SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-08-2006, 07:17 AM
doc doc is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Leicester, England
Posts: 915
Switching sky box on after powercut

Hello everyone. I live away in the week and record all my TV using sage, then watch it at weekends, and what I cant watch I take with me to watch in the week on my laptop. Every now and again we get a power cut and the sky satelite box doesn't switch back on again, it just sits in standby. Then I get a week of recording noise

Does anyone know of a way to get the Sky satellite receiver back on using the usbirt? or maybe adding a code to the front of all channel changes so that it will switch it on just incase the box is off?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-08-2006, 10:41 AM
Hades's Avatar
Hades Hades is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 48
I guess the simple answer is get yourself a UPS,and connect the HTPC & Skybox into it.

Other option being use Girder,and get it to poll the sky box every few hours sending the "SKY" button ir code ..Use the `SKY` button,because it will Bring the Digibox out of standby ,but will not put the box back into standby if already on.

Personally i run my workstation & htpc on UPS,i have learnt in the past ,computers(Windows/Hard Drives) can survive a warm boot fine(usually),but a cold boot for windows & hard drives whilst active is an entirely different matter...Sometimes its carnage.
Just my 0.02$


EDIT: Just wondering how well your HTPC survives a power cut,or is it already on a UPS?
__________________
Abit AN-AM2HD | AMD5000+ | 2048MB DDR2-800 | ATI-3650 | 3TB Storage | Sage 6.4.8/Meedio 1.41 | XP 32BIT | FireDTV S2 | WinTV-NOVA-S+ | USB-UIRT/MX-500 Remote | Antec Fusion Case | Zalman Reserator 1 V2 | 1GB NIC`s

Last edited by Hades; 07-08-2006 at 10:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-08-2006, 10:58 AM
doc doc is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Leicester, England
Posts: 915
I'm debating getting a UPS for my pc but the sky box is in the other bedroom. I use the sky remote eye to change channels, will have to have a look at girder and see if that will work. The only other problem I have is do I stay in and look at girder or do I go out on a date? I suppose girder will have to wait or I'll be in mega trouble
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-08-2006, 11:07 AM
Hades's Avatar
Hades Hades is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 48
Maybe another option is get Sage to send the "SKY" button on every channel change.

Get sage to learn the "SKY" button via
Setup Video Sources / Tuner / Tuner Control / Learn new Command, call the command A ,then modify your channel numbering setup to A106 A107 etc.
Hopefully then sage will send "A" + numbers

Not sure if this work,but may be worth trying.
__________________
Abit AN-AM2HD | AMD5000+ | 2048MB DDR2-800 | ATI-3650 | 3TB Storage | Sage 6.4.8/Meedio 1.41 | XP 32BIT | FireDTV S2 | WinTV-NOVA-S+ | USB-UIRT/MX-500 Remote | Antec Fusion Case | Zalman Reserator 1 V2 | 1GB NIC`s
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-09-2006, 06:56 AM
doc doc is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Leicester, England
Posts: 915
I tried but alas no, when I press the sky remote to program it, it doesnt accept the input, the LED on the remote flashes away but the USBIRT ignores it. Never mind, it was a good idea.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-09-2006, 07:07 AM
Hades's Avatar
Hades Hades is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 48
Make sure the Sage Service is DISABLED,
__________________
Abit AN-AM2HD | AMD5000+ | 2048MB DDR2-800 | ATI-3650 | 3TB Storage | Sage 6.4.8/Meedio 1.41 | XP 32BIT | FireDTV S2 | WinTV-NOVA-S+ | USB-UIRT/MX-500 Remote | Antec Fusion Case | Zalman Reserator 1 V2 | 1GB NIC`s
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.