SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-24-2018, 06:36 PM
Vitalogy Vitalogy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 29
SOLVED: Windows 10 1803 April Update = no sound recorded

Hi, forgive me if my post is confusing, English isn't my mother tongue and my knowledge about audio/video codecs is limited.

Last month, I updated (I mean Microsoft updated!) Windows 10 to version 1803 (32 bits). But on this version, SageTV do no record sound. Old recording play fine, new recording has no sound at all.

I started to talk about my problem there: https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...25&postcount=5

Quote:
Thank you!

However it solved half of the problem. Now the new recordings have no sound. (old recordings play fine)

In the mic privacy settings, I enabled the mic access. Still no sound...


EDIT:
I begin to think that it's an hardware problem with my HD PVR 2. While using the HDMI Passthrough I still have the same problem (no sound). I sent an email to Hauppauge. I hope they will able to help me.


EDIT 2:
Good news: It was not an hardware problem. I uninstalled the Windows 10 April update and everything is working fine again.

Bad news: Hauppauge do not reply to my emails. It surprise me because I remember that in the past they had a good customer service. I wonder if they still support the HD PVR 2... I hope so, they should update their driver to make it work win the latest version of Windows (assuming that it's the source of my problem).
Like I said in the "EDIT 2" I unsinstalled the Windows update.

Soon after Hauppauge replied to my email and suggested me to reinstall the Hauppauge Capture software and test it. (I kept this in mind but I didn't test this because I had already reverted to Windows 1709)


Two days ago, Windows automatically updated again to 1803. Same problem again !!

So this time I reinstalled the Hauppauge Capture software, letting it update the drivers. Ten tested it. It word fine! There is sound on video recorded with the Hauppauge Capture software.

I update SageTV
I updated drivers related to sound.
Updated DivX Control Panel.
Changed few setting in SageTV.

Nothing work...

I'm confident that if I uninstall the Windows update it will fix my problem but it will be a temporary solution. So I'm posting this, hoping that someone will have a better solution for me.

If it matter, here my Video/Audio settings in SageTV





I tried to change some "decoder filter" but I'm wondering, when I do change, do I need to close and restart SageTV? Sometime I did, sometime not.



UPDATE 1:
I just tried to play a new recording in PotPlayer. Still no sound. So the problem must be with the recording, not the playing part.

Last edited by Vitalogy; 08-30-2018 at 03:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-25-2018, 06:27 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitalogy View Post
Hi, forgive me if my post is confusing, English isn't my mother tongue and my knowledge about audio/video codecs is limited.

Last month, I updated (I mean Microsoft updated!) Windows 10 to version 1803 (32 bits). But on this version, SageTV do no record sound. Old recording play fine, new recording has no sound at all.

I started to talk about my problem there: https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...25&postcount=5



Like I said in the "EDIT 2" I unsinstalled the Windows update.

Soon after Hauppauge replied to my email and suggested me to reinstall the Hauppauge Capture software and test it. (I kept this in mind but I didn't test this because I had already reverted to Windows 1709)


Two days ago, Windows automatically updated again to 1803. Same problem again !!

So this time I reinstalled the Hauppauge Capture software, letting it update the drivers. Ten tested it. It word fine! There is sound on video recorded with the Hauppauge Capture software.

I update SageTV
I updated drivers related to sound.
Updated DivX Control Panel.
Changed few setting in SageTV.

Nothing work...

I'm confident that if I uninstall the Windows update it will fix my problem but it will be a temporary solution. So I'm posting this, hoping that someone will have a better solution for me.

If it matter, here my Video/Audio settings in SageTV





I tried to change some "decoder filter" but I'm wondering, when I do change, do I need to close and restart SageTV? Sometime I did, sometime not.



UPDATE 1:
I just tried to play a new recording in PotPlayer. Still no sound. So the problem must be with the recording, not the playing part.
Try change all codec to default
PS you do need DivX, I recommend getting LAV Filters
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2018, 08:49 PM
Vitalogy Vitalogy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Try change all codec to default
PS you do need DivX, I recommend getting LAV Filters
Thank you. I have no time before Monday to work on this but I will come back to give you the results.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2018, 12:24 PM
Vitalogy Vitalogy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 29
I CAN'T BELIEVE IT!
Last night I spend 5 hours trying different things and searching infos... only to get worse results. Until I discover that my set top box was frooze

While testing, suddenly not only I still had no sound, but I had no video. Even after I reinstall a backup from last week (a time I know the computer was working fine) I still had no sound and no video. I was so confused. Then I abandonned, plugged my set top box directly to my TV to relax and watch some TV... that's the moment I realised that it didn't work. I had to unplug the box to reset it.



Anyway. Today I'm working again on that computer and give you news later.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2018, 03:49 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitalogy View Post
I CAN'T BELIEVE IT!
Last night I spend 5 hours trying different things and searching infos... only to get worse results. Until I discover that my set top box was frooze

While testing, suddenly not only I still had no sound, but I had no video. Even after I reinstall a backup from last week (a time I know the computer was working fine) I still had no sound and no video. I was so confused. Then I abandonned, plugged my set top box directly to my TV to relax and watch some TV... that's the moment I realised that it didn't work. I had to unplug the box to reset it.



Anyway. Today I'm working again on that computer and give you news later.
LoL
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-27-2018, 04:13 PM
Vitalogy Vitalogy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 29
Well, still no sound in files recorded by SageTV.


In no particular order (some steps repeated after changes on my computer), here what I tried today:

I updated SageTV and others drivers
I updated DivX
Installed the free DivX softwares
Tried different CODEC in the Audio/Video settings (including default option)
Installed LAV Filters
Compared files properties with MediaInfo


With MediaInfo I noticed this:
On files recorded with Hauppauge Capture (those files play fine, with sound), the audio stream is
192 kb/s 48.0 kHz 2 canaux MPEG Audio (Version 1) (layer 2)

And on files recorded with SageTV,
48 kHz 2 canaux AAC (ADTS) (Version 2) (LC)


Like I said, my knowledge is limited so I'm not sure what to do with these infos but I'm wondering...

Can I update or reinstall the AAC ADTS codecs? How??
I tried that: https://www.moviecodec.com/download-...io-coding-521/ but I don't know if it was the thing to do.

Alternatively, can I make SageTV to use the same CODEC as Hauppauge Capture? How??
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-27-2018, 05:24 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Have try any other media player to see if the recording have any audio
By the way what tuner or capture device are you using and with what input is hook to it ?.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
April Update - Now No USBUIRT Tuning SteveW Hardware Support 16 08-17-2018 02:00 PM
Warning! Windows 10 1803 kills Colossus dead fbures SageTV Software 4 08-04-2018 11:52 AM
No sound on recorded TV mewnlite SageTV Software 2 11-04-2009 03:12 AM
No sound live tv and recorded playback SeanMD SageTV Software 0 07-29-2009 07:40 PM
Surround Sound on Recorded Shows robertmcox Hardware Support 0 10-02-2003 07:37 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.