SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2010, 10:14 PM
t4uecker t4uecker is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 72
Need help with fresh HD-PVR and Win 7 install...

hello there -

i recently bought a new computer and an hd-pvr to deal with comcast's move of encrypting everything. i've followed the thread created about how to setup the hd-pvr, but alas things aren't working. i can't tell whether the problem lies with the hd-pvr, with how sage is installed, win7, or what. was hoping someone could help me troubleshoot.

with that being said, here's the info on my system:

1. computer: hp 9107c desktop, with intel quad core processor, 8gb memory, 750gb hard disk, Radeon HD4350 graphics card

2. windows 7 home premium 64-bit edition

3. hd-pvr (first tried the older 1.0.5.301 drivers but since that didn't work i ran hwclear and then just installed the newest 1.5.6.1 drivers)

4. sagetv v6.6.2.218, java version 1.6.0_10. i'm happy to provide the rest of the "system information" page if that's helpful, though i don't know how to do that (i.e., is there a way to copy/paste, or is it stored somewhere in the sage directory?)

and here's what's happening:

i see some kind of video on the screen, but when it first tunes in, it's mostly white and gray, with some horizontal lines of color, and lots of stuttering. after a few seconds, the colors become normal but the stuttering is horriible (i'll see one frame, a few seconds later another frame, etc, etc). every now and then, one of the frames is clear, but more often the frame looks like window blinds, with lots of horizontal bands.

if i launch task manager, it shows cpu usage ranging from about 20-50 percent, with almost all of that being sagetv.exe *32. and it looks like sagetv is using about 368,840k or so of memory.

i'd really appreciate any help to track down what's happening and how to fix it.

thanks!
tu
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2010, 10:34 PM
mr_lore mr_lore is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 153
are you using the native recording patch for win7?

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=43579
__________________
Server: WMC Windows 7 64bit, SSD+2TB, Gigabyte 870G, AMD X6, 4GB DDR, ATi 5570
Capture Devices: HDHomeRun (OTA), 2x HD-PVR w/HTTP Tuning (DirecTV H21's)
NAS: Windows Home Server: Supermicro C2SBX, C2D 2.6Ghz, 4GB DDR, 32.07TB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2010, 10:57 PM
t4uecker t4uecker is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_lore View Post
are you using the native recording patch for win7?

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=43579
hmmm...didn't know about that (it's not mentioned in the hd-pvr thread i referenced). doing a quick look, it seems there are multiple versions of the patch files throughout the thread. is there a particular bundle that i should try?

and more generally, what's the state of hd-pvr and/or sagetv with windows 7? does it differ between the 32-bit and 64-bit versions?

wearing my rose colored glasses, i was hoping for a smooth and straightforward install, but i should know better by now...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-26-2010, 01:10 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Sage itself will work fine out of the box with win7. To make use of the microsoft decoders built in to 7 (which are quite good) requires the native patches I think (just use Update 10, I think that's the latest). Should be pointed to in the first post. If you don't want to use the native patches, at least make sure that you are using the SageTV Decoder, with Hadware Acelleration turned on (Setup -> Detailed Setup -> Audio/Video).

Also make sure the Renderer chosen is EVR.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-27-2010, 08:52 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by t4uecker View Post
hmmm...didn't know about that (it's not mentioned in the hd-pvr thread i referenced)....
You were probably looking at my thread. I'll add a note about Windows7 - I wasn't trying to install it on Win7 and it sounds like things have changed.

Thanks!
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-100 HD Extenders
HD-300 HD Extenders
Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:09 AM
impro impro is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 268
HDPVR works perfectly under windows 7 64 and 32 bits.
However qam is a no go.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fresh install help jrillaffj SageTV Customizations 1 09-01-2009 07:49 PM
fresh install but old key mscdex SageTV Software 4 10-08-2008 11:02 PM
Fresh Install - What do I download? Brian B SageTV Software 18 03-25-2008 08:34 PM
Fresh Install - Can't get licensed eobiont SageTV Beta Test Software 3 07-01-2007 01:51 PM
Fresh Install Advice AWS SageTV Software 4 01-13-2005 03:25 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.