SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-28-2009, 08:50 AM
norburban norburban is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 26
What's the best way to play iTunes Library?

I've had SageTV running for about a week now and still have a lot to learn. What's the best add-on for iTunes Library & Playlist support?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-28-2009, 01:19 PM
PGPfan's Avatar
PGPfan PGPfan is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oldtown, Idaho USA
Posts: 862
I'm not sure there is a way via Sage. One of the major downsides to iTunes (or most things Apple) is the way that they lock down everything to maintain control of 'their' content. As such, I don't use iTunes so I'm no expert on it.

I think there is a company called "Double Twist" that makes software to 'free up' iTunes, but I have no idea how Sage would fit into all that.

-PGPfan
__________________
Sage Server: Gigabyte 690AMD m-ATX, Athlon II X4 620 Propus, 3.0 GB ram, (1) VistaView dual analog PCI-e tuner, (2) Avermedia Purity 3D MCE 250's, (1) HD-Homerun, 1.5 TB of hard drives in a Windows Home Server drive pool, Western Digital 300GB 'scratch' disk outside the pool, Gigabit LAN
Sage Clients: MSI DIVA m-ATX, 5.1 channel 100w/channel amplifier card, 2 GB ram, , (1) Hauppauge MVP, (1) SageTV HD-100 Media Storage: unRAID 3.6TB server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-29-2009, 06:49 AM
norburban norburban is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 26
There are several programs for various platforms that are able to play MP3s out of iTunes libraries and playlists. Galleon for TiVo is a good example. The plugin only needs to read the XML file that contains playlists and song library. Simplify Media taps into iTunes as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2009, 07:01 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
I export my iTunes playlists into SageTV. And them play the music from SageTV. It isn't integration with iTunes but it gets you mostly the same thing in the end.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-2009, 11:40 AM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
I converted my Music Library to all AAC m4a files with itunes awhile back. Most players will support this format and I have found it to work better in Sage and on all my different players. Sage reads the music library and the tag information just fine.

The xml playlist files are not compatiable with Sage but like Brent I create and maintain my playlists in iTunes and then convert them to m3u playlists. Sage and the Zune player will both read these without issue. The whole process is relatively painless.

When I used XBMC for music it had the ability for awhile to interact with iTunes but Apple shut it down. Apple does not like to play well with others. (Don't know why) I would not invest much time in something that they may elect to crush at some point. Just exporting the xml playlist is easy and works well. No need to do anything special with the library just map your itunes library with sage.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-31-2009, 06:55 AM
norburban norburban is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 26
Thanks for the tips! I'll give it a try this week.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-12-2010, 12:15 AM
Sparhawk6 Sparhawk6 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 323
Why is sage not seeing my playlists? I export my itunes playlist as a .m3u file, refresh my imported media, and the playlist doesn't show up anywhere in the playlist list. What am I missing?
__________________
Server: Gigabyte EP43-UD3L; Intel Core2Duo E5200; 4 GB DDR2 RAM; NVidia GeForce 9400GT; 6 tuners: Hauppauge HVR-1600 NTSC/ATSC/QAM combo, Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual Hybrid QAM, HD Homerun Prime (using SageDCT); 3.06TB total space: Seagate 160 GB, Maxtor 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 400GB, Hitachi 2 TB
Extender: HD200
Netgear MCAB1001 MoCA Coax-Ethernet Adapter Kit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-12-2010, 05:52 AM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
Sage can be picky about the structure of the m3u. It seems to want the path completely defined or it will not import it. Some exports do not do this.

I use:
http://www.ericdaugherty.com/dev/itunesexport/

One of the last options is to define the music folder prefix. I explicitly put in my music folder path.

Mine will look like:
#EXTM3U
#EXTINF:300,The Alarm - Knife Edge
\\KERRMAIN\Music\Music Library\The Alarm\Strength\01 Knife Edge.m4a
#EXTINF:166,The Alarm - Strength
\\KERRMAIN\Music\Music Library\The Alarm\Strength\02 Strength.m4a
#EXTINF:91,The Alarm - Absolute Reality

Also: Once Sage reads the playlist it will not continue to update it. You will need to delete it in Sage before it will update even if you change the m3u file that originally imported.

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-16-2010, 12:11 PM
Sparhawk6 Sparhawk6 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by SWKerr View Post
Sage can be picky about the structure of the m3u. It seems to want the path completely defined or it will not import it. Some exports do not do this.

I use:
http://www.ericdaugherty.com/dev/itunesexport/

One of the last options is to define the music folder prefix. I explicitly put in my music folder path.

Mine will look like:
#EXTM3U
#EXTINF:300,The Alarm - Knife Edge
\\KERRMAIN\Music\Music Library\The Alarm\Strength\01 Knife Edge.m4a
#EXTINF:166,The Alarm - Strength
\\KERRMAIN\Music\Music Library\The Alarm\Strength\02 Strength.m4a
#EXTINF:91,The Alarm - Absolute Reality

Also: Once Sage reads the playlist it will not continue to update it. You will need to delete it in Sage before it will update even if you change the m3u file that originally imported.

Hope this helps.
SWKerr,

Thanks for the advice, but I still cannot get Sage to import my playlist. Here is how it currently appears:

#Playlist: '1My Top Rated' exported by iTunesExport (Flex) http://www.ericdaugherty.com/dev/itunesexport/
\\Rob\mp3\Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band\Forrest Gump The Soundtrack (Collectors\2-17 Against the Wind 1.mp3
\\Rob\mp3\Ne-Yo\In My Own Words\10 Sexy Love - Ne-Yo - Ne-Yo.mp3
\\Rob\mp3\Supertramp\The Very Best of Supertramp\13 Give a Little Bit - Supertramp -.mp3

When I hit "Refresh Imported Media", I don't see the playlist under my "Playlist" section of the Media Player. Very frustrating.
__________________
Server: Gigabyte EP43-UD3L; Intel Core2Duo E5200; 4 GB DDR2 RAM; NVidia GeForce 9400GT; 6 tuners: Hauppauge HVR-1600 NTSC/ATSC/QAM combo, Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual Hybrid QAM, HD Homerun Prime (using SageDCT); 3.06TB total space: Seagate 160 GB, Maxtor 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 400GB, Hitachi 2 TB
Extender: HD200
Netgear MCAB1001 MoCA Coax-Ethernet Adapter Kit
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-16-2010, 12:35 PM
Sparhawk6 Sparhawk6 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 323
Well, I managed to great a very small playlist (2 songs) in iTunes that Sage found. The main playlist I am trying to export has 469. I suspect that somewhere in there there is a problem that sage doesn't like. Apparently Sage is very picky about what playlist it will import. too bad.

Is there anyway I can see WHY Sage won't import a particular playlist? Like a debug or logging feature?
__________________
Server: Gigabyte EP43-UD3L; Intel Core2Duo E5200; 4 GB DDR2 RAM; NVidia GeForce 9400GT; 6 tuners: Hauppauge HVR-1600 NTSC/ATSC/QAM combo, Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual Hybrid QAM, HD Homerun Prime (using SageDCT); 3.06TB total space: Seagate 160 GB, Maxtor 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 400GB, Hitachi 2 TB
Extender: HD200
Netgear MCAB1001 MoCA Coax-Ethernet Adapter Kit
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-12-2010, 05:30 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
I'm in the process of updating the playlists on my HTPC server and have to say, Music is the number one weakness for SageTV now that SageTV7 seems to have addressed most of my other, main issues.

I'm preparing a list of "bug" reports to submit and playlist importing/management are top on that list.

For instance, I exported several playlists from iTunes into m3u files. None of them imported into SageTV. The way it should work is the way playlists import into Sonos - I took those same playlists and mp3 files and imported into Sonos with zero problem - and the playlists update each time your Sonos music library is indexed.

Last edited by Brent; 06-12-2010 at 06:04 PM. Reason: clarification
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to play protected iTunes movie purchases in SageMC lazysean SageMC Custom Interface 1 03-26-2009 11:25 AM
use itunes to play m4p music (like media portal) ukmgranger SageTV Customizations 2 10-22-2008 09:35 AM
Add recordings in iTunes library? travisbell SageTV Mac Edition 2 07-10-2007 02:17 PM
How to play iTunes files LostInSpace SageTV Software 5 12-28-2005 08:21 AM
can't play any videos from library, get error (-10) simisimisimi SageTV Software 7 03-03-2005 08:49 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.