SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2019, 12:03 AM
orangerguy orangerguy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 5
Dying HD-PVR - Best Replacement?

My HD-PVR 1212 (49001 LF Rev 2) seems to be dying, and I am looking for advice on a replacement. Purchasing another 10-year old unit from eBay does not seem like a good long-term fix. Coincidentally, I am going to build a new multipurpose server, which will run Sage and be used for video editing.

HD-PVR Symptoms:
- Wavy video - vertical line looks like a snake. This occurred once a year ago, but resolved on its own a few days later
- More frequent lockups, like 3 per day instead of 1 per week.

Troubleshooting:
-Powered from Seasonic PSU for several years now after 3 failed power supplies. No reason to believe my +12V is dirty, but no lab gear to test.
-Swapped component cable and USB cable
-Video from HD-PVR component pass-through looks perfect. Maybe signal is weak and TV likes it but Hauppauge doesn't?
-Moved to different USB port, then different standalone USB PCI card
- Disassembled HD-PVR. Warm but not hot, no visible component or trace damage or cold solder joints.
- Removed and reinstalled Hauppauge drivers.

Replacement Options:
1. Gamble on eBay replacement HD-PVR
2. HD-PVR2
3. Colossus 2
4. HomeRun Prime. (Cox Tulsa has local NBC and CBS set to Copy Once CCI=0x02! https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/ima...onbanghead.gif Everything else is Copy Freely. I will probably need to use a TA adapter to make the Prime work in my area)

The SiliconDust multiple tuner is interesting, but we have only needed more than one tuner twice in 5 years.

I am leaning toward a Colossus 2 to avoid the Copy Control fight I would have with Cox to fix the local channels, and the mess where it takes 3 truck rolls to get a working Cable Card and TA.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2019, 05:58 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangerguy View Post
My HD-PVR 1212 (49001 LF Rev 2) seems to be dying, and I am looking for advice on a replacement. Purchasing another 10-year old unit from eBay does not seem like a good long-term fix. Coincidentally, I am going to build a new multipurpose server, which will run Sage and be used for video editing.

HD-PVR Symptoms:
- Wavy video - vertical line looks like a snake. This occurred once a year ago, but resolved on its own a few days later
- More frequent lockups, like 3 per day instead of 1 per week.

Troubleshooting:
-Powered from Seasonic PSU for several years now after 3 failed power supplies. No reason to believe my +12V is dirty, but no lab gear to test.
-Swapped component cable and USB cable
-Video from HD-PVR component pass-through looks perfect. Maybe signal is weak and TV likes it but Hauppauge doesn't?
-Moved to different USB port, then different standalone USB PCI card
- Disassembled HD-PVR. Warm but not hot, no visible component or trace damage or cold solder joints.
- Removed and reinstalled Hauppauge drivers.

Replacement Options:
1. Gamble on eBay replacement HD-PVR
2. HD-PVR2
3. Colossus 2
4. HomeRun Prime. (Cox Tulsa has local NBC and CBS set to Copy Once CCI=0x02! https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/ima...onbanghead.gif Everything else is Copy Freely. I will probably need to use a TA adapter to make the Prime work in my area)

The SiliconDust multiple tuner is interesting, but we have only needed more than one tuner twice in 5 years.

I am leaning toward a Colossus 2 to avoid the Copy Control fight I would have with Cox to fix the local channels, and the mess where it takes 3 truck rolls to get a working Cable Card and TA.

Thoughts?
Howdy neighbor I'm just up the road from you in Vinita, OK

If you getting frequent lockups, like 3 per day it has be the device it self is start to fail that if you all ready try a diff clean power supply on HD-PVR as there well know for crapping out some people here doing this power mod here and did you do case fan mod ?.
Both the HD-PVR 2 and Colossus 2 are same hardware so it doesn't really matter which one you get.
If you go with Cable Card as for your local NBC and CBS problem use reg antenna and PC Digital TV Tuner you just need decide on how tuner you want in this area it easy to get hold dual tuner model like HVR-2250 to 2255 or dualHD but need only 1 tuner look at HVR 1250, 1265, 1600 (PCI Only), 1800, 1850, 1950, 1955 and sure are more Hauppauge Digital TV Tuner model that are round that should work.

Last edited by SHS; 08-31-2019 at 06:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2019, 02:20 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
There is another options the BM-1000 or similar HDMI encoder. I believe this is similar and should also work: https://www.amazon.com/URayTech-Supp.../dp/B07CBMZ24P . These are also available on AliExpress from China. These devices typically ignoring any HDCP codes.

Check out the thread here: https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...ghlight=bm1000

The other advantage of this is that you can get 4K versions of this encoder that should help to future-proof you and would allow recording and playback of 4K content - assuming that you are using a PC to play back.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-31-2019, 03:27 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,636
I've actually had pretty good luck buying used 1212's on Ebay. I usually try to find one that looks well cared for in the photos, is probably a gamer so wasn't used much, and below $50. I've purchased (3) and (1) of them had an issue with the power button that I resolved by removing it.

... and I let the smoke out of one of them due to my own mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-03-2019, 07:59 AM
temp3 temp3 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: maine
Posts: 1
I have one that has been sitting in my closet since decommission of my mythtv box

It is your for the price of shipping, if you want it. Always worked for me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-15-2019, 12:08 PM
wbarber69's Avatar
wbarber69 wbarber69 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hammond, La.
Posts: 512
Send a message via ICQ to wbarber69 Send a message via AIM to wbarber69 Send a message via MSN to wbarber69 Send a message via Yahoo to wbarber69
ive bought 3 hdpvrs from ebay over the years, never had an issue with any of them. that said the hdpvr is incredibly robust and ive had some running 24/7 for over 15 years. the major issues with these guys is the power supply. follow the sticky in this forum for ideas about reliable power supplies. i used a meanwell 10a power supply that is now supplying power to 4 hdpvrs and since i did that i havent had a single one lock up or go offline or anything. i no longer have to restart my pc every night and i dont have to do the daily lockup check of my hdpvs anymore either. the wall warts that hauppauge supplies are fine for a little while, but they have a fatal flaw as well, thin wires. the hdpvrs like to draw every bit of their recommended power supplys capabilities. before trashing the old unit make sure it isnt a power issue. and if you do decide to go another route, dont throw the old unit away. I will take it!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-26-2020, 12:29 PM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 386
Oddly enough, I haven't replaced the power supply in mine. I had a failed recording, then I was having USB disconnect sounds. USB connector came loose in the case. I checked the voltage on the power brick under no load and it was 6v, no idea if the current was adequate. That USB connector would be devlishly hard to solder back on. Too bad really, otherwise it's a nice design.

I'm about ready to look for a Colossus, as there aren't any new HD-PVR2's available anywhere. The factory is shut down because of Covid-19.
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 MB, Ryzen 5 2600 3.4ghz, Crucial Ballistix Gaming 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD Black NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD120EFAX 12TB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 1x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, Colossus 2, WinTV-DualHD USB, Windows 11 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-26-2020, 02:02 PM
jpwegas jpwegas is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malfunction View Post
I'm about ready to look for a Colossus, as there aren't any new HD-PVR2's available anywhere. The factory is shut down because of Covid-19.
My impression is that they had been unavailable for a while now (may not be COVID-19 related). I had been searching for one late last year and had a really hard time finding one. Finally in early January I snapped up the last new one I could find anywhere (at a local MicroCenter).

There are usually some new ones available on eBay.

--John
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-26-2020, 02:35 PM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpwegas View Post
My impression is that they had been unavailable for a while now (may not be COVID-19 related). I had been searching for one late last year and had a really hard time finding one. Finally in early January I snapped up the last new one I could find anywhere (at a local MicroCenter).

There are usually some new ones available on eBay.

--John
They're getting scarce right now because the factory is shut down due to COVID-19. I believe before that they were having issues keeping up with their orders. One guy in Italy has a couple for $200 each.
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 MB, Ryzen 5 2600 3.4ghz, Crucial Ballistix Gaming 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD Black NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD120EFAX 12TB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 1x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, Colossus 2, WinTV-DualHD USB, Windows 11 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-26-2020, 05:16 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,636
I get my HDPVR2's on Ebay. I just make sure that it has the "optical" port on the back. I see that they've been selling for between $60 and $90.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-26-2020, 06:10 PM
Telecore's Avatar
Telecore Telecore is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 347
I have 3 HD-PVRs that I took out of service a while back when Frontier turned off all their DRM - I modified 2 to have a cooling fan on the top using the (usually) unused header for a fan on the PCB - 1 was a spare, and have 3 power supplies from MCM Electronics that are rated for an extra 0.5A over the original ones and are rock solid - willing to part with all of that for a low rate (I prefer to get rid of it all in 1 transaction) - send me a PM if you are interested. Have 3 sets of cables and 2 original boxes, I believe, (it's sitting in a box in my office at work where I can easily ship it via UPS ground). I'd prefer seeing it all go to another SageTV user. Just down the road from you in North TX.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_3733.jpg (670.6 KB, 115 views)
__________________
SageTV-V9(64bit): Win10/i3-4370/OpenDCT/HDHR-Quatro (OTA)
AndroidTV+Miniclient: Nvidia Shield(x3)/FireTV-4K(x8)
Channels-DVR:Win10/i3-4340/HDHR Quatro 4K/TVE(YTTV)

Last edited by Telecore; 04-27-2020 at 11:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-26-2020, 08:52 PM
jpwegas jpwegas is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malfunction View Post
They're getting scarce right now because the factory is shut down due to COVID-19. I believe before that they were having issues keeping up with their orders. One guy in Italy has a couple for $200 each.
New ones are more than scarce! I haven't seen a new one at any online retailer since early January. The way the inventory slowly disappeared everywhere since mid-October I assumed they had stopped producing them.

--John
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-26-2020, 10:36 PM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpwegas View Post
New ones are more than scarce! I haven't seen a new one at any online retailer since early January. The way the inventory slowly disappeared everywhere since mid-October I assumed they had stopped producing them.

--John
I put in an order for one and they emailed me to tell me their factory was closed. I think they've had trouble keeping up with the orders. Probably mostly gamers.
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 MB, Ryzen 5 2600 3.4ghz, Crucial Ballistix Gaming 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD Black NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD120EFAX 12TB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 1x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, Colossus 2, WinTV-DualHD USB, Windows 11 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-27-2020, 08:32 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
I get my HDPVR2's on Ebay. I just make sure that it has the "optical" port on the back. I see that they've been selling for between $60 and $90.
I have ONLY HDPVR 1ís, because I remember reading something about the 2nd version having problems of some kind? Maybe with 5.1 audio?
Do you have any limitations using the HDPVR 2?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-27-2020, 03:41 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
I have ONLY HDPVR 1’s, because I remember reading something about the 2nd version having problems of some kind? Maybe with 5.1 audio?
Do you have any limitations using the HDPVR 2?
Yes, sometimes when I attempt to watch LIVE tv I don't get audio (by selecting a program in the guide and selecting 'watch now'). The simple workaround is to select the live program from the guide, tell it to start recording, wait 15 seconds, and then start watching. The picture is a bit sharper with the HDPVR2's and the color is definitely better.

EDIT: and you have to make sure that you purchase the ones with the optical ports if you want 5.1 channel audio, and an HDMI splitter.

Last edited by KryptoNyte; 04-27-2020 at 04:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I think my colossus is dying. Ender Hardware Support 2 07-24-2015 09:09 PM
hvr1600 seems to be dying, best dual analog tuner replacement? sam99 Hardware Support 0 10-16-2013 01:26 PM
HD300 Dying? Skybolt Hardware Support 6 12-13-2012 09:25 AM
Is this community dying already? wayner General Discussion 146 07-14-2012 10:57 PM
Is my PVR-150 dying? gilded07 Hardware Support 6 04-30-2008 03:12 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.