SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2006, 10:51 PM
jredwine2857 jredwine2857 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
VOB Files skipping and repeating 3 times

Anyone else having issues with vob files skipping then repeating the previously played portion? It happens several times during playback. I am going to verify some more as it may just be the vob files, but I have not seen this issue before upgrading. As for now I have only seen it on my MVP's running Sage 6.0.16.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2006, 08:23 PM
jredwine2857 jredwine2857 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
I have found that polar express will skip and repeat three times in the same spot. (every time) This, however, does not happen when playing this movie from the the full sage client I have in my living room. It does not seem to happen on all other vob movies playing on the MVP's. (Some do, some don't)

It seems like when the vob files were created it may have come across some spots on the dvd that were hard to read and it may have copied over the same portion of the movies 3 times. Just a thoery at this point.

The unusual aprt is that if this were the case I would see this behavior on both the MVP and the sage client, but I am not. Does the full sage client process the vob files differently? Possibly it is smart enough to pick up on the fact it has already played this portion of the vob file and auto correct?

Anyone else seen this behavior?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2006, 11:01 PM
criccio criccio is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
I've actually experienced this as well. I've seen both cases you describe.
1. One video would consistently stutter, and would do it both via MVP as well as local client as well as via WinDVD in vob mode. Re-ripping the disc seemed to solve the problem here.
2. Other times i've seen it, the vob it happens with is random. Sometimes the movie plays through just fine, sometimes it has a point where it stutters. Sometimes just hitting pause, and then play again fixes it. sometimes not.

I've seen this fairly consistently in terms of it's not super hard to reproduce, but there isn't a set of steps to follow to get this.

if other folks know of extra debugging to enable to help figure this out, let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2006, 07:56 PM
jredwine2857 jredwine2857 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
Well a friend of mine just setup Sage 6 with an MVP and played the same movie I have from his MVP and guess what?? It skips and repeats 3 times in the very same locations!!! This tells me it is something with the MVP's.

Has anyone else seen this?

I have to imagine that if we are both seeing it at the same spot, in the same movie, using different physical dvd sources that this must be widespread.

Anyone???!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2006, 06:15 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Not neccessarily. I had this happen with a newer rip and had to change my decrypting program to get past the issue. If you're only checking the same movie and ripping it the same way with the same program it doen't have to be a widespread problem of the MVPs. All of my rips play fine.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2006, 04:47 PM
criccio criccio is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
The movies this is happening to me on don't exhibit the problem when played via the SageTV Client on an XP Pro machine, they only exhibit the problem when played via an MVP, so i'm not sure it's a problem with the rip.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2006, 05:40 PM
jredwine2857 jredwine2857 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
I am in the same boat. I have a dedicated Sage Server. (ie. I do not watch/play anything on this server, it is merely there to house files and serve up data to the clients)

On my Sage Client (XP Pro) The DVD will play just fine. On the MVP it repeats in the same spots everytime. Same deal for my buddy.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-30-2006, 05:48 PM
jredwine2857 jredwine2857 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
VOB files skip and repeat 3 times on MVP

I have a thread I started when 6 was still in BETA. But this is the more relevant forum now. * topics merged *

I run a dedicated Sage server (ie. It sits in my basement with no monitor hooked up to it.)

I have a Windows XP Pro box running Sage Client. All VOB's play fine on here.

On my MVP's certain rips will stop, go back, and repeat themselves three times.

I though maybe it was a bad rip, but it plays fine every time on the Sage Client.

My buddy has the same setup and we ripped the same DVD. (He used his copy and I used my copy of the DVD.) Guess what!!!?? His stopped, went back, and replayed the same spot 3 times....In exactly the same places as mine did.

Anyone else seeing this on the MVP's??
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-30-2006, 06:13 PM
jsutter55 jsutter55 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Might not be the same..

jredwine,

I actually had a somewhat similar problem. When I would try to play a ripped DVD it would repeat constantly so that all of my DVD's were unwatchable over my MVP, but they would play fine on the server or computer client.

I submitted a bug report and logfile to SageTV and they said it would be fixed in a subsequent version (this was during version 6BETA).

Three beta versions later, I was still having the same problem.

I couldn't find anyone that was having the same issue, so I looked around the net and found someone on the CDFreaks.com site that was having problems with their ripped DVD's as well.

It turns out that they didn't have the "check for updates" enabled on their ripping software so they were using an old version.

I checked my software and it turns out my updates were disabled as well. It was actually several versions out of date.

As soon as I updated my software, the problem was eliminated. Now I am re-ripping my collection with the updated version and everything is working like a charm.

Might not be your issue, but the "repeating" problem caught my eye.

Good luck, and I hope you find a solution to your problem.

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-30-2006, 07:19 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by jredwine2857
I am in the same boat. I have a dedicated Sage Server. (ie. I do not watch/play anything on this server, it is merely there to house files and serve up data to the clients)

On my Sage Client (XP Pro) The DVD will play just fine. On the MVP it repeats in the same spots everytime. Same deal for my buddy.
I saw this happen to me once back in the beta and by deleting the clients folder and letting it recreate itself and resetting up the MVP I did not see it again. Maybe it will work for you.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-01-2007, 04:49 PM
criccio criccio is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
I cleaned out my clients folder, restarted my mvp, went through the initial setup again, but i'm still seeing the same issues.

i do think that there is something special in the dvd's at that point that other players either ignore, or deal with correctly. In some of the DVDs exhibiting the behavior, the repeats are in different languages. For example, one disc doing this for me is Phantom Menace. The repeats occur during the opening crawl, and it cycles. First english, then spanish, then french, etc.

i'll try re-ripping the disc. I'm curious what software folks are using to do thier rips. I'm using DVDFabDecrypter 3.0.4 (which is just 0.0.1 version behind the latest)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-02-2007, 11:41 PM
criccio criccio is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
i did a re-rip with DVD Decrypter, and set the angle processing to always use angle 1, and now the situation is worse via the MVP, although still works ok via the sage client.

The MVP definitely seems to be treating these somehow differently
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-03-2007, 09:52 PM
jredwine2857 jredwine2857 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
I use dvd decrypter also. (Not sure if this really helps or not.)

I am still stumped as well.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-06-2007, 09:15 AM
criccio criccio is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
Since it seems the prevailing opinion of the community is that it's just a bad rip, i've spent the last few days creating various versions of the movie via different methods.

I've been through all the guides on videohelp.com, and went through lengths to update the dvd drive and drivers i'm using to do the rips.

The easiest repro for me was "The Matrix", specifically chp29 (lobby shooting spree). This always had the repeat 3 times problem, but again only via the MVP.

None of the latest versions of DVD Decrypter, DVDFab Decrypter, DVD Shrink produced a rip that didn't have this problem.

I ran the output through FixVTS, still same problem

I did find one method that did produce a working movie. Using DVD Shrink, i reauthored a DVD with only the movie as described here "Ripping the movie only" section. While workable, this is below the expectation of being able to have the full DVD.

The other interesting thing about this method, is that only one title stream is used, which seems to indicate that maybe the MVP's software has problems with the extra angles/titles on this rip

I'd love to hear from folks who have the full matrix dvd on the hdd, and are playing it through the mvp without problems
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-14-2007, 06:29 PM
jredwine2857 jredwine2857 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
Has anyone come to any resolve on this issue? Me and my friend both have the problem in the exact same spots on the exact same movie. It's definitely related to the MVP's as it works fine on the full sage client.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-19-2007, 04:49 PM
criccio criccio is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
I've been using 6.1 for a while now, and all of my hdd based DVD issues are fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-20-2007, 10:37 PM
jredwine2857 jredwine2857 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
Mine too!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.