SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2017, 09:30 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 869
Question Placeshifter V7 vs V9

What is the difference?

I recently installed SageTV V9 and had to upgrade the Client to V9 to get it to recognize the V9 server. But the Placeshifter V7 seems to work fine with the V9 server.

What are the new features in Placeshifter V9?

Thanks,
John
__________________
Hardware: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 2-4TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7
Servers: ChannelsDVR, Plex, AnyStream, PlayOn,
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Duo
Sources: OTA, Sling Blue, Prime, Disney+,
Clients: ShieldTV (2), Fire TV Stick 4K (4)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2017, 09:36 AM
jbuszkie's Avatar
jbuszkie jbuszkie is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westminster, MA
Posts: 931
Is there a V9 placeshifter??
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2017, 10:20 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbuszkie View Post
Is there a V9 placeshifter??
Yes - there is one on the Windows download page for the most recent version - see here: https://bintray.com/opensagetv/saget...win/9.0.14.568
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2017, 11:06 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,319
I don't think the V7 vs. V9 placeshifter are very different at all. I don't remember changing anything in the code between those versions. SageTVClient uses a totally different architecture which requires it to be on the same version as the server.

Placeshifters use the same protocol as the media extenders do...so we always ensured backwards compatibility there.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PlaceShifter and Blu-Ray NoodleNT SageTV Placeshifter 12 04-01-2014 09:21 PM
Mac Placeshifter Taddeusz SageTV Beta Test Software 3 11-09-2007 08:41 PM
Placeshifter vs Orb sainswor99 SageTV Placeshifter 4 05-16-2007 06:23 AM
Placeshifter bug... or not ybrew SageTV Placeshifter 2 09-06-2006 05:00 PM
Placeshifter crazymateo SageTV Linux 4 08-29-2006 04:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.