SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2005, 11:38 AM
disgust disgust is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 59
need basic pvr hardware help

I guess I'm not entirely sure how to hook things up. I have a hauppauge 350, and tv-out via svideo on my video card. I'm going to buy a usb-uirt for the blaster to my cable box.

so..
svideo out from box to tv.
usb-uirt into usb on box... how do you connect it to the cable box?

and as far as the cable box -> computer box connection, I'm really lost. this model cable box doesn't have svideo but I don't mind upgrading if that'd help. where does the "svideo in" go in the computer?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2005, 11:42 AM
ToxMox's Avatar
ToxMox ToxMox is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,980
coax cable from wall -> cable in on cable box
cable out from cable box -> cable in on pvr350

USB uirt plugged into PC not cable box
usbuirt transmits IR codes like a remote control would.

Then are are 2 possibilities to go from the PC to the TV:

S-video out from dongle on PVR350 to TV
or
S-video our from vid card to TV

You'll have better compatibility going from vid card but perhaps better picture if going out from 350.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2005, 12:14 PM
disgust disgust is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 59
thanks for that clarification, helped a lot

where do people usually place the usb uirt so the cable box can recieve the signals from it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2005, 12:23 PM
ToxMox's Avatar
ToxMox ToxMox is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,980
I have one of those emitters that can plug into the USB UIRT's minijack and have the emitter in front of my box. otherwise you'd have to point the usbuirt at the cable box.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-11-2005, 12:27 PM
g808's Avatar
g808 g808 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToxMox
I have one of those emitters that can plug into the USB UIRT's minijack and have the emitter in front of my box. otherwise you'd have to point the usbuirt at the cable box.
You should be able to just place it on top the box, not necessarily pointing it directly at the boxes IR receiver. I've done this and it works just fine.
__________________
Sage v7.0.16, Win7 Ultimate, Asus A8N-SLI Premium, AMD X2 3800+ Dual Core, 2GB PC3200, 2 x HD-PVR, 2 x Motorola DCT6200, HDHomeRun w/ QAM, USB-UIRT, Seagate 250GB PATA (system), WD 2TB (recordings), Gigabyte 6600GT fanless, HD300 extender
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-11-2005, 12:36 PM
idvsego idvsego is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 108
My usbuirt is right on top of my tuner box, but it is really close to the opposite wall.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-13-2005, 04:06 PM
disgust disgust is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 59
finally started setting things up

a few more questions though:

how do I run the sound from the box to the tv? (I use svideo for the video)

and is there any way to make things easier to read on a tv? are there optimal settings for a TV? everything's very difficult to read, and there's a bit of flicker to add to that.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-14-2005, 07:26 AM
disgust disgust is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 59
I know I can buy a headphone/standard audio jack to RCA converter, but the RCA stuff is on different channels from the svideo

anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-15-2005, 08:40 AM
disgust disgust is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 59
such a simple question and no one knows?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-15-2005, 08:58 AM
dbfresh23's Avatar
dbfresh23 dbfresh23 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 894
Look a little closer, generally the composite jacks on a tv are also used when using svideo. If you have 2 sets of composite in on the tv make sure you're plugging it into the right set...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.