SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Placeshifter

Notices

SageTV Placeshifter Discussion related to the SageTV Placeshifter application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Placeshifter software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2006, 09:54 AM
johnb41 johnb41 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 50
Make window "stay on top"

I can't figure out how to make the Placeshifter window "stay on top" of all other windows. Currently the video gets hidden by other windows as i'm doing stuff on the pc. Any way to keep the window on top?

I read somewhere that it was finally implemented in a recent release. But i can't find it.

I even tried using the program called "Actual Title Buttons", which can make almost any window "stay on top". But it doesn't work with the Placeshifter.

Thanks for your help!
John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2006, 09:59 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,615
Right click on the Placeshifter window's title bar after connecting.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2006, 10:21 AM
johnb41 johnb41 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 50
When i right-click, the only options i get is:

- Show Statistics Summary
- Show Statistics Window

Are you thinking of the regular SageTV window (the one on the server)? A right-click there does give me the option to stay on top. Not on the Placeshifter.

I downloaded the latest version from the SageTV site this morning...

John
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2006, 10:28 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,615
The release notes say it was part of the v5.0.3 release. What version are you using?

I'm talking about the title bar for the Placeshifter window that you see after choosing a server to connect to in the Servers Manager.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2006, 10:48 AM
johnb41 johnb41 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 50
I'm using 5.0.4 (that's my assumption, as, the download filename is SageTVPlaceshifter_V5_0_4Setup.exe)

Here's what i'm doing:

1. I run the placeshifter software, and the Servers Manager window opens.
2. I select the server that i want to connect to. In my case i have only one option.
3. I click the "connect" button, and i'm brought to a "log in" screen. In this screen, i don't get the Stay on Top option.
4. I complete the log in, and i'm successful. I right-click the title bar, and still no Stay on Top option. Just the "Show Statistics Summary" and "Show Statistics Window". That's it.

Maybe the option removed from v.5.0.4?

John
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2006, 11:40 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,615
Oh - I just found out that it requires java 1.5 or later. But, due to some bugs in the latest versions of java that SageTV users have run into, SageTV ships with and still recommends v1.4.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-07-2006, 11:58 AM
johnb41 johnb41 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 50
In my control panel, it shows that my Java is version 1.4.2_11.

Is this a good version? When i installed the placeshifter on this PC, i got a warning that i needed to install Java. I followed the prompts, and i'm assuming it installed this version.

Should i try version 1.5?

John
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-07-2006, 03:06 PM
johnb41 johnb41 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 50
I just installed Java 1.5, and now i get the "Always on Top" option in the title bar! Hopefully having "Always on Top" will outweigh all the bugs! Thanks for your help!

John
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.