SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

View Poll Results: What Aspect Ratio do you use for SD shows to fit HD TV?
Fill 8 36.36%
Source 9 40.91%
Zoom 1 4.55%
Others (Please Specify in Post) 4 18.18%
Voters: 22. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2005, 03:59 PM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,177
What Aspect Ratio do you use for SD shows to fit HD TV?

Just curious how people here watch non-HD shows on their HDTV. I find most people stretch it to fit the aspect ratio of the HD TV, which is the "Fill" setting in SageTV. This makes all the people look short and and fat on the TV, but somehow it doesn't bother them, or it bothers them more to have black bars on the both sides of the TV if they were to view the content at correct aspect ratio, or Source settings in SageTV. And then there's the zoom feature, usually a feature in your HDTV, which cuts off the top and bottom of the picture, but the widths are filled to the edge and aspect ratio is correct. So which of the three do you use?

-Fill (stretch to fit, incorrect aspect ratio)
-Source (black bars on both sides, correct aspect ratio)
-Zoom (16x9, fits width, cuts off top and bottom, correct aspect ratio)
-Others (Please specify in Post)

Also, with mix of SD and HD shows, I think SageTV should have a setting to automatically switch to different aspect ratio depending on your settings.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server. Win7 32bit in VMWare Fusion. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Samsung 75" LED.

Last edited by mayamaniac; 10-31-2005 at 05:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2005, 04:42 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
I use Source and 16x9. Source for 4x3 SD content (I had video orbiting enabled when I was running a CRT), and I use 16x9 with 133% vertical zoom for letterboxed SD.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2005, 04:51 PM
sleonard's Avatar
sleonard sleonard is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89
I use Source and 16x9. Source for 4x3 SD content (I had video orbiting enabled when I was running a CRT), and I use 16x9 with 133% vertical zoom for letterboxed SD.
Exactly the same here. I also use source for DVD's.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2005, 05:01 PM
Kanati's Avatar
Kanati Kanati is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 567
I use fill. With CRT HDTVs most people didn't want to use a setting on their expensive tv's that would cause burn-in. With CRTs that was very easily done so people would just stretch it out and accept the incorrect aspect. You get used to it and it just doesn't bother you.

With LCD and DLP systems (and plasma I believe) you don't have to worry about burn-in any more (you can still burn-in despite what they say, but it's farrrr harder to do) and some people don't bother.

I've just gotten so used to the stretch that I rarely notice it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-31-2005, 05:13 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kanati
I use fill. With CRT HDTVs most people didn't want to use a setting on their expensive tv's that would cause burn-in.
That's what video orbiting is for
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-31-2005, 06:04 PM
Menehune's Avatar
Menehune Menehune is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Maui, Hawaii
Posts: 403
I use souce on my widescreen LCD panel and just ignore the black columns.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-31-2005, 08:20 PM
Fluffdaddy Fluffdaddy is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Philly, Pa
Posts: 1,004
Source always
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-31-2005, 08:47 PM
aperry's Avatar
aperry aperry is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 680
I do source, but use my built-in TV modes to stretch/adjust the picture. I also use Fill. Depends on my mood.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:03 AM
Lucas Lucas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,156
I customised the Fill AR with 132% Vertical stretch and 100% horizontal.

This way the top and bottom of the 4x3 picture gets cropped giving me a 16x9 aspect.

This is good for most shows since the information lost is not too much.

Some shows I watch with 4x3 with black bars left and right.
__________________
Windows 10 64bit - Server: C2D, 6Gb RAM, 1xSamsung 840 Pro 128Gb, Seagate Archive HD 8TB - 2 x WD Green 1TB HDs for Recordings, PVR-USB2,Cinergy 2400i DVB-T, 2xTT DVB-S2 tuners, FireDTV S2
3 x HD300s
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-01-2005, 02:25 PM
pcuoco pcuoco is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89
I use Source and 16x9. Source for 4x3 SD content, and I use 16x9 with 133% vertical zoom for letterboxed SD.
Same here.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:41 PM
Ryokurin's Avatar
Ryokurin Ryokurin is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via ICQ to Ryokurin Send a message via AIM to Ryokurin Send a message via Yahoo to Ryokurin
Depends on the show. Some look just fine stretched, others requires source and so forth. As long as it dosnt look distorted im happy.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-02-2005, 12:53 AM
Polypro Polypro is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,803
Fill at 104%/104%. I seriously don't notice it. 133%/104% for 16x9 w/letterbox. 1280x720 LCD.

P
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-02-2005, 01:22 AM
Lucas Lucas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,156
I do really think however that SageTV should seriously consider implementing a 'Smart Stretch' AR like the ones in several wide screen TVs
were the 4x3 image is stretched horizontally in varying degrees starting from 0 in the middle to progressively more in the left and right until the image fills the entire 16x9 screen.
__________________
Windows 10 64bit - Server: C2D, 6Gb RAM, 1xSamsung 840 Pro 128Gb, Seagate Archive HD 8TB - 2 x WD Green 1TB HDs for Recordings, PVR-USB2,Cinergy 2400i DVB-T, 2xTT DVB-S2 tuners, FireDTV S2
3 x HD300s
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-02-2005, 05:11 AM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucas
I do really think however that SageTV should seriously consider implementing a 'Smart Stretch' AR like the ones in several wide screen TVs
were the 4x3 image is stretched horizontally in varying degrees starting from 0 in the middle to progressively more in the left and right until the image fills the entire 16x9 screen.
I don't see how anyone can use smart stretch, it makes pans look like a funhouse mirror because it distorts the image so much.

I think I read somewhere that a feature like that would have to be a function of the decoder not Sage (I have no idea if this is true or not). I think FFDshow can do it.

Last edited by blade; 11-02-2005 at 10:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-02-2005, 05:21 AM
Lucas Lucas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade
I don't see how anyone can use smart stretch, it makes pans look like a funhouse mirror because it distorts image so much.

I think I read somewhere that a feature like that would have to be a function of the decoder not Sage (I have no idea if this is true or not). I think FFDshow can do it.
I ve seen some implementations (Sony and some others) that are pretty good and I had to look twice to notice any distortion at least on fairly static images.

Pan scans give it away though as you say, but I watched a few football games and it's not too bad for my liking at least.
__________________
Windows 10 64bit - Server: C2D, 6Gb RAM, 1xSamsung 840 Pro 128Gb, Seagate Archive HD 8TB - 2 x WD Green 1TB HDs for Recordings, PVR-USB2,Cinergy 2400i DVB-T, 2xTT DVB-S2 tuners, FireDTV S2
3 x HD300s
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-02-2005, 01:01 PM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
Fill always. Partly yes because i have a CRT projection, but mainly because the bars (which are actually gray on my t.v to help with burn in) drive me insane. I suppose it has something to do with the fact that I bought a 51" t.v. for a reason! After awhile you don't even notice the affect it has on the image. Actually it makes me feel like I am watch "real" people rather than the anerexic hollywood types!!! Oh and the Smart Stretch makes me ill. I can't watch it. I also just keep finding myself trying to "look" for it and feeling the need to point it out to my wife!
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-02-2005, 01:09 PM
Polypro Polypro is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,803
My Panny 47" has a "Just" setting that looks good.

P
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.