SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2021, 03:18 PM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,242
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
Riding Sage into the sunset

This is kind of the opposite of NetworkGuy's thread.

I've been a SageTV user since 2003. It is literally the only PVR I've ever owned. Not any TiVO; nor any cable company's DVR. I do have a couple cable company tuners, but between my HDHR for OTA and HDPVR for recording extended cable channels, it still does everything I need it to do. I find it far more likely that I will cut the cord and cancel CableTV before I entertain a different PVR. The comskip capabilities are still a golden feature.

I own four HD300's...well, no - I now own three. One just died. I only use two, so that means I have one spare left. I bought them here when everybody was having a fire sale. I hope all the remaining live long enough for any future usage.

To all developers past & present, thank you for all that you've done. I'm not leaving the Sage world, but I thought it worth mentioning now instead of as a swan song.
__________________
Server: ASUS Q87M-E, Intel i5-4590S, 8GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 9TB disk, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win8.1-64bit, Sage 9
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2021, 04:10 PM
AlphaCrew AlphaCrew is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Whosevile
Posts: 293
Indeed!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2021, 04:35 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 563
Quote:
Originally Posted by valnar View Post
I own four HD300's...well, no - I now own three. One just died.
Fear not! Odds are, it's the external power supply that died (not the box itself). Replacements are cheap and readily available.

It's not likely that I'll be abandoning Sage anytime soon, either. I'm no fan of the streaming services for various reasons. Recent example: the disappearance of Star Trek from Netflix.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2021, 05:08 PM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,242
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustFred View Post
Fear not! Odds are, it's the external power supply that died (not the box itself). Replacements are cheap and readily available.
Nope, the box itself = . I do have many other PSU's!
__________________
Server: ASUS Q87M-E, Intel i5-4590S, 8GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 9TB disk, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win8.1-64bit, Sage 9
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-23-2021, 09:45 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by valnar View Post
This is kind of the opposite of NetworkGuy's thread.

I've been a SageTV user since 2003. It is literally the only PVR I've ever owned. Not any TiVO; nor any cable company's DVR. I do have a couple cable company tuners, but between my HDHR for OTA and HDPVR for recording extended cable channels, it still does everything I need it to do. I find it far more likely that I will cut the cord and cancel CableTV before I entertain a different PVR. The comskip capabilities are still a golden feature.

I own four HD300's...well, no - I now own three. One just died. I only use two, so that means I have one spare left. I bought them here when everybody was having a fire sale. I hope all the remaining live long enough for any future usage.

To all developers past & present, thank you for all that you've done. I'm not leaving the Sage world, but I thought it worth mentioning now instead of as a swan song.
Ditto. Besides our Tivoís (the best interface), SageTV does everything I need since I donít care about 4k.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-23-2021, 10:45 PM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 415
+1 !
__________________
Server: Windows 8.1 4gb RAM; 4TB SATA + others. Homebrew quad core AMD. Inputs: Haup. 980, 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast 2 DTAs with USBUIRT for NTSC. Haup 1800 on ATSC. HDHR Dual (ATSC). Sage 9.22 64 bit.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-24-2021, 06:24 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by valnar View Post
Riding Sage into the sunset

This is kind of the opposite of NetworkGuy's thread.
I am happy you are enjoying the ride.
__________________
Hardware: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 2-4TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7
Servers: ChannelsDVR, Plex, AnyStream, PlayOn,
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Duo
Sources: OTA, Sling Blue, Prime, Disney+,
Clients: ShieldTV (2), Fire TV Stick 4K (4)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-29-2021, 09:53 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,379
I'm in to the bitter end too..... For me that will be when Spectrum kills off the cable card.

I've historically used HD300s as well, but the continued development of the Android Miniclient client by jvl711 has made this my go to SageTV viewer. This software loaded on a Amazon 4k Firestick or Nvidea Shield is a great solution IMHO.

I still use a HD300 at my main TV (primarily because I also use it to distribute the same broadcast to a small TV that normally faces my desk - so I can see what is playing on the big TV while sitting at my desk by watching a small screen) But the other TVs around the house pretty much all use the Miniclient loaded on a Firestick or Shield.

It's really nice that they stream over wifi because it means I can easily move a TV from room to room if needed. Just this weekend I moved two extra TVs into the Den in order to watch all the great football games that where on at the same time. (The small screen is normally against the side wall facing my desk area which is off to the left side of this picture, but it's on a swing mount so we can move it next to the big TV to watch two games at the same time). By using wireless Firesticks, it was as simply as plugging the TV and Firestick into a powerstrip. No network cables, etc were needed.

https://i.imgur.com/2MRonIX.jpeg
__________________
i7-6700 server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all

Last edited by sic0048; 11-29-2021 at 10:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-29-2021, 10:39 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,322
Remember when Picture-in-Picture used to be a thing? I sure do miss that capability. Of course, the argument against it is that you can record and watch later, but that doesn't really work well for sports events does it...
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.9.2, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker (version 2.0.6)
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-29-2021, 11:38 AM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Remember when Picture-in-Picture used to be a thing? I sure do miss that capability. Of course, the argument against it is that you can record and watch later, but that doesn't really work well for sports events does it...
Yep, it really stinks that you can get a huge TV nowadays but no picture-in-picture. I did recently buy an adapter box from Amazon to combine 2 HDMI signals for PinP, but due to home reno I haven't had a chance to try it out yet. But also I'm working on a setup like @sic0048's with multiple TV's in the gameroom.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-29-2021, 10:41 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Remember when Picture-in-Picture used to be a thing? I sure do miss that capability. Of course, the argument against it is that you can record and watch later, but that doesn't really work well for sports events does it...
I still have and use PIP on my 65Ē Samsung, circa 2017? With a small switch-box, I can watch pretty much any two sources. Great for Olympics, or movies with silent-sports on the side.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-29-2021, 10:56 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,398
Funny all of the mention of PIP - this came up in last week's episode of Curb Your Enthusiasm. See around 2:45 of this clip: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T7XqfTi6foc
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-30-2021, 09:05 AM
TGsell TGsell is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Glen Head
Posts: 101
Smile Sage for the long run....

Sage is currently the best system I can imagine thanks to lots of work by the developers and this forum - this can not be matched by any cable company and they did it would cost >$300/month to do it... My System -

TUNING:

4 - OTA tuners w/amplified external antenna - perfect performance!

HDHRPrime CableCard - using 2 laptops configured with WMC/Windows 8,1Pro and WMC Live tuning capability - mostly OK....since WMC is constantly running and laptops have limited RAM (one is nonexpandable) - need to reboot these once or twice a week... will try SSD drives to relieve some of the RAM demand through a larger paging file.

HD300 and Shield - these work best for highest quality - for large dedicated TV
4k Firesticks all over the house - these are fabulous for outdoor TV, bedroom, kitchen,

and NO cable box!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-30-2021, 10:57 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zogg View Post
..... I'm working on a setup like @sic0048's with multiple TV's in the gameroom.
I will say that it is very difficult to pay attention more than two TVs at the same time. Even 3 TVs is too much. I've moved the extra TVs out for other sporting events (like the Olympics) and experience tells me that you really end up ignoring the other TVs. We've had lots of people over watching with us and they all say the same thing.

Having multiple TVs would be great if you wanted to show different sports so that different people can focus on the sport they want to see - like a sports bar. But actually trying to absorb more than 2 shows at the same time is pretty tough.
__________________
i7-6700 server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Optimal Architecture - How To use Sage.Server, Sage.Client and Sage.Recorder together edbmdave SageTV Software 4 08-24-2004 04:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.