SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 01-31-2020, 07:05 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,316
Check your Paypal ENE. It's not much, but I don't expect something for nothing. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 02-01-2020, 02:55 PM
AlphaCrew AlphaCrew is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Whosevile
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Check your Paypal ENE. It's not much, but I don't expect something for nothing. Thank you.
Wait WHAT? ENE has a Paypal account.. Can you post that please..
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 02-01-2020, 06:53 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Check your Paypal ENE. It's not much, but I don't expect something for nothing. Thank you.
I'm sure you meant to make that a PM.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 02-01-2020, 07:02 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,316
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaCrew View Post
Wait WHAT? ENE has a Paypal account.. Can you post that please..
I can't give that out. But I'll bet he can.

Errr ... PM right, that's what it was.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 02-01-2020, 08:29 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaCrew View Post
Wait WHAT? ENE has a Paypal account.. Can you post that please..
I don't really want to get into donations because that can be a hairy thing. I'm time limited, not financially limited. I greatly appreciate the donations from a few very persistent people , but unfortunately I cannot promise anything based on them as I have expressed to those same people.

One of the things that money can't buy is time and while I wish it wasn't true, no amount of money will allow me to expend any more of my free time than I am able to on this open source project. This time off from serious development to spend time with my family has been very relaxing and I had not realized how close I was to burnout until I took this time off.

I have not abandoned support of my contributions to the SageTV community, I have only reduced my code contributions to only fixing important issues. EPG changes qualify as an important issue, so I will dedicate whatever time it takes to accommodate them if needed regardless of time I would like to myself.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 02-02-2020, 03:50 AM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 281
Greatly appreciated!
__________________
Server: Windows 7 SP1; 4gb RAM; 2TB SATA. Dell GX745. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast DTA with USBUIRT. Haup 1800 on ATSC. Sage 9.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 02-02-2020, 03:55 AM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
One of the things a lot of users will like is that the service will start to allow up to 5 tokens at a time so you don't have multiple servers fighting over who gets the token.
I'm not sure what this means: is this something that would be useful if you had more than one Sage server? I have only the one. What benefits are there to setting up additional ones? Ability to add tuners using additional servers if the original server is short on resources? Multiple servers seems like mostly a hassle unless they can integrate their recordings, talk to each other to optimize which server is going to record what show, etc. Or am I totally off track here?
__________________
Server: Windows 7 SP1; 4gb RAM; 2TB SATA. Dell GX745. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast DTA with USBUIRT. Haup 1800 on ATSC. Sage 9.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 02-02-2020, 06:35 AM
AlphaCrew AlphaCrew is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Whosevile
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I don't really want to get into donations because that can be a hairy thing. I'm time limited, not financially limited. I greatly appreciate the donations from a few very persistent people , but unfortunately I cannot promise anything based on them as I have expressed to those same people.

One of the things that money can't buy is time and while I wish it wasn't true, no amount of money will allow me to expend any more of my free time than I am able to on this open source project. This time off from serious development to spend time with my family has been very relaxing and I had not realized how close I was to burnout until I took this time off.

I have not abandoned support of my contributions to the SageTV community, I have only reduced my code contributions to only fixing important issues. EPG changes qualify as an important issue, so I will dedicate whatever time it takes to accommodate them if needed regardless of time I would like to myself.
No No No, You need to check your records.. I'm pretty sure I have an outstanding bill on file for services all ready rendered.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 02-02-2020, 07:28 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaCrew View Post
No No No, You need to check your records.. I'm pretty sure I have an outstanding bill on file for services all ready rendered.
I, too, am on this list of debtors.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 02-02-2020, 08:25 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
What I find most interesting is that downloading images with the new API now requires authentication. I suspect we'll need to create a custom path in the image downloading code to know when to use a Schedules Direct token.

What I would prefer is that SDRipper can register a custom handler with the part of SageTV that handles image downloading (probably via an interface) and that would be how we can make sure we have a valid token for each request. I might attempt to implement this mechanism in the mean time.
When you have time to look at this code, would it be possible for a setting to disable download of images for those “Ludites “ that don’t care about headshots and other images?
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 02-02-2020, 09:46 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I hope you all can take some comfort in that I have previously stated, I will do whatever is required to keep the Schedules Direct EPG working. If they EOL the current API version in a year, I will make sure we are already using the new version before then. I may poke around the beta version over the next few months, but I will not push any changes to the main project until the new API is out of beta.
Thanks for your continuing support!
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 02-04-2020, 05:15 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by VCRUser View Post
I'm not sure what this means: is this something that would be useful if you had more than one Sage server? I have only the one. What benefits are there to setting up additional ones? Ability to add tuners using additional servers if the original server is short on resources? Multiple servers seems like mostly a hassle unless they can integrate their recordings, talk to each other to optimize which server is going to record what show, etc. Or am I totally off track here?
Yep, it's just helpful to users with multiple servers.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 02-04-2020, 05:18 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
When you have time to look at this code, would it be possible for a setting to disable download of images for those “Ludites “ that don’t care about headshots and other images?
Sure. That would be a trivial addition.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 02-05-2020, 08:03 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,766
Quote:
Originally Posted by VCRUser View Post
I'm not sure what this means: is this something that would be useful if you had more than one Sage server? I have only the one. What benefits are there to setting up additional ones? Ability to add tuners using additional servers if the original server is short on resources? Multiple servers seems like mostly a hassle unless they can integrate their recordings, talk to each other to optimize which server is going to record what show, etc. Or am I totally off track here?
I have multiple servers on my system which gives me redundancies and an on-site backup. That way if something goes wrong with one server I can just select a different one when the Extender turns on. And I have my media files synced on a regular basis as a backup in case of a hard drive failure.

Helpful if you have kids. The only thing I don't have is an easy way to move an HD-PVR from one server to another.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 02-07-2020, 12:52 AM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 281
Do you record using all the servers, or just with one, and use the others just for playback and backup? I would think using all for recording could get complicated, unless you dedicate different ones to different channels or types of shows.
__________________
Server: Windows 7 SP1; 4gb RAM; 2TB SATA. Dell GX745. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast DTA with USBUIRT. Haup 1800 on ATSC. Sage 9.
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 02-07-2020, 07:47 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,766
I just record to the main server, the others are just for backup for playback. Shows that I archive will also get backed up to the other server(s). Theoretically I could also record from the HDHR OTA tuners, but you have to be careful that you don't have both PCs fighting for the tuner.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 02-07-2020, 08:02 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I just record to the main server, the others are just for backup for playback. Shows that I archive will also get backed up to the other server(s). Theoretically I could also record from the HDHR OTA tuners, but you have to be careful that you don't have both PCs fighting for the tuner.
I use OPENDCT on both of my servers for OTA and Cable this way I can pool the tuners and each server will check for tuner usage...and move on to next available tuner.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 02-07-2020, 08:10 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,766
We don't do a lot of recording - my main reason to have the other servers is to be able to playback content in one minute if the main server is down due to whatever reason.

The kids are happy to watch older prerecorded shows or movies, and are increasingly watching Youtube or Netflix.

The only one that really needs recording capabilities is me - to record the Leafs, Raptors and golf.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 02-07-2020, 09:02 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
We don't do a lot of recording - my main reason to have the other servers is to be able to playback content in one minute if the main server is down due to whatever reason.

The kids are happy to watch older prerecorded shows or movies, and are increasingly watching Youtube or Netflix.

The only one that really needs recording capabilities is me - to record the Leafs, Raptors and golf.
The reason I mention OPENDCT pooling is because it allows me to run Channels DVR and HDHomeRun DVR and share tuners among all of them. OPENDCT has allowed me to keep Sage running.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV Docker Schedules direct cerickso88 SageTV for unRAID/Docker 6 02-24-2020 11:18 AM
SageTV V9, HDHomeRun, & Schedules Direct ttatraveler Hardware Support 9 06-01-2017 05:01 PM
Using Schedules Direct in UK jamesdisco SageTV United Kingdom 28 02-06-2017 11:54 AM
Plugin: Schedules Direct EPG Source for SageTV OSS Slugger SageTV v9 Customizations 89 10-11-2016 07:31 AM
Schedules Direct or what? Ryel SageTV EPG Service 6 01-25-2008 03:03 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.