SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Placeshifter

Notices

SageTV Placeshifter Discussion related to the SageTV Placeshifter application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Placeshifter software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2017, 12:44 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 5,994
Placeshifter over VPN

I have OpenVPN running on my router. My LAN has an address range of 192.168.1.X. When I attach via VPN I get a range of 10.8.0.X.

I am connected with my laptop now and the VPN works fine. But when I run Placeshifter it is giving me a login as if I am a remote user. Should it be doing that? How does it now that I am not on the LAN? By the IP address?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2017, 02:34 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I have OpenVPN running on my router. My LAN has an address range of 192.168.1.X. When I attach via VPN I get a range of 10.8.0.X.

I am connected with my laptop now and the VPN works fine. But when I run Placeshifter it is giving me a login as if I am a remote user. Should it be doing that? How does it now that I am not on the LAN? By the IP address?
It knows because the IP addresses are not on the same subnet.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 8x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.3.0-rc6 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2017, 02:40 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 5,994
What if I changed my VPN subnet to 192.168.0.X and mask to 255.255.254.0 and changed the mask on the SageTV server as well. Would they then be on the same subnet?

I guess it doesn't really matter, I was just wondering how it made that determination.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2017, 05:53 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
What if I changed my VPN subnet to 192.168.0.X and mask to 255.255.254.0 and changed the mask on the SageTV server as well. Would they then be on the same subnet?

I guess it doesn't really matter, I was just wondering how it made that determination.
This would prevent the routing from working correctly between the subnets, because the 192.168.0.x client would think it's on the same subnet as the 192.168.1.x server, so it would not even try to route through anything.

The only way to make a VPN truly on the same subnet is to have the VPN sit below the TCP/IP level. OpenVPN does this via a TAP interface instead of TUN. The easiest way to understand the different, is that TUN connects the two sides of the VPN tunnel through a virtual TCP/IP router. TAP connects the two sides of the VPN tunnel through a virtual ethernet switch. Both sides of the TAP tunnel would then reside on the same IP subnet (192.168.1.x).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Few Placeshifter Q's bigo93bronco SageTV Placeshifter 2 03-20-2012 06:06 PM
Placeshifter vs Orb sainswor99 SageTV Placeshifter 4 05-16-2007 06:23 AM
RE: Mac Placeshifter - thank you! Halstead SageTV Placeshifter 0 04-27-2007 03:42 PM
Placeshifter and MP3's millers_35 SageTV Beta Test Software 6 10-10-2006 04:58 PM
Thanks for Placeshifter!! ChePazzo SageTV Placeshifter 3 06-16-2006 04:27 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.