SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2009, 09:20 PM
nekon nekon is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1
Question WHS Owner Looking into SageTV, HTPC, and OTA

My goal is OTA/Comcast Clear QAM and DirecTV on either of our displays. What I'm not clear on is the best way to go about doing this..

Long story short I'm looking to make use of a spare HDTV and PC. I'm familiar with MCE and if my 360 had HDMI and actually worked (RLOD) I would have probably gone that route already. Now I played with Myth and Sage years ago but had a bad tuner card and it just wasn't smooth enough for me at the time. I've now got Sage installed on my HTPC and WHS server and I like what I'm seeing.. I just don't exactly know what that is. I'd like to save all OTA/Comcast Clear QAM recordings to my WHS box which I'll dedicate a 1TB off pool drive to (64k clusters). I'm planning on installing a 32GB SSD (boot) and my old 20GB PS3 HDD in my HTPC among other changes.

I'm thinking I need a SageTV HD Theater box for the plasma, a Sage license for the WHS box, and a full install + license of SageTV for the HTPC/DLP. As for DirecTV on the HTPC I could either go SlingCatcher (hardware), SlingPlayer Desktop (software), or DIRECTV2PC (software) recordings only.

Bedroom: Pioneer Elite KURO PRO-111FD + DirecTV HR21 + Slingbox SOLO
Computer Room: WHS Server + HDHomeRun (OTA & Comcast Clear QAM)
Living Room: Samsung HL-S5087W + HTPC

Misc: PS3, Xbox 360 (Dead RLOD + No HDMI), diNovo Edge, and a Harmony One.



WHS Server
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5050e Brisbane 2.6GHz
MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-MA74GM-S2 740G Micro ATX
RAM: mushkin 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 800
GPU: Onboard ATI Radeon HD 2100
SND: Onboard Realtek ALC888
HDD: 7x SAMSUNG Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-400CX 400W ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS
OS: Windows Home Server PP2

HTPC
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.7GHz
MOBO: DFI Lanparty UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert
RAM: 2x1GB Mushkin Redline XP4000
GPU: TBD
SND: TBD
HDD: TBD
PSU: Silverstone Decathlon DA750 750W
OS: Windows XP Pro x64 | Windows 7 RC1

How would you guys go about doing all this? TIA for any time or replies invested!

Last edited by nekon; 05-27-2009 at 09:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2009, 06:14 AM
Djc208's Avatar
Djc208 Djc208 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SE Virginia
Posts: 674
I'll take a shot.

First, you only need a full version of Sage on any computer that will be doing recording. So idealy you would install the tuner(s) and Sage on your WHS. Then you would just use either placeshifter (for a Laptop that could be used outside your network) or SageTV Client (for your HTPC on the DLP) for playback.

It's a common reply around here but where possible using the HD-200 extender will be easier, more reliable, and produce a better output than a Client HTPC. Get one for the plasma and expand as needed. You do not need a license for extenders, the HD-200 comes with it's own built in.

The advantage of Sage is that the media is available wherever you have Sage. By using Sling or DirectTV2PC you'll have to deal with two programs to get all your media. I would suggest using an HD-PVR or possibly the R-5000 mod (if possible) to allow you to get DirectTV content into Sage directly. That way all your TV channels will be available at either of your Sage clients/placeshifters, and you can schedule and record all your shows from one interface.

Wireless doesn't usually provide a real reliable connection for streaming HD media, and with other devices also sharing the connection I'm not sure you'll have a positive experience trying to use Sage from the Plasma. Removing that wireless link would go a long way toward improving your experience from that location.
__________________
Server: Core 2 Duo E4200 2 GB RAM, nVidia 6200LE, 480 GB in pool, 500GB WHS backup drive, 1x750 GB & 1x1TB Sage drives, Hauppage HVR-1600, HD PVR, Windows Home Server SP2
Media center: 46" Samsung DLP, HD-100 extender.
Gaming: Intel Core2 Duo E7300, 4GB RAM, ATI HD3870, Intel X-25M G2 80GB SSD, 200 & 120 GB HDD, 23" Dell LCD, Windows 7 Home Premium.
Laptop: HP dm3z, AMD (1.6 GHz) 4 GB RAM, 60 GB OCZ SSD, AMD HD3200 graphics, 13.3" widescreen LCD, Windows 7 x64/Sage placeshifter.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2009, 06:23 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Recommendation:

Use the WHS as your central SageTV server and continue to pack as much hard disk storage as possible into the box. Use the HD Homerun (recommend 2) for your OTA and Comcast Clear QAM. You can start with 1 HD Homerun and use it as ASTC and QAM at the same time. For your DirectTV use a Hauppauge HD-PVR connected to the WHS via USB and to the DirectTV via component. If you want to record more than one DirecTV channle at the same time you'll need another DirecTV STB and a HD-PVR. I would also recommend getting a USB-UIRT IR receiver/blaster. This will allow this one device to control both your Comcast box and the DirecTV box for channel changes. (USB-UIRT can controll up to 3 devices.) Locate the WHS server and the Comcast box and DirecTV box in the same area away from your TV watching. Now either get the HD200 extender for every TV you want to watch or use a PC with the SageTV PC client software at any TV or monitor.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
directv, hdhomerun, htpc, sling, whs


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setup help: WHS + HD-PVR + 2x OTA + blu ray + 3 clients jebo_4jc Hardware Support 13 04-30-2009 02:47 PM
Question on WHS and SageTV Media Server V6.5 for WHS Texas-Hansen SageTV Software 8 02-10-2009 07:55 PM
New HD100 Owner - Some Issues rubell SageTV Media Extender 12 08-07-2008 08:02 PM
First time Extender owner, am I nuts? DaveWC SageTV Customizations 2 03-11-2008 08:24 AM
New Recorder Owner chadwolcott SageTV Recorder Software 8 10-31-2004 07:38 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.