SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

View Poll Results: Always Upgrade or not?
Always upgrade ASAP! 29 50.00%
If it ain't broke, don't fix it! 29 50.00%
Voters: 58. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-30-2009, 08:39 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,214
Always Upgrade or If it Ain't Broke, Don't Fix It

I have been using Sage for about a year now. When I first started using it I was upgrading whenever a new beta release came out. Same thing when the HD-200s were released last December. I bought 4 of them and for the first few months I upgraded regularly.

Due to laziness I have not upgraded my server software nor my HD-200 firmware for a few months. Everything is working fine and since summer is short here in Canada I have better things to do. T

here seem to be a number of people having issues recently, particularly with their HD-200s. That leads to the question above - if things are working fine and there is no compelling new features in the latest release should you bother? Sure you don't want to fall too far behind the curve but you don't want to be introducing factors that kill the WAF. I have found that generally the releases from Sage are qutie stable, but still, should you take the risk.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-30-2009, 09:59 AM
Polypro Polypro is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,803
I wouldn't see why you would upgrade if all the features you needed, were taken care of. I *do* upgrade because going back to the previous versions is easy on a PC (copy a folder)...I don't have an extender though, and firmware flashes are *a lot* riskier.

P
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-30-2009, 11:30 AM
aflat aflat is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 302
You need a third option. "Update when something cool comes out" I updated when the bluray playback was added, and then again when closed caption came out, and then when the RC came out, but I missed all the other ones.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2009, 01:08 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
My advice would be don't install beta versions unless you're prepared to hold up your end of the beta-test bargain by troubleshooting problems and submitting bug reports. If you want trouble-free operation without having to interact with tech support, stick to non-beta releases.

Which of those you choose to install is up to you. But it's worth noting that in a connected world, sometimes things get broken even if you change nothing on your system (e.g. DST rule changes, analog stations going off the air, etc). So in my opinion it pays to keep current so you don't get surprised by stuff like that.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-01-2009, 12:47 AM
Ender Ender is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Upsate New York
Posts: 175
I usually upgrade to newer versions after they have been out a few days, of course this regimen is tempered by a full backup of my primary HDD. That way if issues arise that I cannot fix in a timely manner, then I can restore the previous install.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-01-2009, 09:08 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by GKusnick View Post
My advice would be don't install beta versions unless you're prepared to hold up your end of the beta-test bargain by troubleshooting problems and submitting bug reports. If you want trouble-free operation without having to interact with tech support, stick to non-beta releases.
But Sage seems to have a bit of a different take on betas than some other software firms. Last December upon release of the HD-200 I believe that the Beta version was required to use the HD-200 so it wasnn't just an option for early adopters. And Sage betas are much more stable than betas from other companies, and are miles more stable than Hauppauge "final" drivers that have issues all over the place.

But the whole concept of beta seems to have changed somewhat. Gmail is still in beta five years after being released and the Win7 beta was much more available and much more stable than previous OS betas from MS.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-01-2009, 09:55 AM
QueOnda's Avatar
QueOnda QueOnda is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,093
I didn't vote...but I would say both. Don't F with something that works (even though I can't resist in tinkering!!! and if you do upgrade then do a backup to recover if it doesn't work or screw things up.
__________________
Server: HP AMD64 dual core running Win7 64bit (MCE disabled) with 4G memory Tuners: 2 PVR-500(disabled), 3 HDHR and 1 HDPVR Clients: 2 HD200 and 1 HD100 TV: 70" and 52" and 42" Media Storage: ReadyNas 8TB Recording media: 300GB + 200GB+ 250 GB Network: Gigabit backbone'

Thanks to all the developers who work on SageMC, code, utilities and plug-ins to make SageTV better!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-01-2009, 10:16 AM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
But Sage seems to have a bit of a different take on betas than some other software firms.
But not so different that they expect every user to install every beta as soon as it comes out (which is what your poll asks). If that's what they wanted, they'd call them releases, not betas.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-01-2009, 11:59 AM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
I also do the "Wait two days and then upgrade". I think I've only been bitten by a bad beta once and even then it wasn't so bad.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What to upgrade to fix stutter? KarylFStein Hardware Support 18 07-25-2006 06:37 AM
v4.1.11 broke MVPMedia cmaffia SageTV Media Extender 3 04-03-2006 05:39 PM
Please help me fix the event code [Search - 40] that Dynamic Menus broke mkanet SageTV Customizations 5 11-15-2005 03:29 PM
Beta upgrade broke MultiDCT polarhyte SageTV Beta Test Software 1 10-30-2005 06:56 PM
HELP-Really broke it now marcw Hardware Support 5 05-13-2004 11:44 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.