SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2007, 11:15 PM
mdnttoker mdnttoker is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 445
Compressed Shows no longer showing up in Recorded Shows

I have several series that I have decided to compress to MPEG-4.

I originally set the compression options for the series recordings using SageMC, but am currently using the default STV on SageTV 6.0.19.120.

While the compressed shows no longer show up in "SageTV REcordings," they DO show up in "Imported Videos," even though I don't have my recordings directory included in my video library import path.

Anybody experienced this problem or can suggest ways to trouble-shoot (either using default or SageMC STV??)

Thanks!
-Dan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2007, 12:17 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,615
Recording dirs are automatically checked for imported videos, btw.

If it is a video that SageTV converted using its built-in transcoder, it should be showing up in the list of recordings. If you've changed wiz.bin, then it might become an imported video instead.

Did you rename the videos during/after conversion? If so, is the ID number no longer at the end of the filename? I wonder if converted videos w/o an ID number might be imported under certain circumstances.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2007, 12:46 PM
mdnttoker mdnttoker is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4
Recording dirs are automatically checked for imported videos, btw.

If it is a video that SageTV converted using its built-in transcoder, it should be showing up in the list of recordings. If you've changed wiz.bin, then it might become an imported video instead.

Did you rename the videos during/after conversion? If so, is the ID number no longer at the end of the filename? I wonder if converted videos w/o an ID number might be imported under certain circumstances.

- Andy
Thanks for the response Andy. What seems to have happened is that during a system upgrade (involving a disk clone on the SageTV drive), there was one point that the Recordings directory, which exists on a separate drive, was not available. (during this time, the SageTV service was likely running)

Is it possible that Sage thus lost or dissociated the mp4 compressed show info?

The mpeg2 shows from the missing drive show up fine in the 'Recordings' screen now that the missing drive has been re-added. Only the mp4 files were affected and now show up in the Video Library screen only.

I'll find out tonight if this bug/issue is affecting future compressed recordings or not.

-Dan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2007, 01:08 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdnttoker
Is it possible that Sage thus lost or dissociated the mp4 compressed show info?

The mpeg2 shows from the missing drive show up fine in the 'Recordings' screen now that the missing drive has been re-added. Only the mp4 files were affected and now show up in the Video Library screen only.
I was going to say that info for older shows no longer seen may have been purged from the database, or perhaps you reverted to a wiz.bin from before the shows were compressed... but you said the info for the mpg files remained.

How are the mp4 files named? It may have something to do with the lack of ID numbers, as I mentioned above.

If you can reproduce losing the connection between the compressed recording & its show info, I would submit a report to SageTV.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.