SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2008, 07:55 PM
jredwine2857 jredwine2857 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
COM Ports

I just did some disabling of the com ports on my system board. Somehow my USB (SYBA) to serial adapters have gone from Com port 6 and 7 to 11 and 12after a reboot. I updated to 6.3.10 just now and I cannot for the life of me get SAGE to change my tuners' channel. I enabled debugging and this is what i have.

Mon 7/21 21:42:21.825 Seeker channel string=5
Mon 7/21 21:42:21.825 Could not open COM12
Mon 7/21 21:42:21.826 ERROR Cannot open serial port for DTV control: COM12
Mon 7/21 21:42:21.828 switchOutputFile0 called


Also DTVControl works and can control the receivers just fine. Also, noticed that the directvserialcontrol.dll is not in c:\program files\sagetv\common , but in c:\program files\sagetv\sagetv. Is this right?

Any help is GREATLY appreciated!

Thanks!

Last edited by jredwine2857; 07-21-2008 at 08:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2008, 09:23 PM
jredwine2857 jredwine2857 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
Fixed it...kind of

Ok I found out Sage apparently does not using ports com 11 and 12. I reloaded the drivers and they pulled up as com3 and com4. Now it works. Quirky!! (Although it's probably in the documentation somewhere!!! Who needs a manual anyway!!)

Whatever???!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-22-2008, 04:56 AM
Paul H Paul H is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 250
You've just discovered one of the many "undocumented features" that makes Windows such a quirky-fun filled OS!

Last edited by Paul H; 07-22-2008 at 04:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Feature on HD Extender USB Ports!!!!! mikejaner SageTV Media Extender 5 06-30-2008 11:37 AM
USB-UIRT's different ports... npereira Hardware Support 3 03-30-2008 08:21 AM
HD media extender USB ports covers bastafidli SageTV Media Extender 4 12-13-2007 02:47 PM
Open any ports for my media extender? jettman SageTV Media Extender 2 01-05-2006 08:04 PM
What ports need open for MediaMVP on 4.1? ke6guj SageTV Software 2 12-15-2005 06:36 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.