SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2007, 02:47 PM
wolfgang187 wolfgang187 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
HD recording quality

How do I get it? The best I can select in sage 5.0 is mpeg 2 @6.0 gigs an hour. It looks ok, but how do I get the option to have it be around 8 gigs an hour?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2007, 02:59 PM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185
I don't do HD Sage at this point, but isn't HD recording simply dumping the stream to disk? There is no conversion to alter to provide for better or worse recording.

Perhaps you really are having issues with playback? Post more details on your setup and what you're seeing, and perhaps someone can help you.

Matt
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2007, 03:10 PM
wolfgang187 wolfgang187 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Ok, I'm using Sagetv 5.0, and under the detailed setup where you set the recording quality of your tuners, I have no option to catpture in HD. I have DVD standard play (which is only like 3.2 gigs an hour), and i have an mpeg 2 option which is 5.9 gigs an hour. I want to know why I do not have an option to capture at say 8 gig an hour. I have a new core 2, geforce 8600, not sure of the OTA HD tuner card I have. Not having any playback issues at all, just wondering where the HD recording quality options are in sage.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2007, 03:35 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
There are no HD recording qualities to select. As was mentioned above, HD recordings simply consist of saving the HD stream to the drive as it is received; there is no encoding of theHD stream happening on your PC. For an HD tuner, the analog recording quality choices have no effect.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-27-2007, 07:03 PM
wolfgang187 wolfgang187 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
So its up to my tuner to provide me these options. ok. I guess ill look for newer software for it, but its only a temperary tuner for me anyway
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-27-2007, 07:39 PM
ke6guj ke6guj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,355
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfgang187 View Post
So its up to my tuner to provide me these options.
Not really. The design of digital capture devices is to just capture the stream and record it to disk. There are no ways to set a capture rate for a digital stream, you just get what is sent to you OTA or from the Cable company. The reasoning is that if the stream is sent at 6gig/hour, then there is no point in saving it at 8gigs/hour, since isn't gonna make a better digital signal.

The only way you could record a digital stream at a different bitrate would be to have your digital tuner or Sage transcode on the fly. Not currently possible in consumer grade electronics.
__________________
- Jack
__________________________________________
Server: AMD Phenom 9750, 2GB RAM, 2 Hauppauge PVR500, 1 Firewired DCT6200, 1 HDHomerun tuning 2 QAM channels, Vizio 37" HDTV LCD, 1 USB-UIRT

Clients: 1 MediaMVP, 1 Placeshifter Client, & 1 SageTV Client.

Last edited by ke6guj; 07-27-2007 at 07:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-28-2007, 12:21 AM
RobJ RobJ is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 97
I'm not sure you understand the difference between analog and digital. If you do, I apologize, and please just ignore this. (The following is not intended to be technically accurate, but illustrative of the difference.)

Analog is sent to your tuner like a series of waves, and your capture card is essentially taking rapid hi-res, medium res, or lo-res pictures of those waves, compressing the pictures, and saving them to a disk file. Recording quality options are only for analog recordings, and instruct the capture card as to what picture quality is wanted. If you ask for high quality (DVD Standard), then the pictures are captured in hi-res, as if the card was capturing every ripple of the waves and the spray and the shades of color, which would obviously take a large file to store it all. If you only wanted a very low quality, the pictures might only capture the wave peaks and troughs and some proportion of their size; and this would be saved to a very small file.

Digital is as if those same waves were each bringing a box, and in each box a fixed piece, like a puzzle piece, and the capture card opens each box, fits the pieces together, and saves them to a file. Recording options do not apply, because what they send is what you get, whatever tuner you have.

Digital is like downloading a file on the Internet. If you ask for a specific file, you don't expect to see options on that file. You don't want half the file, or 2 times the file, or 90% of the file, you want to download the exact file size of that file. The same is true of any digital channel. The provider decides the quality of that channel, and then encodes it at a fixed size that is sent to you. You save what the provider sends.

As far as I know, HD is always sent as a digital recording. SD recordings can be sent as analog or digital, but the recording options only apply to analog SD recordings.

It IS possible to have a choice of HD recording quality, but only under special circumstances. If you had both an OTA provider of HD channels and a cable provider of HD, then probably an HD show on a OTA channel would be a higher bitrate and better quality picture than the same HD show on a cable channel. Therefore, you have the choice of either the better quality recording (larger file) on the OTA channel, or the smaller file (poorer picture) on the cable channel.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD OTA Questions crowland Hardware Support 8 02-14-2007 05:06 PM
In search of HD quality playback garyellis SageTV Software 0 01-27-2007 09:15 AM
Recording DirecTV HD eded9698 SageTV Software 1 01-24-2007 11:53 PM
Need HDTV quality recording: Settings needed? mikecazz Hardware Support 3 12-23-2006 10:50 AM
Recording HD quality? chadman SageTV Software 1 12-02-2005 12:16 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.