SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV EPG Service

Notices

SageTV EPG Service Discussion related to the SageTV EPG Service used within SageTV. Questions about service area coverage, channel lineups, EPG listings, XMLTV, or anything else related to the service or programming guide data for SageTV should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2016, 04:32 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,452
Schedules Direct EPG (integrated BETA)

Schedules Direct EPG support is now integrated into the SageTV core.

This feature is currently considered beta. I encourage people who are curious to try this new feature out and post their impressions, suggestions or issues they experience. Before reporting an issue with this EPG solution, make sure you have the same problems on the latest version of SageTV.

Because this is a core feature, you can actually use the original EPG solution (WarlockRipper) alongside Schedules Direct if desired. Just know that if there is any overlap, the Schedules Direct solution will yield to WarlockRipper in all foreseen cases. That means that if you use the exact same lineup from both sources and they download the exact same stations, all of your guide data will come from WarlockRipper.

Check the wiki page on GitHub for details on how to use the new EPG data source.

Extra Features:
  • Series Info
  • Channel Logos
  • Series Images
  • Episode/Movie/Sports Images
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 8x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.3.0-rc6 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG

Last edited by EnterNoEscape; 10-24-2018 at 06:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2016, 04:49 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,630
Excellent. Sage needed this.
__________________

Sage Server: ASUS/Intel C2D based system w/4GB RAM. Win7, Hauppauge PVR 150, Hauppauge HVR-2250 and an HDHR. Runs headless. Accessed via VNC when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2016, 03:43 AM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 317
Great news! Thanks for all your hard work!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2016, 07:08 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,974
Great Job works right out of the box.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2016, 07:45 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,452
Thanks everyone. It's good to see some people have already tried to use it and so far have had success. I really hope this integrated solution will help draw in new users and maybe even some new developers.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 8x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.3.0-rc6 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-25-2016, 08:50 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,920
Thanks for this, perfect timing 24 hours after I subscribed another year with my old provider...

I tried it the other night, then removed the new tuner because I didn't have time to sort out the mappings. So all my tuners are with old lineups using XML, not Sage EPG (I'm in UK). Today I have 7 system messages saying "Invalid EPG Server License Key Specified." I'm not using Sage EPG or SD at the moment, but it may be that Sage is doing a pull of my SD data anyway.

Any ideas?
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 16GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x4TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 2x3TB + 1x4TB SATA Array, 1x TBS 6284 PCIe DVB-T2 Quad, 2x TBS 6205 PCIe DVB-T Quad, Cable TV from TBS2603 sat/IP, IPTV via Telly & node-ffmpeg-mpegts-proxy, unRAID 6.4, TVheadend for recording back end, OpenDCT, SDEPG, SageTV 9
Clients:5 Android Miniclients (Amlogic S905X), 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-25-2016, 09:14 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
Thanks everyone. It's good to see some people have already tried to use it and so far have had success. I really hope this integrated solution will help draw in new users and maybe even some new developers.
What I had to do on Windows was download the windows Installer ...Installed it then went to the Linux files and download SageJar-9.0.8.423.zip and replaced the files. Is this the correct way to Install in Windows for now?
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-25-2016, 03:38 AM
pukka pukka is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leicestershire, UK
Posts: 82
Working so far
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-18-2017, 06:22 AM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 134
No issues at all. I have 3 different registration codes and the original free service didn't work on 2 of them. I gave up. The new system works great! I didn't export my lineup, so I ended up playing with the channels for a couple hours.
__________________
ASUS P7H55D-EVO LGA 1156 Motherboard, Intel Core I5-661, 4X Crucial Ballistix XMS3 2GB memory, HIS 6570 graphics w/1Gb, 1x Samsung 250g SSD 1x ST2000DL003 2TB, 2x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, ASUS Blu-Ray SATA drive, HD-PVR2 1512, Windows 7 HP 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-04-2017, 07:08 AM
mrweston mrweston is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: East Northport
Posts: 19
SchedulesDirect EPG Plugin will not download

Sorry I know this is probably the wrong place but it is the only place I could figure out how to post. I downloaded the JAR file and would like to know how to install it manually.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-22-2017, 05:28 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,452
Alternative Channel Logos

I just wanted to share with anyone following this thread a new feature Schedules Direct made available a few months ago that was just added to the current release of SageTV.

Schedules Direct can provide an alternative channel logo for many channels. The alternative logo is often lighter colors and may provide better contrast on darker backgrounds. If an alternative logo does not exist for a channel, the default logo will be used.
  • This option is disabled by default.
  • You can change this setting by toggling the option under Setup > Detailed Setup > Customize > Enable the use of alternative Schedules Direct channel logos when available.
  • Changes are immediate when this setting is toggled.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 8x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.3.0-rc6 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-22-2017, 07:03 PM
mdnttoker mdnttoker is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
  • This option is disabled by default.
  • You can change this setting by toggling the option under Setup > Detailed Setup > Customize > Enable the use of alternative Schedules Direct channel logos when available.
  • Changes are immediate when this setting is toggled.
I don't see that option in my SageTV 9.0.14. Am I missing some other option to enable?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-22-2017, 07:25 PM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 589
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdnttoker View Post
I don't see that option in my SageTV 9.0.14. Am I missing some other option to enable?
I believe you have to be running 9.1.0 to use this option. I don't think there are any Windows builds out yet for this version though.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-22-2017, 07:49 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by peternm22 View Post
I believe you have to be running 9.1.0 to use this option. I don't think there are any Windows builds out yet for this version though.
Sorry, that's correct. 9.1.0 was imminent for Windows, but there are some issues we hope to resolve soon. I somewhat jumped the gun there.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 8x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.3.0-rc6 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-08-2017, 11:02 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,117
There is a Thread in the epg support section where SD has upstream issues. Most likely related
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-08-2017, 11:58 AM
RBraverman's Avatar
RBraverman RBraverman is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Timimg of Updates and ...

that's timiNg up there

... where is the file, if there is one, that contains the actual data?

I guess this is as good a time as any to ask: I have a backup of the system of about 3-4 days ago, that, if I knew, I could copy over the EPG data and watch channels that it seems, are now, temporarily, inaccessible to me.

BUT the guide will undoubtedly update today sometime, as it seems to do almost everyday, which is both needless and annoying.

So,
1. IS there a data file of just the epg data that I could "copy over"?
and
2. Where do I, if I can, set the when's, where's and how's and who's of the TIMING of the update?
__________________
Core2Duo 3.0, 8gig Memory, Win7 x86, LOTS O' Storage tucked into an Antec Case. OLD aTI Remote Wonder.
Sage V9.0.13.536
Java V1.8.0_121 (8.11)
Base STV V7.1.9.12
JettyWebServer V2.3.0.14
Phoenix Core V 3.0.4

Last edited by RBraverman; 06-08-2017 at 12:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-08-2017, 12:12 PM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,117
As far as I know
The EPG update process runs again 24 hrs after the completion of the last EPG update. That means if it runs at noon today and completes 10 minutes later, tomorrow it will start at 12:10 pm
There are various methods to force it sooner but none I know of for over 24 hours after last update
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-08-2017, 12:25 PM
RBraverman's Avatar
RBraverman RBraverman is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
As far as I know
The EPG update process runs again 24 hrs after the completion of the last EPG update. That means if it runs at noon today and completes 10 minutes later, tomorrow it will start at 12:10 pm
There are various methods to force it sooner but none I know of for over 24 hours after last update
So it's EVERY day?
__________________
Core2Duo 3.0, 8gig Memory, Win7 x86, LOTS O' Storage tucked into an Antec Case. OLD aTI Remote Wonder.
Sage V9.0.13.536
Java V1.8.0_121 (8.11)
Base STV V7.1.9.12
JettyWebServer V2.3.0.14
Phoenix Core V 3.0.4
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-08-2017, 12:27 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBraverman View Post
So it's EVERY day?
Yes. Is that too frequent?

Edit: I'm not sure why this would be a problem. I think you're operating on the assumption that the data doesn't change much over 24 hours. That couldn't be further from the truth and I don't think you would find that interval excessive if you missed a recording that changed around the 25 hour threshold.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 8x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.3.0-rc6 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG

Last edited by EnterNoEscape; 06-08-2017 at 12:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-08-2017, 01:50 PM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBraverman View Post
So it's EVERY day?
Yes
But it is incremental so just the new days info and any scheduling changes to existing data which happens more frequent than you might think on some channels.

That is why I have a scheduled batch process that forces an epg update same time every day. So as to catch those changes (actually for wife)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin: Schedules Direct EPG (not for v9) Slugger SageTV v7 Customizations 851 07-19-2017 07:48 AM
Schedules Direct Plugin Issue rickgillyon SageTV v9 Customizations 20 09-25-2016 12:03 PM
Schedules Direct EPG Plugin: Call for private beta testers Slugger SageTV v7 Customizations 11 01-19-2013 11:59 AM
Schedules Direct EPG Plugin PoC Completed Slugger SageTV EPG Service 71 12-04-2011 12:12 PM
Schedules Direct or what? Ryel SageTV EPG Service 6 01-25-2008 03:03 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.