SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2009, 10:29 PM
Diego Garcia Diego Garcia is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 264
HDHomeRun recordings are jerky

I'm encountering a noticeable amount of jerkiness in my recordings, which are all derived from an HDHomeRun tuner. My setup includes, besides the HDHomeRun, two SageHD remote boxes and one Hauppauge SD remote box, all running over a gigabit LAN. Sage itself runs on an AMD64X2 3800 (?) system, under Vista SP2.

The jerkiness seems worst on shows recorded while another show is also being recorded, and while at least one of the remote HD boxes is in use streaming a recorded show off the server.

Am I pushing my setup too hard? Are there steps I can take to reduce or eliminate the jerkiness, or at least diagnose what's contributing to it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2009, 11:55 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Is the recording drive formatted using 64K clusters and have you tried disabling superfetch? Also, make sure no antivirus is scanning files in the recording directories.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2009, 05:11 AM
Polypro Polypro is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,801
QAM or OTA? Bring up the HDHR GUI Config and watch your signal strength for all the channels you record during prime time. Watch each one for 10 minutes...if you see any yellow or red...there's your answer. The joys of OTA.

P
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2009, 08:45 AM
Diego Garcia Diego Garcia is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 264
The recordings are all QAM, no OTA.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-2009, 09:12 AM
Diego Garcia Diego Garcia is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 264
Superfetch was enabled. I've disabled it.

Cluster size is 64K.

The antivirus software was scanning everything. I've set it to exclude the directories where Sage recordings are stored.

I'll let you know if this solves the problem.

Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hdhomerun, jerky


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDHomeRun Gets Unresponsive Sometimes - Losing Recordings geogecko Hardware Support 7 01-24-2009 12:04 PM
Interference in HDHomeRun recordings when downloading something at very high speed! mkanet Hardware Support 16 09-23-2008 05:38 PM
HDHomerun stuck in FF mode on some recordings??!! Stuntman Hardware Support 16 04-18-2008 10:49 PM
HDHomerun recordings issue mikesm Hardware Support 2 11-25-2007 03:25 PM
Jerky Video Frunobulax SageTV Software 8 07-26-2005 10:30 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.