, as 1.59 has already been submitted and fixes more issues...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #512  
Old 10-12-2012, 10:58 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonceur View Post
Probably safer to stay with 1.56, as 1.59 has already been submitted and fixes more issues...
thanks, I appreciate the honesty
I take it you'll post the 1.59 progress?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #513  
Old 10-12-2012, 11:01 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
I take it you'll post the 1.59 progress?
Of course, should be some time in the middle of next week.
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #514  
Old 10-17-2012, 03:37 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Version 1.59

- Fix: Some database operations would crash.
- Fix: Status was not updated on Client switch.


This should take care of the previous crashes... There are still some issues with the Status screen updates.
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #515  
Old 10-17-2012, 03:41 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
If we are still in 1.56 should we continue to stay there for now or are we better off going to 1.59?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #516  
Old 10-17-2012, 03:55 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
If we are still in 1.56 should we continue to stay there for now or are we better off going to 1.59?
From my tests and a beta tester, this one seems fine...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #517  
Old 10-17-2012, 05:31 PM
norburban norburban is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 26
Had initial issues & gave up

Hi, I purchased the full-blown $29 app and thought I configured everything as it should be. I got it working but then the SageTV server would start & stop every few minutes... so I put it back the way it was.

Any ideas what may have gone wrong? I can't afford to play around too much. I would appreciate an easy no-fuss installation guide, if anyone has one.

I have the latest SageTV running on XP, 2 HD-PVRs, 2 Digital Cable Boxes, and 2 HD200's.
Reply With Quote
  #518  
Old 10-17-2012, 05:40 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by norburban View Post
I got it working but then the SageTV server would start & stop every few minutes... so I put it back the way it was.
Enable the debugging for SageTV and the SageTCPServer plugin, then either check or zip/post your SageTV\SageTV\sagetv_*.txt log files.
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #519  
Old 10-17-2012, 05:48 PM
rileydogmi rileydogmi is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 51
The latest update is working great with iOS6 - thanks, it was crashing a lot before the latest update.

I just got fiber service installed to my house and I am able to stream my PVR content when I travel without any issues - it is really fast and great.

All my extenders and Sage equipment is at home - during the week I travel and I have an apartment for work - I would like to stream my iPhone video to the apartment TV - I suppose my option is an AV cable off my iPhone to the TV to mirror what is playing on the iPhone to the TV - but, I was thinking AirPlay to an Apple TV? So, the question is will the stream function on the app stream to Apple TV? Or, any other options? I wanted to check before I bought anything (I don't own an Apple TV, any Airplay device or an AV breakout cable yet).

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #520  
Old 10-17-2012, 06:18 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by rileydogmi View Post
I was thinking AirPlay to an Apple TV? So, the question is will the stream function on the app stream to Apple TV?
I did add a line to enable AirPlay, but I don't think anyone setup for it has reported seeing the extra icon to actually use it, so I must be missing something...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ios, ipad, iphone, ipod


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I would pay $30 for Placeshift for iPhone/iPad wayner General Discussion 127 06-16-2011 01:49 PM
Interest in SMM iphone/ipad app? PLUCKYHD Sage My Movies 25 03-08-2011 01:53 AM
iPhone or iPad remote control? iansilv Sage My Movies 12 11-17-2010 04:37 PM
MythTV + iPhone/iPad = Reason to switch! Khristopher General Discussion 21 11-09-2010 07:36 AM
Sagetv via iPhone/iPad thoughts/discussion 2002cbr600f4i Hardware Support 23 05-09-2010 01:19 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.